1 \ '
Digitized by the Internet Archive
i\ Sbort fflstorp, ■
with Genealogies ana
Edited by JOHN GRANT.
Published only for Subscribers ;
In Cu)0 Volumes, Price £6 6$. per Set.
THE LONDON & PROVINCIAL PUBLISHING Co., Ltd.,
84, Hatton Garden, London, E.C.
The Right Hon. The Baron Grenfell, P.C., G.C.B., G.C.M.G., F.S.A.*
Che Right fion.
ClK Baron erenfell, p.C, 6.C.B., 6.C,D).G.,
ONE of the landowners in the Beaconsfield district of South
Bucks is Field Marshal Lord Grenfell, who finds in the
peaceful surroundings of Butler's Court, a wondrous change
from the storm and stress of a long life spent in almost continuous
Born in London, on April 29th, 1841, the fourth son of
Pascoe St. Leger Grenfell, by his first wife, the daughter of the late
James Du Pre, M.P., of Wilton Park, Beaconsfield ; the grand-
son of that eminent financier, Pascoe Grenfell, D.C.L., M.P.,
by his second wife, the Hon. Georgiana St. Leger, the
youngest daughter of the first Viscount Doneraile ; the
descendant in the fourth degree of Pascoe Grenfell, the founder of
the family, and son of John Grenfell, of St. Just's, who settled in
Penzance at the beginning of the seventeenth century ; Lord
Grenfell is thus related to Lord Desborough, his grandfather,
Pascoe Grenfell being the great grandfather of the present noble
occupant of Taplow Court, by his first marriage with his cousin,
After receiving a military education, and having decided to
follow up that profession, Francis Wallace Grenfell entered the6oth
Rifles in 1869. His first opportunity for active service came with the
West Griqualand Expedition in 1875. The Kaffir and Zulu Wars
of 1878 and 1879 speedily provided others. In the engagement
with the Galekas and Gaikas at Quitana Mountain on February
7th, 1878, this member of the Grenfell family bore a gallant part,
and was mentioned in the despatches, after which he became
Deputy Assistant Adjutant and Quarter Master General for the
Kaffir War, and Deputy Assistant Adjutant General for the Zulu
War, in which, after the fierce battle of Ulundi, his name again
called for mention in the despatches.
On the outbreak of the first Boer War, this distinguished
soldier joined Sir Evelyn Wood's staff as Assistant Quarter Master
General, and was on the Head Quarters Staff in the Egyptian War
of 1882. In the course of the services he rendered his country in
this part of the world, he took part in the Nile Expedition of 1884,
and bore his share in the actions of Tel-el-Mahuta, Kassassin, and
the battle of Tel-el-Kebir, and again his name figured in the
despatches. From 1885-92 as Sirdar of the Egyptian Army, Lord
Grenfell commanded a Division at Giniss, and was in command,
during the operations in the neighbourhood of Suakim, including
the engagement at Gemaizah, and the battle of Toski on the Nile,
on August 3rd, 1889, in which last he was at the head of the
combined English and Egyptian forces. Among the many memen-
toes of his long career, Lord Grenfell treasures a sword of honour
bestowed upon him by the Khedive prior to his temporary absence
from Egypt, ' In souvenir of the victories of Giniss, Gamaizeh and
Other distinguished positions his lordship has held are those
of Aide de Camp to Her late Majesty, Queen Victoria, Inspector
General of the Auxiliary Forces, and General Commanding the
English troops in Egypt in 1898 to 1899 —when he commanded
at the base Lord Kitchener's Sudan Expedition. He has been
Governor of Malta from 1899-1903, after which he commanded the
4th Army Corps until 1904, and from that date until 1908 was
General Officer Commanding in Chief in Ireland, when he became
Field Marshal. His lordship also ranks as a Colonel of the 1st
Life Guards, Colonel Commandant of the King's Royal Rifles, and
was formerly an Honorary Colonel of the 1st Volunteer Battalion
of the East Surrey Regiment.
Lord Grenfell is a Member of the Privy Conncil for Ireland,
he holds the Knight's Grand Cross of the Bath, and of St. Michael
and St. George, and was raised to the Peerage as Baron Grenfell,
of Kilvey in Glamorganshire, on July 19th, 1902, while Cambridge
and Edinburgh have conferred on him the Honorary Degree of
L.L.D. and D.C.L. respectively.
Among his other decorations are the Grand Cross of St.
Maurice and St. Lazarus of Italy, and of the Red Eagle of Prussia,
the 1st Class of the Medjidie and of the Osmanieh. Anent the
decoration of the Polish Order of the White Eagle, his lordship
tells an amusing anecdote in his entertaining Three Weeks in
Moscow, printed for private circulation, and dedicated to Lady
Grenfell, the occasion being the Coronation of Nicholas II. in 1896,
when clad in all the simplicity of a bath towel dressing gown, he
was unexpectedly surprised and invested with the order by Prince
Galitzin, and obliged to receive the honour sitting, owing to the
sketchiness of his attire.
On May 26th 1887, Sir Francis Wallace Grenfell married
Evelyn, the daughter of the late Major General Robert Blucher
Wood, C.B., but this lady died without issue on June 21st 1899.
On August 8th 1903, his lordship married the Hon. Margaret
Aline Majendie, sometime Maid of Honour to Her Majesty, Queen
Victoria, and by whom he has issue, two sons and one daughter,
his heir being Pascoe Christian Victor Francis, who was born on
December 12th 1905.
On her side, Lady Grenfell's family is of French extraction,
their native district being the Province of Beam, which persecution
of the Protestants forced her ancestors to leave about the middle of
the seventeenth century. Some fifty years later, the Rev. Andrew
Majendie, the first of the family to be domiciled in England, took
up his abode in Devon, and his son, John James Majendie, D.D.,
became Canon of Windsor and Preceptor to Queen Charlotte.
His eldest son, Henry William, was Bishop of Chester and Bangor,
and his second son, Lewis Majendie, married Elizabeth, the only
daughter of Sir Henry Hoghton, Bt., of Hoghton Tower, who
brought Hedingham Castle to her husband. The grand-nephew
of Mr. Lewis Majendie was Lewis Hashhurst Majendie, of Hedingham
Castle, who, by his marriage on January 8th 1870, with the Lady
Margaret Elizabeth Lindsay, the second daughter of Alexander
William, the 25th Earl of Crawford and Balcarres, became the
father of Margaret Aline, his only daughter, now Lady Grenfell.
Although Burke's home at the Gregories was burnt down
in 1813, it was the great orator himself who changed its name to
Butler's Court, the title borne by the present mansion, now in the
occupation of Lord Grenfell.
Field Marshal Lord Grenfell is Gold Stick to H.M. the King.
His Lordship is a Justice of the Peace for Buckinghamshire. His
town residence is 43, Bryanston Square, W., and he is a member of
the Turf, Army and Navy, and Travellers' Clubs.
Mrs. Henry Riversdale Grenfell of Bacres
Mrs. fieiirp Riixrsdale Grenfell, of Bacres.
B ACRES, in the picturesque neighbourhood of Hambleden and
Henley-on-Thames, has been much enlarged of late years,
and is the residence of Mrs. Henry Riversdale Grenfell, the
widow of the late Mr. Henry Riversdale Grenfell, (whose death
occurred on September nth 1902) the younger son of Mr. Charles
Pascoe Grenfell, M.P., by his wife, the Lady Georgiana Isabella
Frances Molyneux, the eldest daughter of Philip, the second Earl
of Sefton, and therefore uncle of Lord Desborough.
For his connection with the Bank of England, of which he
was Deputy Governor in 1879, Governor two years later, and subse-
quently a Director, as well as his able Chairmanship of the General
Council of the Bimetallic League, Mr. Henry Riversdale Grenfell
will always be remembered. Numerous articles on economic sub-
jects that appeared in the leading monthlies, such as Fraser's
Magazine, the Nineteenth Century and the Spectator, were from
his pen. In conjunction with Lord Aldenham, Mi. Henry Riversdale
Grenfell publised " The Bimetallic Controversy," a series of papers,
dealing with both sides of that great question. This gentleman
represented Stoke-on-Trent from 1862 to 1868, as a Liberal
Unionist, and subsequently stood with Mr. Gladstone for S.W.
Mrs. Henry Riversdale Grenfell is Alethea Louisa, the
daughter of H. T. Adeane, of Brabraham, M.F. for Cambridge from
1830 to 1832. Her marriage with the late Mr. Grenfell took place
on July 25th 1867, the issue being a son, Edward Charles, who was
born on May 29th 1870, and a daughter Maud Alethea Louisa. Mr.
Edward Grenfell is the London partner of Mr. John Pierpont
Morgan in the firm of Morgan Grenfell and Co. and is also Vice-
President of the International Mercantile Marine and a director of
the Bank of England.
Charles Seymour Grenfell, Esq., J. P.
Charles Sepmour Grenfell, esq., 3.p.
/■ RELATIVE of Lord Desborough's and first cousin to Lord
It| Grenfell, Mr. Charles Seymour Grenfell is the grandson of
Pascoe Grenfell, sometime member of Parliament for Mar low
and Penhryn, by his second marriage with the Hon. Georgiana St.
Leger, the youngest daughter of the first Viscount Doneraile, on
January 15th 1798.
The fourth son of that eminent financier, and the second son
by his second wife, was the late Riversdale William Grenfell, of
Ray Lodge, Maidenhead, who was born on November 29th 1807,
and married Charlotte Adelaide, the daughter of John Lettson
Elliot, of Pimlico Lodge on March 20th 1834, the only surviving
son of the marriage being Mr. Charles Seymour Grenfell, who was
born at Carshalton Park in Surrey, on September 14th 1839, the
death of his mother, Mrs. Grenfell, occurring on December 12th of
the following year.
Like his distinguished grandfather, Mr. Grenfell has devoted
his time and energies to finance. For more than thirty years he has
been a partner in the firm of Pascoe Grenfell and Sons, is one of the
Directors of the London and County Bank, and a Sub-Governor of
the Royal Exchange Assurance Corporation.
On September 30th, 1862, Mr. Charles Seymour Grenfell
married Elizabeth, the fourth daughter of William Graham, of
Tamrawer, in Stirlingshire, by whom he has. with other issue, a
son and heir, Riversdale Francis John, of Welwyn Hall, Herts, born
on August 20th, 1864.
After receiving his education from Eton, and for some time
being connected with the Coldstream Guards, Mr. Riversdale F. J.
Grenfell married in 1888 Cecil Blanche, the second daughter of the
late Henry James Lubbock, D.L., of Newberries Park, St. Albans,
and brother of John, the first Lord Avebury, by whom he has, with
two daughters, a son, Geoffrey Seymour, who was born on
June 2nd, 1898.
Mr. Charles Seymour Grenfell is a Magistrate for Bucking-
hamshire, and has long been intimately associated with the fortunes
of the Bucks Yeomanry, in which he held the rank of Captain.
Country pursuits of all kinds have always claimed such leisure as
he has been able to spare from a busy life, and as a sportsman, he
numbered a day with the hounds, or guns, among his first
favourites, whilst he has ranked as a keen disciple of Isaac Walton,
although at the present time, he chiefly confines his attention to
golfing and bicycling.
Mr. Grenfell's Buckinghamshire residence is Elibank, in the
beautiful neighbourhood of Taplow, and he is a member of Arthur's
James Whitehouse Griffin, Esq., J. P.
James OlhiKbouse Griffin, €sq., J.p.
CORD of the Manor of Towersey, in Western Buckinghamshire,
a Justice of the Peace and a County Alderman, Mr, James
Whitehouse Griffin was born on August Sth 1846, being the
second, and elder surviving son of the late Mr. Edward Griffin, of
Towersey, by his second wife, Mary, the daughter and heiress of
the late James Whitehouse, of Willenhall, in Staffordshire, whom
he married in 1843.
The family is of Worcestershire origin, the grandfather of
its present Buckinghamshire representative being Thomas Griffin,
of Tenbury, who married Amy, the daughter of John Benbow, of
Burraston, Shropshire, by whom he had a son, Mr. Griffin's father,
the late Edward Griffin.
In 1873 Mr. James Whitehouse Griffin married Emily, the
second daughter of William Rouse Whittington Upjohn, of
Guestling Hill, in Sussex, but experienced the grave loss of his
newly-made wife within one short year of his marriage.
The Church of St. Catherine's at Towersey, which formerly
consisted of a chancel and a nave, has been enlarged through the
generosity of the late Mr. Edward Griffin, by an embattled tower
with pinnacles, added to the southern side of the nave. The work
was completed in 1854. Other interesting features of the church
are a hexagonal, beautifully carved Jacobean pulpit, one of the
old-fashioned hour glasses, and a cylindrical font, the latter
believed to belong to the Saxon period.
The Churchyard, too, is the richer for the thoughtful care of
the late Mr. Edward Griffin by a fine avenue composed chiefly of
sweet scented limes, which were planted by Mr. Griffin's father,
in whose memory an imposing obelisk has been erected.
According to Sheehan, the Bow Bearer to William, the Red
King, one Nigel de Albini, an ancestor of the Earls of Arundel, held
lands in Tillebury and Eye in Buckinghamshire at an early date ;
the De Pirots were sub-tenants of the Albinis, and from the former,
the De Tourseyes appear to have held one knight's fee in their
turn. Subsequently the Manor of Tourseie became the property
of the Abbot and Convent of Thame. Later, Anne, the eldest
daughter of Sir Edmund Pye, brought Towersey in marriage to her
husband, Lord Lovelace ; and, in her turn, their daughter, Martha,
afterwards the Baroness Wentworth, carried it to her husband, Sir
Henry Johnson, Bt., whom she married in 1692. Nearly one
hundred years later, the property was conveyed to George Bowden,
of Radford, by the Wentworth family, and in 1830 vvas vested in
his three granddaughters.
The heir presumptive to Towersey is Mr. Griffin's brother,
Clifton Benbow, who by his marriage with Isabella Elizabeth, the
third daughter of the late Rev. George Rogers, M.A., Vicar of
Gedney in Lincolnshire, has a son and heir, Alfred Clifton, born
in 1876, who received his education from the well-known Cranleigh
A Conservative in politics, Mr. J. W. Griffin ranks among
the members of the Primrose Club, as well as of the County Hall
Club, in Aylesbury.
Robert Griffin, Esq.,, J. P.
Robert Griffin, €$q„ 3P.
IN Court Garden, between Marlow and Medmenham, Mr. Robert
Griffin enjoys to the full the lovely woodland and river scenery
characteristic of the Valley of the Thames. The house itself,
an imposing brick structure, stands close to the river, and was
built in the middle of the eighteenth century by Dr. Batty, (son of
the Rev. E. Batty of Eton College), the well-known Censor of the
College of Physicians, and investigator into the condition of the
private " Madhouses " of his day, as well as the author of numerous
valuable medical works.
In former days, Court Garden was part of Seymour Manor,
and long continued to be held by the Paget family. In 1748, Dr.
Batty or Battie, as it is often rendered, acquired the estate from
Henry, Earl of Uxbridge, by purchase^ and the Doctor's daughter
sold it again to Richard Davenport, who filled the office of High
Sheriff for Buckinghamshire in 1789, and left a bequest of £5, for
the benefit of as many poor widows, which sum was to be
charged on the Court Garden estate.
Born in 1840, Mr. Robert Griffin is the son of Mr. Robert
Griffin of Newark on Trent, and by his marriage in 1869 with
Caroline Sophia, (this lady died in 1900), the daughter of the late
J. R. McClean, F.R.S., M.P., of Park St., St. James Park, S.W.,
has a son and heir, John McClean Griffin, who was born in
On July roth 1906, Mr. John McClean Griffin married the
Lady Leonora Mary, the second daughter of Reginald Windsor,
7th Earl de la Warr. Formerly connected with the Royal
Artillery, in which he held the rank of Lieutenant, Mr. John
McClean Griffin has seen active service on the Gold Coast, and
took part in the Tianzi Expedition as well as the Mission to Fra
Fra. Next from 1904 to 1907, Lieut. Griffin acted as Aide de
Camp and Private Secretary to his uncle by marriage, Sir Gerald
Strickland, K.C.M.G., at that time Governor of Tasmania, and
since 1906, has been on the Reserve of Officers.
Mr. Robert Griffin is a staunch member of the Conservative
Party, and an active Magistrate for his County.
In 1910 he married his second wife, Mdlle. Jeanne Laurent,
of Oakley St., S.W.
The Wellington and Conservative Clubs number Mr. Robert
Griffin among their members.
Mrs. Hall, of Foscott Manor
l))r$. l>all t of Foscott manor.
CADY of the Manor and sole landowner of the parish of
Foscott, or Foxcott. nearly three miles north east of
Buckingham, Mrs. Hall is Ada Susan, the second daughter
of the late Sir Robert Brisco, Bart., of Crofton Hall, in Cumberland,
bv his wife, Annie Drewry, the daughter of the late George
Rimington, of Tynefield House, and thus belongs to a very ancient
family, for the Briscos are believed to have been seated at Brisco,
near Carlisle, at the time of the Norman Invasion.
By her marriage in 1869 with Mr. Lawrence Robert Hall,
Mrs. Hall has, with other issue, a son, Musgrave Robert, now a
Justice of the Peace for Buckinghamshire and Northants.
Born in 1873, Mr. Musgrave Hall was educated at Harrow,
and formerly a Lieutenant in the 2nd Dragoon Guards. In 1908,
he married Dorothy Maud, daughter of Fergusson Fergusson.
By the death of Mr. Lawrence Robert Hall in 1891,
Buckinghamshire and Northamptonshire lost an able magistrate,
and one who, as Captain of the Royal Bucks. Militia and High
Sheriff of Northants in 1874, showed himself a good citizen, and
sincerely anxious for the welfare of his neighbourhood.
Once the home of the Grenvilles, Foscott Manor House was
rebuilt in 1639 and completely restored in 1S68. The vicinity
derives further interest from the discovery of the remains of a
Roman villa in 1840.
Mrs. Hall is the patron of one living.
George H anbury, Esq., J. P.
George ftanburp, €sq M 3-P-
BLYTHWOOD HOUSE, the Buckinghamshire seat of Mr. George
Hanbury, is pleasantly situated in the southern portion of
the County, in the picturesque neighbourhood of Hitcham,
and not far from Maidenhead, the subject of the present sketch
being one of the chief landowners in that interesting and beautiful
Born in 1829, in the last year of the reign of George IV., Mr.
Hanbury may therefore be said to enjoy the unusual distinction of
having lived under no less than five English Monarchs, and is the
third son of the late Robert Hanbury, of Poles, in Hertfordshire,
by the late Emily, the second daughter of William Hall, the
Hertfordshire property having been bequeathed to Mr. Hanbury 's
father, by its purchaser, Mr. Sampson Hanbury, who died in 1828,
a London merchant, and a descendant of the old Worcestershire
On June 17th, 1857, Mr. Hanbury married Mary, the eldest
daughter of the late Captain John Trotter, of Dyrham Park,
Hertfordshire, and thus connected his own with another well
known County family, his son and heir being Lionel Henry, who
was born on Christmas Eve, 1864. Mrs. Hanbury died in 1906.
In 1875, mindful of his duty towards his County, Mr.
Hanbury served as High Sheriff for Buckingham ; and in 1891, his
son, Lionel Henry Hanbury, now one of His Majesty's Lieutenants
for the City of London, and Lieutenant-Colonel and Hon. Colonel
late Commander of the 4th Battalion of the Royal Berkshires,
married Margaret Colmore, the elder daughter of the late Henry
Christian Allhusen, of Stoke Court, Bucks, by his wife Elizabeth
Alice, the daughter of Thomas Eden, of Norton Hall, Gloucester-
shire, and has with other issue, a son, Reginald Henry Osgood, who
was born in 1892.
Colonel Hanbury was educated at Eton, and holds the
Hitcham, or according to the Domesday Book, " Hucheham,"
once boasted of a stately mansion, which, at the beginning of the
seventeenth century was honoured by a visit from Queen Elizabeth,
her host being Sir William Clark, Kt., whose alabaster monument
is now to be seen in the fine old Church. Later the mansion
became the property of Dr. John Friend, the famous author and
physician of Queen Anne's time ; but to-day, no trace of its erst-
while splendour remains.
Vaughan Harley, Esq., M.D., M.R.C.P.
Vaugban ftarkp, €sq., l».D., D).R.C.p.
CHE son of the late Dr. George Harley, M.D., F.R.S., by his
wife, Emma Jessie, the youngest daughter of the late James
Muspratt of Seaforth Hall. Liverpool, whom he married on
April 4th, 1861, Dr. Vaughan Harley was born on December 28th,
1863, ]n Eondon, and early resolved to follow Medicine as a
After receiving his education from Edinburgh University,
he also studied at many of the Continental centres, including
Vienna, Paris, Leipsig, Turin and Buda Pest, and later, had the
additional advantage of two yr.ars spent in travelling round the
In 1890, Dr. Harley was admitted a Member of the Royal
College of Physicians and the following year, took his degree of
Doctor of Medicine, at the Edinburgh University. He is a gold
medallist, holds the bronze medal for Pathology, and a winner of
the Grocer Research Scholarship.
Dr. Vaughan Harley began to practise in London, in 1892,
having devoted the four previous years chiefly to study at the
foreign Universities. To-day he is Professor of the University
College, and a well-known physician, whose works on The
Chemical Investigation of Diseases of the Stomach and Iniestines, and
numerous contributions to English and foreign medical and
physiological journals, carry the weight they deserve in professional
In 1905, Dr. Harley married Mary, the eldest daughter of
the Rev. Canon Blagden, formerly of Peverel Court, in Bucking-
hamshire, by whom he has two daughters.
Walton Hall, near Bletchley, in North Buckinghamshire, is
charmingly situated vvitliin a beautifully wooded park of some
sixty acres, and presents an ideal contrast to the ^torm and stress
involved by a busy London life. Here, when his duties permit of
his absence from 25, Harley Street, the Doctor is able to indulge
his taste for farming, to which recreation, a love of travel is the
only serious rival. In addition to owning Walton Hall, Dr.
Vaughan Harley is also lord of the Manor of Walton, and one of
the chief landowners, the old thirteenth century Manor House being
also his property.
And in politics, he ranks among the Conservatives, as befits
a member of the Junior Carlton Club.
Sir Robert Greuville Harvey, Bt., D.L.
Sir Robert Grenoille ftaroep, Bt M D.L
PICTURESQUE Langley, Sir Robert Grenville Harvey's
exquisite Buckinghamshire seat, was formerly a Royal Park,
which about the middle of the eighteenth century passed to
the Dukes of Marlborough. The present mansion was erected by
the third Duke, and over thirty years later, Mr. R. B. Harvey, the
great grandfather of the present representative of the family,
acquired the property, from George, the 4th Duke.
The mansion is an imposing stone edifice, wherein is a
famous collection of pictures. Stately trees, a fine avenue of oaks,
and some magnificent cedars lend a further charm to its
surroundings. The park is still stocked with deer, including the
beautiful white variety.
More remote from the house lies the mysterious Black Park,
its fir clad depths guarding a lake worthy of fairyland.
Sir Robert Grenville Harvey is the second baronet of his
line, being the eldest of the late Sir Robert Bateson Harvey, 1st
Bt., by his first wife, Diana Jane, the daughter of the Venerable
Stephen Creyke, sometime Archdeacon of York. His father, whom
he succeeded in 1887, was for over sixteen years Member of
Parliament for Buckinghamshire, and a Deputy Lieutenant and a
Magistrate for the County, whilst his aunt, Caroline, who died in
1874, married the 3rd Duke of Buckingham and Chandos, in 1851.
Born in 1856, and educated at Eton, Sir Robert married in
1893 the Hon. Emily Blanche Oliphant Murray, the eldest
daughter of the 10th Lord Elibank, by whom he has three
The owner of over 11,000 acres, and a Deputy Lieutenant
for the County, which he served as High Sheriff in 1900, Sir
Robert is Lord of the Manor of Langley Marish and a member of
White's and the Carlton Clubs.
The Right Hon. Lord John Hay, G.C.B,
CIK RigDt Ron. Cora Jobn Rap, 6X-B*
Admiral or tfie fleet (Retired).
BORN on August 23rd, 1827, at Geneva, Lord John Hay is the
fourth, but second surviving son of George, 8th Marquis of
Tweeddale (by his wife, the Lady Susan Montagu, third
daughter of William, 5th Duke of Manchester), and brother of
William Montagu Hay, K.T., the 10th and present holder of the
Entering the Navy in 1839, the Chinese Opium War of 1842
afforded his lordship his first opportunity for active service, while
still a naval cadet, aud a brush with pirates off the coast of Borneo
was added to his youthful experiences. In 1846, he became
successively Sub- Lieutenant and Lieutenant, he was gazetted a
Commander in 1851, and having obtained his Captaincy in 1854, on
the outbreak of the Crimean War, commanded " The Wasp ' : and
" The Tribune " in the Black Sea, and did good service for England
before Sebastopol. Wounded in 1855, the Naval Brigade was thus
deprived of an able young officer, and the close of the war in the
following year found him a Knight of the Legion of Honour, and
of the 4th Class Medjidie, as well as the recipient of the Crimean
and Turkish Medals, and the Sebastopol Clasp.
A peaceful interlude abroad gave his lordship time to turn
his attention to Parliamentary affairs ; for two years, from 1857 to
1859 he represented Wick, until the Second War with China broke
out, when he commanded the 3rd Squadron of Gunboats at the
Peino Forts in i860, and in recognition of his valuable services on
that occasion, received the China Medal and Taku Clasp, after
which he was appointed Commodore of the East India Station.
The year 1866 saw Lord John Hay a Lord of the Admiralty
which office he filled subsequently from 1868 to 1871, and from May
18S0 to 1883, having in the meantime sat for Ripon for four
From 1877 to 1879, his lordship was in command of the
Channel Squadron, and it will be remembered that his masterly
taking of, and temporary administration of Cyprus during the
difficult days of 1878 was sanctioned by the approval of the
Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs, and received official recog-
nition by the Admiralty.
Further honours followed. His lordship received the Grand
Cordon of the Medjidie from the Sultan, and as Commander in
Chief of the Mediterranean Fleet, he was thanked by both Houses
of Parliament for valuable aid rendered during the Soudan
Campaign of 1885, and made the recipient of the Egyptian Medal
and Khedive's Star.
From March to August, 1886, Lord John Hay held the office
of First Sea Lord of the Admiralty, and on the 30th of July of that
same year received the Knight's Grand Cross of the Most
Honourable Order of the Bath. Two years later he became
Admiral of the Fleet, and on August 23rd, 1897, retired from active
service, after fifty eight years' devotion to his country's cause.
" Spair Nought " is the family motto of the Hays, and one
and all they have acted on it. From those twelfth century days
when William de Haya, their ancestor, filled the office of Royal
Butler to Malcolm IV and William the Lion of Scotland, they have
played their part in, and made history, with rare singleness of
purpose. Their connection with England dates from the fifteenth
century, when Sir William Hay, the founder of the Collegiate
Church of Yester in 1420, frequently acted as Ambassador to the
sister country during the troublous days of King Robert III. and
the subsequent Regency of the Duke of Albany.
Sir William's grandson, John, ist Lord Hay, was created
lord of Parliament, under the title of Lord Hay of Yester, in 1487,
and his son, John, the second Lord Hay, laid down his life for
King James IV on Flodden Field, in 1513. Thirty four years later,
the 4th Lord Hay, also John, and grandson of the second lord, fell
into the hands of the English at the Battle of Pinkie in 1547, and
remained a prisoner in the Tower of London until the conclusion
of the war in 1550. His descendant in the third degree was John,
created ist Earl of Tweeddale in 1646, and his eldest son and name-
sake, the second Earl and ist Marquess of Tw r eeddale, was one of
the most upright and straightforward men of his day. When
King Charles I. unfurled his standard at Nottingham, at the
beginning of the Civil War, this gentleman joined his standard;
but latter, owing to the attitude adopted by His Majesty towards
the Covenanters, the Marquess of Tweeddale was constrained to
fight against him in command of a Scottish Regiment at Marston
Moor. Four years later, after the unhappy King's surrender to the
Scots, and his promise to confirm Presbyterianism in England for
three years, Lord Tweeddale again took up arms in the Royalist
cause at Preston, in 1648. Both the first and second Marquis held
the office of Chancellor of Scotland, the latter being, a Privy
Councillor in the reigns of William III. and Anne, and at the
Union, was one of the sixteen Scottish Representative Peers.
Lord John Hay, the second son of the second Marquis of
Tweeddale, as a Brigadier General and Colonel of the Royal Scots
Dragoons, or, to give them their modern name, the Royal Scots
Greys — led his soldiers to victory at Schellenberg and at Ramilies,
where they captured the celebrated French Regiment du Roi, an
achievement that is said to have been the origin of their wearing
the Grenadiers' Caps. The 4th Marquis of Tweeddale, John by
name, and grandson of the 2nd Marquis, who died in 1762, enjoyed
the distinction of having been the last to hold the offices o*
Extraordinary Lord of the Session, and Secretary of State for
Scotland, while George, the 7th Marquis, and grandfather of the
subject of the present sketch, together with his wife, Charlotte, the
daughter of James, 7th Earl of Lauderdale, suffered imprisonment
at the hands of Napoleon, at Verdun, where his lordship died in
1804, and was succeeded in the title by his eldest son, George,
8th Marquis of Tweeddale, the father of Lord John Hay. Born in
1787, the 8th Lord Tweeddale held the rank of Field-Marshal in
the Army, and as Aide de Camp to the Duke of Wellington, served
through the Peninsular War, being wounded at Busaco, in 1810.
Later, from 1842 to 1848, India claimed his services, as Governor
of Madras. A noted Agriculturalist, he introduced many im-
provements on his Yester estate, in the shape of deep ploughing
and tile draining, and the liKe, in addition to inventing many
implements suitable to the farming industry. A fine swordsman,
and skilled in the art of horsemanship, his lordship was, moreover,
an excellent whip, and is accredited with having on one occasion
driven the mail from London to Haddington, without a single
relief or halt.
Fulmer Place, in southern Buckinghamshire, the seat of
Admiral Lord John Hay, was built in 1742 by Mr. R. Eskrigge on
the site of an older mansion. Formerly the seat of the Darells,
the grandchildren of Sir Marmaduke Darell, or Dayrell, after his
death in 1631, ran through their fortunes, and consequently were
obliged to dispose of Fulmer Manor to their former dependents,
who, in their turn, sold it to Judge Jeffreys.
On June 8th, 1876, Lord John Hay married Annie Christina,
the daughter of Nathaniel G. Lambert, of Denham Court, and has,
with other issue, a son and heir, John Arthur Lambert, born in
1877, and a lieutenant in the Royal Navy at the present time.
Lord John Hay is a member of the Travellers', Marlborough
and Brooks' Clubs,
Colonel John Herschcl, R.E., (Retired) F R S, F.R.A.S.
Taken during the Southport Meeting of the British Association, 1S83.
Sir William J. Herschel Prof. A. S. Herschel Col. J. Herschel
Observatory House, Windsor Road, Slough, Bucks, and Cottajjo,
after alterations (about i860).
io feet of lower (mirror) end of 40 feet tube in the Garden
at Observatory House, Slough.
Colonel 3ohn fterscbel, R.6., Retired,
BORN on October 29th, 1837, in South Africa, Colonel John
Herschel, the present occupier of Observatory House, Slough,
the scene of so many important Astronomical discoveries by
members of his family, is the third and youngest son of the first
Baronet of that name, the late Sir John Frederick William Herschel,
Bt., M.A., D.C.L., F.R.S., and grandson of Sir William Herschel,
K.G.H., L.L.D., F.R.S., the discoverer of Uranus. Colonel Herschel
is also the brother of the second and present Baronet, Sir William
James Herschel (retired), Bengal Civil Service, discoverer of the
system of identification by means of finger prints, introduced into
the Bengal administration about 1878.
Educated at home by his parents up to the age of 13, and
subsequently at Clapham Grammar School, under the Rev. C.
Pritchard, M.A., F.R.S., and at Addiscombe, John Herschel at the
age of nineteen entered the Bengal Engineers, passing out at the
head of his term, and two years later made his first acquaintance
with India. There, after six months at Rurki, the Headquarters of
the Corps, he was appointed to the Trigonometrical Survey of
India, under General Sir Andrew Waugh ; in which department he
held theranKof Deputy-Superintendent until his retirement in 1886.
Instructed by the Royal Society of London, which furnished
the instrumental equipment — viz : a 5 inch equatorially mounted
refracting telescope, and spectroscope adapted for use with it — he
observed the eclipse of the sun spectroscopically in 1868 at
Jamkandi, near Belgaum ; and later on he observed the eclipse of
1871, at Dodabetta, a mountain summit of the Netlgherries, near
Ootacamund, in conjunction with General (then Colonel) J. F.
Tennant, R.E., using a twin telescope equatorially mounted. With
the former instruments he examined the spectra of many Southern
nebulae (at that date an entirely new branch of astronomical
observation) and was fortunately able to determine the characters
and constitution of a considerable number, with results which were
published in the " Proceedings of the Royal Society." On July 8th,
1867, he married Mary Cornwallis, daughter of the Rev. F.
Lipscomb, Rector of Welbury in Yorkshire, and widow of the late
David Power, Q.C. ; but this lady died in 1876 without issue.
It was in 1757, at the age of nineteen, that William Herschel,
ex-member of the band of the Hanoverian Footguards, set foot in
England, seeking to make a living by his musical talent. Later,
as conductor of the Bath Concerts, he found his days well occupied,
yet spent his nights in constructing telescopes and making
observations ; until King George III.'s offer of a by no means
munificent ,£"400 a year enabled him to devote his whole time to
the study of the heavens. The discovery of a new planet, in 1781,
was one result of much patient observation, in which he was aided
by his sister, Caroline Herschel, whom he brought over from
Hanover, and who proved a most valuable and indefatigable
assistant during the following forty odd years, at first as a singer
and leader in the Bath concerts, and afterwards at the telescope
and in the computing rooms. (See Memoir of the same by Mrs.
When summoned by the King to Windsor, in 1782, to show
to him and to the Royal Family the wonders revealed by the new
telescopes in the heavens, William Herschel recognised the call to
abandon his well established position at the head of the Musical
Society in Bath, and settled near Windsor — first at Datchet, in this
county ; and later at Slough, in the house now known, in memory
of the great work done there, as " Observatory House." One of the
great 4-foot mirrors of his largest telescope stands in the entrance
hall of the same, at this day ; and the lower 10 feet of the tube
rest prone in the garden in front of the house.
In 1786, 1789, and 1802, William Herschel laid before the
Royal Society catalogues of two thousand five hundred new nebulae,
double stars, and star clusters ; having been elected a Fellow of the
Society in 1 781, in recognition of his notable discovery of the new
planet— the first event of its kind which had ever occurred, though
not the last. It may be of interest in this connection, and is
certainly known to but few, that in one of his letters Sir John
Herschel mentions having in the course of his " sweeps" (for
nebulas and double stars) casually noticed an object, which was
certainly no fixed star and which, on examination and reference to
ephemerides, proved to be no other than Uranus — thus discovered
incidentally, in the course of methodical search, a second time!
In 1816 William Herschel received the Guelphic Knighthood
from the King ; and died six years later, in 1822, at the ripe age
of 84; being at the time the first President of the newly
formed Astronomical Society of London.
Sir William's only son, by his wife Mary Baldwin, widow of
Jonn Pitt, of Upton, in Buckinghamshire, was John Frederick
William Herschel, afterwards the first Baronet, and father of
Colonel John Herschel, by his wife Margaret Brodie, daughter of the
Rev. Alexander Stewart, D.D., of Dingwall, Ross-shire, N.B.
Among the earliest of the numerous important discoveries in
science made by the former was that of the invaluable agent in
photography, hyposulphite of Soda. Though with a strong bias
towards chemical research, and the study of Light, he decided to
devote his energies to the completion of his father's Survey of the
Heavens, particularly with reference to nebulae, star clusters, and
double stars. It was during his sojourn at the Cape of Good Hope,
for the survey of the Southern Hemisphere, that his third son, John,
Sir John Frederick William Herschel was created a baronet
on the coronation of Her Majesty Queen Victoria in 1838, on his
return from the Cape, as a representative of Science. He was elected
to the Rectorship of Marischal College, Aberdeen, in 1842 ; and,
eight years later, was appointed Master of the Mint. His death
occurred on May nth, 1871, at Collingwood, Hawkhurst, Kent;
and his remains were interred in Westminster Abbey, close to Sir
Isaac Newton's monument.
Colonel Herschel also is a Fellow of the Royal Society. His
election took place in May, 1871, and the news of his success was
made known to his father — at whose instance his name was on the
list of candidates — shortly before his death. One result of this
continuity of Fellowship is that the County holds, in at least one
of its private libraries a complete and uninterrupted series of the
" Philosphical Transactions of the Royal Society of London " —
which perhaps few (if any) other than public institutions can boast
of possessing, from its earliest inception (in 1665) to the present
day. Colonel Herschel is also a Fellow of the Royal Astronomical
Society of London, and a Member of the Calcutta University.
Colonel Herschel had succeeded to the occupancy of
Observatory House on the death (in 1907) of his older brother,
Prof. Alexander S. Herschel, whose devotion to astronomy and
mechanical philosophy entitle him to more than a bare mention of
his name in connection with the County. His life and work, as a
teacher in the Durham University, were undoubtedly hard, yet he
was indefatigable in his observation of meteors, to which he devoted
an untold number of nightly vigils, both before and after his
retirement, with the honorary title of his Professorship, to the
comparative rest of a home at Slough — " Observatory House "
being in fact his property. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal
Society in 1884, the fourth of his name to have achieved this
coveted distinction. Of the Royal Astronomical Society he had
been a Fellow for many years,
Mrs. Napier Higgins, of Winchendon Priory
mrs. Rapier ftiggins, of Ulincbenaon priorp.
CADY of the Manor of Lower, or Nether Winchendon, Mrs.
Napier Higgins, of Winchendon Priory is Sophia Elizabeth,
the younger, but only surviving daughter of the late Sir
Thomas Tyringham Bernard, Bt, of Nettleham in Lincolnshire,
and Nether Winchendon, by his first wife, Sophia Charlotte, the
only child of the late Sir David Williams, 7th Bt. Lady Bernard
died on May 15th 1837.
On June 13th 1861, Sir Thomas Tyringham Bernard gave
his younger daughter in marriage to Joseph Napier, the third son
of Joseph Higgins, of Glenpatrick and Dublin, and to Mr. and
Mrs. Napier Higgins, a son, now Colonel Francis Tyringham
Higgins Bernard, of Chearsley Hill, was born in 1864.
Educated at Trinity College, Dublin, Mr. Napier Higgins,
having decided upon the Law as a profession, entered Lincoln's
Inn as a student in 1848, at the age of twenty two, and was called
to the Bar three years later. In 1872 he took silk, and became a
Bencher in that same year. The death of this eminent Q.C.
occurred on December 17th 1899.
Winchendon Priory, which passed to Mrs. Napier Higgins
on the death of her father, Sir Thomas Tyringham Bernard in
1883, is an interesting and venerable pile that is generally believed
to stand on the site of a former monastic house. The present
mansion is mainly of sixteenth century date ; Sir John Dauncy, its
then lessee, (whose eldest son married a daughter of Sir Thomas
More) built, or possibly restored the dining hall about 1528, and
over the old doorway his name is still to be seen, graven in oak
According to Messrs. Lysons, a moiety of Nether Winchendon
manor was bestowed upon Notley Abbey as part of its endowment
by the great Walter Giffard, its founder, in 1160, while the other
moiety passed to Baldwin de Wake, and did not reach the Abbey
Later, after the Reformation, a large portion of the estate
♦vas granted to John, Lord Russell, 1st Earl of Bedford, in 1547,
from whose son, Francis, William Goodwyn, a London merchant,
acquired the property, and by the marriage of his grand-daughter,
Petromlla, with Thomas Tyringham, it passed into the latter
In 1735, on the death of Francis Tyringham, the property
devoled upon his sister, Mary, and after passing to his cousin, Jane,
was by her bequeathed to her cousin german, Sir Francis Bernard,
the 1st Bt. of his line and sometime Governor of New Jersey and
Massachusetts, the grandfather of Sir Thomas Tyringham Bernard,
the father of Mrs. Napier Higgins.
Among other interesting features, Winchendon Priory con-
tains several portraits of the old Tyringham family, as well as
some of the Goodwyns, and much interesting and valuable antique
The cost of rebuilding the chancel of the little stone church
of St. Nicholas at Lower Winchendon was defrayed in 1891 by the
generosity of Mrs. Napier Higgins, and the Trustees of the late
Mr. Richard Rose.
Mrs. Napier Higgins is the patron of one living, and her
town address is 24 The Boltons, S.W.
General Sir George Wentworth Alexander Htgginson, G.C.B., J. P.
General Sir George Ulentioortb Alexander
fflgginson, G.C.B., 3.P-
PICTURESQUE Gyldernscroft, lying somewhat to the west of
Marlow-on-Thames, its hall bedecked with grim trophies of
war in sharp contrast to the peaceful beauty of its
surroundings, is the seat of that gallant veteran, General Sir
George Wentworth Alexander Higginson, whose record includes
no less than thirty years' service in connection with the Grenadier
Guards, dating from the time he left Eton, a lad of nineteen, and
entered that regiment, as an Ensign, in 1845. On the outbreak of
War with Russia in 1854, the Grenadiers were ordered to the front,
and the young soldier had the rare distinction of serving his country
in the Crimea throughout the whole war. The value of his services
may be estimated best from the fact that they twice secured his
promotion on the field, and gained for him the Crimean Medal
with four clasps as well as the Turkish Medal of the 5th Class,
Medjidie. In 1863, he became a Colonel, and twenty years later, a
General, having in the meantime commanded the Home District
from 1879 to 1884. From 1889 to 1893 ^ r George Higginson held
the responsible position of Lieut. Governor of the historic Tower of
London, and in '93 the Worcestershire Regiment had the honour
of numbering him among their ranks, as Colonel.
Among his other honours, Sir George Higginson is a Knight
of the Grand Cross of Italy and of the Legion of Honour, whilst
in 1889, he was created a Knight Commander of the Bath, and on
June 26th 1903 received the Knights Grand Cross of that Most
The only son of the late General George Powell Higginson
by his wife, the Lady Francis Elizabeth, the third daughter of
Francis, the first Earl of Kilmorey, Sir George Higginson was born
on June 21st 1826, and on July 29th 1858, after his return from the
Crimea, married the Hon. Florence Virginia Fox Fitz-Patrick, the
daughter of John Wilson, the first Lord Castletown, by whom he
has, with two daughters, a son, Francis George, who was born in
Since 1893, Sir George Higginson has been on the retired
list. Notwithstanding his eighty five years, he still takes more
than an ordinary interest in military affairs. The welfare of the
private soldier is dear to his heart. Only lately, speaking at the
opening of the Soldiers' and Sailors' Institute at Windsor, General
Higginson drew attention to the advantages enjoyed by the soldier
of today, as compared with his predecessor in the early forties,
when his only alterative from the barrack room was the canteen,
or possibly a public house. Not that, as the General was careful
to add, they were bad fellows in those old days. On the contrary,
there were many, whom he had been obliged to punish, owing to
the unhappy conditions that prevailed, but who, when once
removed from the scene of temptation, and face to face with the
horrors of war, showed themselves to be chips of the old block,
and men in the true sense of the word, whom he was proud to
shake by the hand. Then, in many cases, " To know all was to
pardon all." But now Sir George Higginson considers that it is
the soldier's own fault if he fails to benefit by the many advantages
in the shape of clubs, reading rooms, lectures and entertainments
placed at his disposal.
General Sir George Higginson is a magistrate for Bucking-
hamshire, and a member of the Guards and Carlton Clubs.
Howard Henvy Howard-Vyse, Esq., D.L., J. P.,
Reward Genrp boioardVpse, €sq.,
BORN in 1858, Mr. Howard Henry Howard-Vyse is the elder
son of the late Colonel Richard Henry Howard-Vyse, M.P.,
and Julia Agnes, the fourth daughter of William, 1st Lord
A. Justice of the Peace for Buckinghamshire and a Deputy-
Lieutenant for both Bucks and Northants, Mr. Howard-Vyse was
Sheriff for the first-mentioned County in 1887, and was formerly
a Lieutenant in the Royal Horse Guards.
In 1882 he married Mable Diana, the only daughter of the
late Rev. Granville Sykes Howard-Vyse, Rector of Boughton,
Northants, and has issue, Richard G. Howard-Vyse, Captain of
the Royal Horse Guards, and George Cecil Howard-Vyse.
Stoke Place, Slough, and Boughton, in Northamptonshire,
are Mr. Howard-Vyse's Country Seats. He is the patron of two
livings, and a member of the Bachelors', Naval and Military and
The Right Hon. The Earl Howe, G.C.V.O., J. P.
CIK Ridht Ron. Clx €arl fioioe, G.C.V.O.,
WITH two seats on the south eastern confines of Buckingham-
shire, Penn House, nestling amid beechclad glades in the
Amersham district, rich in memories of the Penns of Penn,
and Woodlands, near Uxbridge, Sir Richard George Penn Curzon-
Howe, 4th Earl Howe, Viscount Curzon, Baron Curzon, of Penn
House, and Baron Howe, of Langar, in Nottinghamshire, finds
many interests in this County. His lordship is a Justice of the
Peace for Buckinghamshire, and sat in the Commons as Member
for High Wycombe from 1885 until his accession to the Earldom
The grandson of the 1st Earl of the present creation, Richard
William Penn, Viscount Curzon, who was created Earl Howe in
182 1, his lordship is the eldest son of the late Richard William
Penn, 3rd Earl Howe, G.C.V.O., C.B., by his wife, Isabella Maria
Katherine, the eldest daughter of the Hon. George Anson.
Born in 1861, by his marriage in 1883 with the Lady
Georgiana Elizabeth Spencer-Churchill, fifth daughter of the 7th
Duke of Marlborough, his lordship has a son, Francis Richard
Henry Penn, Viscount Curzon, born in 1884. Lady Howe died
Lord Howe acted as Lord-in-Waiting to her Majesty, the
late Queen Victoria, and to King Edward VII., is Lord Chamberlain
to Queen Alexandra, and from 1896 to 1900 was Treasurer of the
Royal Household. His lordship is a Grand Officer of the Legion
of Honour, a Knight of the Grand Cross of the Victorian Order,
and holds, with other distinguished Orders, the Grecian Grand
Cross of the Saviour, the Polish White Eagle, the Dannebrog,
Prussian Red Eagle and that of St. Olaf.
Curzon House, Mayfair, W., Gopsall, Leicestershire, and
Acton Place, Suffolk, are others of his lordship's residences, who is
a member of the Marlborough, Bachelors', Carlton, Constitutional,
Turf and Travellers' Clubs.
The Baroness Kinloss, C.I.
Che Baroness Kinloss, C.l.
CHE Baroness Kinloss, Lady Mary Morgan-Grenville, is the
eldest daughter of the third and last Duke of Buckingham
and Chandos, by his first wife, Caroline, the only daughter
of Robert Harvey, of Langley Park; and when the Dukedom
became extinct on the death of his Grace in 1889, the barony
devolved upon this lady, who thus became a Peeress in her own
By her marriage on November 4th 1884 with Major Luis
Ferdinand Harry Courthorpe Morgan, whose death occurred in
1896, her ladyship has five sons and one daughter, the heir to the
barony being the Hon. Richard George Morgan-Grenville, Master
of Kinloss, who was born in 1887.
The Baroness's only daughter, Caroline Mary Elizabeth
Grenville married Thomas Close Smith, of Boycott Manor, and
Newcastle, N.S.W., a son, Richard Sydney Grenville being born to
them on January 26th 1910.
Stowe House, her ladyship's palatial Buckinghamshire seat,
has probably afforded entertainment to more Royalties than any
other English mansion. Its gardens, famous alike for the beauty
of their design and the innumerable temples therein contained, owe
their existence to Sir Richard Temple, Viscount Cobham.
The Baroness Kinloss has been a Lady of the Imperial Order
of the Crown of India since 1878. Her ladyship takes a keen
interest in the fortunes of the Buckinghamshire district, and at the
present time, discharges the duties of Churchwarden for Stowe.
John Matthew Knapp, Esq., J. P., C.C., M.A.
Jobn IDatthcio Knapp, €sq., 3P. t C.C., IW.il.
DESCENDED from an ancient and well-known Berkshire family
Mr. John Matthew Knapp, Lord of the Manors of Little
Linford, and Newport Pagnell in Northern Buckinghamshire
is the eldest son of the late Matthew Grenville Sam well Knapp, of
Little Linford, by his wife, Catherine Eliza Spottiswoode, the only
daughter of the late Captain Robert Robertson Bruce, of the
Bengal Horse Artillery.
Born on April 3rd 1868, Mr. Knapp received his education
from Haileybury College, and afterwards at Magdalen College,
Oxford, where he graduated as a Bachelor of Arts in 1890, and six
years later obtained his M.A. On June 20th 1900 he married
Katherine, the only daughter of the Very Rev. John Studholme
Brownrigg, Dean of Bocking and Canon of Bangor.
As a Justice of the Peace for both Buckinghamshire and
Northants, and a Member of the County Council for the former
shire, Mr. Knapp devotes a considerable proportion of his time to
County matters. It may be added that he was on the roll of High
Sheriff for Buckinghamshire for 1912.
Linford Hall, a commodious country mansion, standing
within a well-wooded park of about sixty acres, dates from the
latter part of the seventeenth century, when it was built by an
ancestor of the present occupant, John Knapp ; but many additions
and alterations have been made to the building since that date.
Little Linford Manor, like that of Newport Pagnell, was in
olden days the property of the great Paganell family, and passed
thence by female heirs to the Somervs, Botetorts, Burnells, and Berm-
inghams. Later, it was purchased by the Botilers, and for a time
linked its fortunes with those of Great Linford, until about 1658,
when, according to Lysons, it was sold by the Thompsons to
Kilpin and others, from whom it was bought subsequently by an
ancestor of the present proprietor.
Hard by the Hall stands the little church of St. Leonard, a
small, but ancient stone building, portions of which are of Norman
origin. The chancel was rebuilt by the generosity of Mr. Knapp's
father, the late Matthew Grenville Samwell Knapp, D.L., J. P., who
died in 1896, and the north aisle was added by two other members
of Mr. Knapp's family. There is also a marble tablet in the
nave to another ancestor, John Knapp, who died in 1747.
No churchyard is attached to the church, but within the
grounds of Linford Hall is a private vault, the property of the
Mr. John Matthew Knapp is a member of the Carlton and
Boodles Clubs, and the patron of one living.
Captain William Henry Lambton
Captain iUilliam Iknrp Cambton.
REDFIELD, Captain William Henry Lambton's Buckingham-
shire seat, is a commodious, modern, red brick mansion,
situated in well-laid out grounds, and commanding exten-
sive views of the charming neighbourhood of Winslow.
Born in 1867, Captain Lambton is the eldest son of the late
Henry Ralph Lambton, of Redfieid (to whom a memorial window
was erected in 1897 in St. Lawrence Church), by his wife,
Elizabeth Mary, the daughter of the late William Bernard Harcourt,
of St. Leonard's Hill, in Berkshire.
Eton afforded Captain Lambton his education. Later, he
joined the Coldstream Guards, in which he held the rank of
Captain, and, at the present time, is a Captain of the Reserve of
Palace Mansions, Palace Street, S.W., is Captain Lambton's
town address, and he is a member of the Bachelors', Travellers',
Pratt's and Guards' Clubs.
The Right Hon. The Baron Lawrence, D.L., J. P., B.A.
Che Right Ron.
Che Baron Cawrence, D.C., 3.p., B.fl.
BORN at Simla on October ist 1846, the eldest son of that
great Empire Builder, John Laird Mair Lawrence, after-
wards Governor General of India, and the first baron of
his line, by his wife, Harriette Katherine, C.I., the daughter of the
late Rev. Richard Hamilton, Rector and Vicar of Culdaff and
Cloncha, in Donegal, the present Baron, John Hamilton Lawrence
received an English education at Wellington College, and later,
passed to Trinity College, Cambridge, where he took his Bachelor
of Arts degree in 1869.
Having chosen the Law as a profession, he entered Lincoln's
Inn as a student early in the following year, at the age of twenty
three, and was called to the bar on November 18th 1872. In the
previous August, he married Mary Caroline Douglas, the only child
of the late Richard Campbell of Auchinbreck, in Argyllshire, and
Owing to the death of an infant son, the heir to the barony
is his lordship's second son, the Hon. Alexander Graham who was
born on March 29th 1878, and after receiving bis education from
Eton and Worcester College, Oxford, married Dorothy, the
daughter of the late A. Pemberton-Hobson in 1907, by whom he
has, with one daughter, a son and heir, John Anthony Edward.
Keenly interested in all appertaining to farming, and matters
agricultural, this gentleman has rendered military service, in
connection with the 3rd Battalion of the Bedfordshire Regiment, in
which he holds the rank of Captain, and in the good hunting
country around his home at The Slade, Bicester, is known as an
excellent sportsman, and a straight rider to hounds.
It was on June 27th 1879 that death called home his Lord-
ship's distinguished father, the first Baron Lawrence, whom he
thereupon succeeded in the title.
To the man who had given his life for India, who had spared
nothing to make her what she has since become, whose energetic
measures in 1S58 when Lieut. Governor of the Punjab did much
towards suppressing the Mutiny, a grateful country gave a
baronetcy in 1858, and the G.C.B. Later, in 1864, as Viceroy of
India, and the first civilian to permanently fill that office since the
days of Warren Hastings, Sir John Laird Mair Lawrence, as he
then was, contributed materially to the prosperity Hindostan
enjoyed at that time under his wise and understanding rule. He
it was who inaugurated that vast system of irrigating canals in
various parts of India as a preventative of recurring periods of
famine. Railways were extended, and having the confidence of
the natives, he was enabled to introduce many much needed
Unsparing of himself, or others, painstakingly industrious,
with that infinite capacity for taking pains that has been dubbed
the hall mark of genius, and withal sternly and strictly just, from
the time he first set foot in India in 1829, a lad of nineteen, till he
handed over the Government to his successor, Lord Mayo, in i86q
and returned home to be raised to the Peerage, as Baron Lawrence
of the Punjab, he had no thought but for the welfare of his adopted
country. When invalided home on one occasion, he was warned
by the doctors that if he insisted on returning to India, it would
probably be at the cost of his life. " If I can't live in India, I must
go and die there," was the reply, and he went.
The first Lord Lawrence did not die in India. Nevertheless
he gave his life for it, — and came home to die. England accorded
burial in Westminster Abbev to the author of that fine North
Western Policy of vigilance tempered with justice, whereby a
contented people might grow prosperous, and suffer the tribes
without their borders to remain independent, without interference.
Two statues have been erected to his memory, one in Waterloo
Place, London, and the other in his beloved Calcutta, but his best
tribute has been the love of his adopted people.
Of his other children, the Hon. Charles Napier Lawrence,
his third son, and brother of the present Lord Lawrence, is well
known in connection with his work on Royal Commissions, and as
Deputy Chairman of the London and North Western Railway and
Chairman of the London Board of North British and Mercantile
Insurance Co., while the fourth son, the Hon. Herbert Alexander
Lawrence, late of the 17th Lancers was mentioned in the despatches
and obtained two medals in recognition of his valuable services
during the War in South Africa, and the youngest, and sixth
daughter, the Hon. Maude Agnes Lawrence has ably discharged
the duties of Chief Woman Inspector of the Board of Education for
the past six years.
Formerly connected with the Hertfordshire Yeomanry
Cavalry, in which he held the rank of Captain, of late years, his
duties at Court have occupied the chief portion of the present Lord
Lawrence's time. His lordship was Lord-in- Waiting to Her late
Majesty, Queen Victoria from 1895 to 1901, aud on her death,
continued to hold the same office under his late Majesty, her
successor, King Edward VII until 1905, and received the Grand
Cross of the Order of Frederick of Wurtemberg, with crown in
Chetwode Manor, his lordship's Buckinghamshire residence,
and his Hampshire property of some ten thousand acres, in the
neighbourhood of Grateley, near Andover, afford him ample
opportunities for the indulgence in his favourite recreations of
hunting and shooting.
His lordship is a Liberal Unionist in politics, a Justice of the
Peace for Middlesex and Westminster, and a Deputy Lieutenant
for Buckinghamshire, and is numbered among the members of
Brooks, the Travellers, St. James' and Athenaeum Clubs.
The Hon. Harry Lawson Webster Lawson, M.P., J. P., MA.
Clx Ron. ftarrp Cawson Olebster Caioson,
l»>P., 3P., l».fl.
CHE elder son and heir of the first Lord Burnham, chief
proprietor of 'The Daily Telegraph,' by his wife, the late
Harriette Georgiana, only daughter of Mr. Benjamin Webster,
the noted actor-manager and author, the Hon. Harry Lavvson
Webster Lawson was born on December 18th 1862, in St. Pancras,
and received his education from Eton and Balliol College, Oxford,
where he graduated as B.A. in 1884, obtaining a First Class in
Modern History, and took his M.A. four years later.
By his marriage on January 2nd 1884, with Olive, the second
daughter of the late General Sir Henry Percival de Bathe, the
fourth baronet of the present creation, Mr. Lawson is connected
with a family of very ancient lineage, whose ancester, Hugo, having
accompanied Earl ^trongbow in his Invasion of Ireland at the end
of the reign of King Henry II, obtained large grants of lands in
that country, and in Devon. Another notable member of the same
family was Henry de Bathe, Lord Chief Justice of England in the
reign of Henry III.
To Mr. and Mrs. Lawson one daughter, Dorothy Olive, was
born on January 26th 1885. Her marriage with Captain the Hon.
John Spencer Coke, of the Scots Guards, son of Thomas William,
the second Earl of Leicester, still further cemented her family ties
with Buckinghamshire, in that the great Sir Edward Coke, Chief
Justice of the Court of Common Pleas, and ancestor of the Earls of
Leicester, was granted the manor of Stoke Pogis by James I, and
after his last public act, the drawing up of the famous Petition of
Right, lived there 'among his much honoured allies and friends of
Buckinghamshire,' until his death in 1634.
The issue of the above mentioned marriage is a son, Gerald
Edward, born in 1907, and an infant daughter, Rosemary Olive.
Mr. Harry Lawson began his strenuous political career in
1885, when he was returned to Parliament as a member for his
birthplace, West St. Pancras, which he continued to represent until
1892, when East Gloucestershire claimed his services.
A barrister-at-law, for he was called to the bar at the Inner
Temple in 1891, a Justice of the Peace for Buckinghamshire,
formerly one of the most prominent members of the London County
Council, and on the roll of High Sheriff for 1907, Mr. Lawson has
served as a member for the Royal Commission on Civil
Establishments 1889-92, the Colonial Office Committee of
Emigrant Information Department since 1894, and has identified
himself especially in the House with all Metropolitan interests.
From 1886- 1892 he was a member of the Town Holdings Committee,
and from 1908-9 held the office of Mayor of Stepney.
On January 12th 1905, after one of the most fiercely con-
tested bye-elections that London has ever known, the Hon. Harry
Lawson was returned as the Liberal Unionist Member for the Mile
End Division of the Tower Hamlets with a majority of seventy
eight; and, after suffering defeat for the same constituency in the
following year, was re-elected in both January and December 1910,
the last time by the narrow majority of two votes.
A good sportsman, with an especial leaning towards shoot-
ing, rowing and hunting, Mr. Lawson finds opportunity to enjoy
these pastimes when in residence at Orkney Cottage in the
picturesque neighbourhood of Taplow, whilst the Royal Bucks
Hussars, in which he holds the rank of Lieut. Colonel and Hon.
Colonel, claim another share of his many sided interests, and,
fittingly, he has the Territorial Decoration.
As a journalist, Mr. Lawson has obtained a practical insight
into colonial matters, having for some time acted as special
correspondent to 'The Daily Telegraph' both in India and South
Africa. He is a frequent contributor to the monthly magazines and
periodicals, in 191© was elected President of the Institute of
Journalists, and is chairman of the Empire Press Union.
Mr. Lawson's town residence is 37 Grosvenor Square, W.,
and he is a member of the Athenaeum, Marlborough, Garrick, and
Oxford and Cambridge Clubs.
Mrs Lee, of Hartwell House
The Old Dairy Border.
Sir Joshua Reynolds' Cottage (uhere he is supposed
to have painted).
mrs. Cee, of fiartwll ftouse.
IN Hartwell House, Mrs. Lee, the widow of the late Colonel
Edward Dyke Lee, who died in 1909, has a home abounding
in fascinating historical associations.
Through the marriage of Sir Thomas Lee, Knight, of East
Claydon and Moreton, with Eleanor Hampden, the eventual
heiress of Michael Hampden — born 1554 an< ^ died 1633 — Hartwell
came into the Lee family ; although they had been seated in
Buckinghamshire, at Moreton, in Dinton, as early as the reign of
Henry IV., and the grandson of the Sir Thomas Lee previously
mentioned, Sir William Lee, the 4th baronet, effected many im-
provements to Hartwell, both as regards the laying out of the
grounds, and the house itself, including the re-building of the east
and south fronts. Sir William also re-built the parish chuich,
which is picturesquely situated in Hartwell Park, with the
assistance of his two uncles, Lord Chief Justice Sir William Lee
and Sir George Lee. The last baronet of this family, Sir George
Lee, Rector of Hartwell and Beachampton, was the younger son of
Sir William Lee, the 4th baronet, by his marriage with the Lady
Elizabeth Harcourt, the daughter of Simon, Earl of Harcourt, and
it was during the lifetime of the Rev. Sir George Lee that Hartwell
became the home of the exiled King Louis XVIII. from 1808 to
1814, innumerable alterations being made to accommodate the
suites of that King and his Queen.
According to Dr. Doran : —
Hartwell was nearly two centuries old when the
king took possession Of its four faces, directed
towards the cardinal points of the compass, one had an
ancient and melancholy aspect ; the second had a grave
Elizabethan (Jacobean) cheerfulness ; the third was
light, airy and smiling ; the fourth had a trimmed,
polished air of modernly invented comfort. The house
was strong enough to resist a siege. It had, and has,
its porticoes, its porches and its quaint seats The
drawing room was of royal dimensions and beauty ; the
staircases quaintly noble, with oaken rails and statues ;
carved ceilings, marble mantelpieces, perplexing those
who gazed on them by their abundant allegorical
difficulties; and pannelled walls, whereon the represen-
tatives of old valour and ancient loveliness kept their
silent state, added to the general effect.
Finally Hartwell passed, through the female line, after the
death of Sir George, the last baronet, in 1827, to Dr. Lee, and then
to the late Colonel Edward Dyke Lee, the son of the Rev. James
Fiott, by his marriage with Harriet Jenner, the daughter of Sir
Peicyvall Hart Dyke, Bart., the family having assumed the name
The late Colonel Lee was born in 1842, received his education
from Rugby and Oxford, and succeeded to the Hartwell estates in
1866. He was a Justice of the Peace for Buckinghamshire,
Honorarv Colonel of the 3rd Battalion of the Oxfordshire Light
Infantrv, and married in 1894 Mabel Alice, the only surviving
daughter of the late Edward Smalley Potter, J. P., of Fulwood,
Gloucestershire, by his wife, Alice Hamilton, the daughter of the
late Rev. Edward B. Creek, Vicar of Stanmore, in Hampshire.
The welfare of her tenantry is a matter of first importance
to Mrs. Lee. A large portion of the debt on the village hall at the
adjoining township of Stone has been cleared through her in-
strumentality, and her interest in practical bread making led to
genuine standard bread being in existence in Buckinghamshire as
far back as 1908.
In addition to Hartwell House, Mrs. Lee owns Totteridge
Park, in Hertfordshire, and is the patron of one living.
Arthur Hamilton Lee, Esq., M.P.
Arthur Hamilton €ee, €$q., l#.p.
CHE Conservative Member for Fareham and present occupant
of historic Chequers Court in Buckinghamshire, is Mr.
Arthur Hamilton Lee, the well-known Military Expert, and
former Professor of Strategy and Tactics at the Royal Military
College, Canada, who acted as Military Attache at Washington
in 1899, and after his retirement from the Army in 1900, was
appointed Civil Lord of the Admiralty from 1903 to 1905.
Born in 1868, the younger son of the late Rev. Melville L.
Lee, of Bridport, Cheltenham and the Royal Military Academy,
Woolwich, afforded Mr. Lee his early education, after which he
joined the Royal Garrison Artillery in 1888.
Since then he has held many and varied military positions,
and has a wide experience of the Far East and North America.
In 1899 he married Ruth, the daughter of the late. John G.
Moore, of New York, and by Buckinghamshire the names of Mr.
and Mrs. A. H. Lee will ever be gratefully remembered for their
recent purchase of some 105 acres on Combe Hill, around the
County Memorial to the Men slain in the South African War, the
land to be bequeathed to the National Trust, as an open space for
The fine old mansion of Chequers Court has also been
considerably restored by its present occupant.
Mr. A. H. Lee is a Governor of Christ's Hospital, was a
Member of the Military Education Committee of 1901-2, and two
years later acted as Chairman of the Interdepartmental Committee
of the Humane Slaughter of Animals.
Mr. Lee's town address is 10 Chesterfield Street, Mayfair,
W., and he is a member of the Beefsteak, Kinsmen, Carlton,
United Service and Hurlingham Clubs.
Rudolph Chambers Lehmann. Esq., J. P., M.A.
Rudolph Chambers Cchmann, €sq. f
BORN in 1856, Mr. Rudolph Chambers Lehmann has devoted
a busy life to Journalism, Politics and the Law.
In igoi he occupied the editorial chair in The Daily News
Offices, and since 1890 has been a member of the Punch Staff. As
the author of Mr. Punch's Prize Novels, Anni Fugaces, The Sun
Child, Memories of Half a Century, and many other works, his name
is familiar to a large circle of readers.
Mr. Lehmann was the Liberal Representative for Harborough
(Leicestershire) from 1906 to 191 o.
The eldest son of the late Frederick Lehmann, of 15 Berkeley
Square, by his wife, Nina, the daughter of the late Dr. Robert
Chambers, Mr. R. C. Lehmann graduated at Trinity College,
Cambridge, was called to the Bar of the Inner Temple in 1880, and
is known in legal circles as the joint author of Cases Overruled
In 1901 he was Sheriff for Buckinghamshire, for which
County he is also a Magistrate, and was Captain of the Leander
Club from 1894 to l! ^95-
In 1898 he married Alice Marie, daughter of the late
Harrison Davis, of New Hampshire, and has issue.
Mr. Lehmann's Buckinghamshire residence is Fieldhead,
Bourne End, and his town address, 59 Ashley Gardens. The Bath,
Sports, Reform and Athenaeum Clubs number Mr. Lehmann
among their members.
Sir Herbert Samuel Leon, Bt., J. P.
Sir Herbert Samuel Ceon, Bart. t }.p.
ONE of the chief landowners in the neighbourhood of Bletchley
and Fenny Stratford in Buckinghamshire is Sir Herbert
Samuel Leon, of Bletchley Park, who for some years repre-
sented the Northern Division of the County in Parliament, in the
Liberal interests, and was pricked for High Sheriff in 1909.
The long list of recent Coronation Honours contained no
more popular announcement than that of the Baronetcy bestowed
upon the former Member for Buckingham, for, as Chairman of the
Finance Committee, an Alderman of the Buckinghamshire County
Council, and a Justice of the Peace, Sir Herbert ably discharges
his duties as a citizen, and is one of the best known figures in the
northern portion of the County.
Born in 1850, the second son of the late George Leon, of
London, Sir Herbert Samuel Leon was educated privately, and has
been twice married, his first wife being Esther, the second daughter
of the late Edward Henry Beddington. This lady died in 1875,
the same year that his son and heir, Mr. George Edward Leon, was
In 1880 Sir Herbert married secondly, Fanny, the third
daughter of David Hyam.
After receiving his education at Eton, Sir Herbert's eldest
son, Mr. George Edward Leon, in 1899, married Mildred Ethel, the
daughter of the late Lewis John Jennings, M.P.
Bletchley Park, a commodious modern red-brick mansion, is
beautifully situated amid well laid out pleasure grounds, whose
state of perfection bespeaks the constant care and attention
bestowed upon them. These, with his customary thoughtfulness
for the pleasures of others less fortunate than himself, Sir Herbert
from time to time, throws open, in order that the public may
participate in their enjoyment. Another feature of Bletchley Park
is the unusually beautiful green houses it contains, and the approach
to the house from north to south is particularly fine, between a
majestic avenue of elms, whose delicate lace-like twigs in winter
form beautiful patterns against a clear sky and in summer the
verdant green of their leaves affords a welcome shade.
Bletchley Manor was among the many owned by Walter
Giffard in the time of the Norman Kings, and later was in the
possession of the De Greys of Wilton, until the beginning of the
seventeenth century. The Church still contains their chapel, and
a very handsome alabaster tomb in memory of Richard Lord Grey
de Wilton, who was buried there, together with his son and grand-
son. Later, this manor passed to the celebrated antiquary, Dr.
Browne Willis, who restored the Church in 1704.
But it is in connection with Fenny Stratford that Browne
Willis' influence has been most felt, and it was due to his untiring
efforts in the matter of collecting subscriptions that its inhabitants
were at last provided with a place of worship, for their own Chapel
of St. Margaret had been destroyed during the Civil Wars. The
noted antiquary's personal peculiarities were many. According to
contemporaries, he dressed usually with three or four coats, all
much out of date, slung round him, with a leather strap to prevent
them slipping off, and over these an old blue cloak, whilst his shoes
were generally so much mended that there was little of the original
material to be seen.
It was in 1724 that Browne Willis laid the first stone of the
new edifice on St. Martin's Day, and the building was dedicated to
that saint, which says Lysons," strongly indicated that whimsicality
of disposition for which he was remarkable," the reason being that
the grandfather of Browne Willis had died in St. Martin's Lane,
some time back, and on St. Martin's Day.
On the completion of the building, Browne Willis hung the
portrait of his grandfather in the porch with these lines
beneath it :
In honour of thy memory, blessed shade,
Was the foundation of this chapel laid,
Purchased by thee, thy son, and present heir,
Owe these three manors to thy art and care :
For this may all thy race thanks ever pay,
And yearly celebrate St. Martin's Day.
And although the remains of Browne Willis have rested
beneath the chancel of the Church since 1760, Fenny Stratford still
continues to mark that date as a red letter day in its calendar;
there is generally divine service in the morning, a dinner in the
evening, and the little "Fenny Poppers" those miniature guns that
the town reckons among its most precious posessions, fire
Another and a darker memory is Fenny Stratford's. During
the time of the Plague the town suffered terribly. Inns were closed,
even the road was deflected, and the market, which up to that
time had been an important one, was practically ruined.
Sir Herbert Samuel Leon's town residence is 7, Cleveland
Row, St. James', S.W., and he is a member of the Devonshire and
Arthur Lasenby Liberty, Esq., D.L., J. P., C.C.
Arthur Casenbp Cibertp, esq.,
d.c, m, cc.
JM BUCKINGHAMSHIRE man by birth, for he first saw the
ft light at Chesham on August 13th 1843, Mr. Arthur Lasenby
Liberty, of Lee Manor, is ever mindful of the interests of his
native County amid the multifarious occupations of a busy life.
He is a member of the County Council, Chairman of the
Buckinghamshire Association for the loan of Pictures to Schools,
and renders further service to Buckinghamshire as a Deputy
Lieutenant and a Justice of the Peace, whilst his interest in
perhaps the most entrancing side of this fascinating County has
made him Vice-President of that most admirable body, The
Buckinghamshire Architectural and Archaeological Society, whose
Records are an unique and valuable addition to the Archives. In
1899 he ably discharged the duties appertaining to the Shrievalty,
and at the present time acts as Chairman to the Lee Parish
That pretty, retired hamlet, Lee, nearly three miles from
Great Missenden, in Eastern Bucks, which, nevertheless, possesses
an attraction for the antiquarian, in the shape of the remains of
an ancient camp in Bray's Wood, has much reason to remember
the name of the present occupant of Lee Manor with gratitude.
For some time past, Mr. Liberty has had a scheme in hand for the
improvement of the parish church of St. John the Baptist, wherein
the solitary nave afforded an all too inadequate seating accom-
modation for the increased number of the inhabitants, and both
chancel and vestry were equally insufficient in size. Just about
eighteen months ago, having obtained the advice of so eminent an
authority as Mr. C. H. Fellowes Prynne, F.R.I.B.A. the work was
put in hand, Mr. Liberty guaranteeing the necessary funds, with
the proviso that a portion was to be defrayed by voluntary
In May of the present year, the Lord Bishop of Oxford
dedicated the important additions to the church, which include a
baptistry and a new vestry, as well as the extension of the nave,
and two new transepts, chambers being provided for both
heating and gas supply purposes, for the church will require its
own gas engine.
The decorative work of the interior has all been carried out
in carved oak, including the chancel roof and wall pannelling,
choir screens ana stalls. Both chancel and baptistry floors are
mosaic, and the steps of white marble. Out of an estimated cost
of ^"3,500, about £550, the amount agreed upon, has been raised
by subscription, and the balance of £"3,000 has been generously
provided by Mr. and Mrs. Liberty.
The eldest son of the late Arthur Liberty, of Nottingham,
Mr. Arthur Lasenby Liberty was educated at the University School
in that town, and in 1875 married Emma Louise, the daughter of
the late Henry Blackmore.
To the experience gained by his extensive travels in East-
ern lands as well as his keen artistic sense must be ascribed his
success as the Founder of the great Firm of Liberty and Co. Ltd.,
of which he is now Chairman. It is sufficient to say that
" Liberty Style " and a " Liberty Frock " have long since acquired
a cachet of their own, and at the same time have become
synonomous with all that is really artistic and beautiful in the
world of dress.
The reason of his being elected a Member of the Advisory
Committee of the Royal School of Needlework is not far to seek,
and among other industrial enterprises, Mr. Liberty is Director of
the British Produce Association and Vice-President of the Silk
Association of Great Britain and Ireland. In 1900 the task of Juror at
the Parish International Exhibition was entrusted to him, and six
years later, he was elected member of the London Committee at
the Exhibition at Milan.
Among other widely divergent offices, Mr. Liberty ranks as
a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society, a Past Master of the
Glass Sellers' Company, a Member of the Organising Council of
the Japan Society, and a Fellow of the Asiatic Society of Japan,
as well as a Fellow of the Royal Statistical Society, and a Past
President of the Sette of Odd Volumes.
The last mentioned recalls the fact that Mr. Liberty is the
author of "Springtime in the Basque Mountains," and other works,
and has been the recipient of the Society of Arts' Medals for papers
read before their members on two occasions.
Mr. Liberty is also a Member of the Royal Institute, and in
addition to an inborn love of travel, finds keen enjoyment when
opportunity offers, in a day with the gun, or a few hours devoted
to the more peaceful occupation of sketching.
His town address is 28 Warwick St., Regent St., W., he is
one of the chief landowners in the Lee district of Buckingham-
shire, and the Devonshire Club numbers Mr. Arthur Lasenby
Liberty among its members.
Lieut.- Colonel William John Levi J. P.
Cieut.Colonel William 3oDn Ccoi t J.p.
ONE of the chief landowners of that quaint, old-world village,
engirdling a green of twenty acres in Northern Buckingham-
shire known as Woughton-on-the-Green, is Lieut. -Colonel
William John Levi, of Woughton House.
Born in 1864, Colonel Levi is the son of the late Major
William Levi, of Woughton, by his wife, Sarah Jane, the daughter
of John Robert Mills, of York. Magdalene College, Cambridge,
afforded him his education, and in 1891 he married Lilian Maud,
the only daughter of the late Joseph Augustus Yorke.
Sincerely interested in the welfare of Buckinghamshire,
Colonel Levi spares neither time nor trouble in the furtherance of
its municipal progress, and as a Member of the County Council
and an active magistrate, is a well-known and popular figure in
the neighbourhood of Woughton.
In addition to this, he has given practical demonstration of
his regard for things military, and his connection with the Royal
Bucks Hussars Yeomanry, in which he holds the rank of Major and
Hon. Lieut. -Colonel evidences the value he attaches to the
Territorial Movement. In recognition of his able services, he
fittingly holds the Territorial Decoration.
Woughton House is an imposing brick mansion, charmingly
situated within a picturesque park of some forty three acres.
The church of St. Mary in the village, not far from Woughton
House, contains a handsome memorial to the late Major William
Levi, who died in 1889, the father of Colonel Levi, in the shape of
a new and badly needed organ and organ chamber, which were
erected by his widow, Mrs. William Levi, and her son, Lieut. -Col.
Levi, at a cost of £"1,250.
Richard William Selby- Lowndes, Esq .,
Richard Ulilliam Selbp°£ou)nde$ t fesq.
DESCENDED from a family of high antiquity, who have been
seated in Buckinghamshire since the beginning of the six-
teenth century, and the only son of the late Richard William
Selby- Lowndes, of Elmers, near Bletchley, by his wife, Mar} Susan,
the daughter of the late Rev. William Fletcher, Fellow of the
Royal Astronomical Soeiety, of Harwell, in Berkshire, the subject
of the present notice was born on September 3rd, 1848, and received
his education at Marlborough.
On December 18th, 1872, Mr. Selby-Lowndes married
Elizabeth Frances, the daughter of the Hon. Henry Thomas Howard,
the second son of Thomas, 16th Earl of Suffolk and 9th Earl of
Berkshire, by whom he has, with other issue, a son and heir,
Richard Cecil William, who was born in 1873, and married in 1906
Jennie, the third daughter of the late David Martin, J. P., of Leacain,
in County Down. After the death of his first wife in 1898, Mr.
Richard Selby-Lowndes married secondly in 1905 Gertrude, the
daughter of the late Captain Arthur Nassau Bolton, of the 14th
Hussars, and widow of Major Francis Studdert Evans.
Mr. Selby- Lowndes has rendered military service, and ranked
formerly as a Captain of the Reserve of Officers, and Major and
Hon. Lieut. Colonel of the 3rd Battalion of the Oxfordshire Light
The picturesquely gabled modern mansion, Elmers, the
residence of Mr. Selbv-Lowndes, is of modern date, and stands on
the site of an older house, which was demolished in 1871. Some
fine elm trees form a pleasing setting to the building, which is
situated in the vicinity of the parish church.
Mr. Richard Selby -Lowndes holds Dungar Park, Roscrea,
King's County, Ireland, as well as Elmers in Buckinghamshire, and
is a member of the Wellington Club.
William Dalziel Mackenzie, Esq., D.L., J. P., M.A.
Ulilliam Dalziel Mackenzie, fcsq. t D.C., 3.P.,
mUCH that is interesting, both as regards past
and present events, centres round Fawley Court,
the beautiful Buckinghamshire seat of Mr. William
Dalziel Mackenzie, who is Lord of the Manor, and chief landowner
in that district.
Situated on the borders of Oxfordshire, this large red brick
and stone mansion in the Palladian style is familiar to all habitues
of Henley. The famous Island, crowned with the small Grecian
temple, lies hard by, in mid-stream. Fawley's well timbered park
slopes down to meet the river, and the estate, on its western side,
derives an additional charm from the deer park, wherein the
graceful forms of the red, fallow, cheetal and Japanese deer roam
at will beneath its stately trees. There too are to be seen some
fine specimens of Highland cattle, for Mr. Mackenzie is a well-
known breeder and exhibitor of both Highland cattle and ponies,
and an Ex-President of the Highland Cattle Society.
The four-fronted house is surrounded by beautiful terraces
leading to the well kept grounds and gardens and the views both
of the silvery river, and the low, partly beech-clad Chilterns have
their own peculiar loveliness at all seasons of the year. The chief
entrance to Fawley Court is on the western side, through an Ionic
colonnaded portico, overlooking the deer park. Black and white
marble forms the paving of the hall, which is a noble apartment
some forty-two feet long, twenty-seven feet wide, and nineteen feet
high, adorned by statuary and two Etruscan vases of unusual size.
The saloon is of equalsize. The mansion is a veritable treasurehouse
of pictures, statuary, and objets cfart. On the principal staircase
are two fine bronze figures of Moors, serving as candelabra ; the
fine ceiling in the saloon is generally attributed to Cipriani. In
the dining room is Salter's well-known picture of the Waterloo
Banquet at Apsley House, which was to have been presented to the
Duke of Wellington, but death claimed that great soldier before
the presentation could be effected, and the picture was thus
purchased by Mr. Edward Mackenzie, the father of the present
owner of Fawley Court. The staircase too, is adorned with
seperate portraits of the guests, while the work of such past masters
of their art as Greuze, Victor Dupre, Salmon" Verbockhoeven, Rosa
Bonheur, Hurlstone, Van Schendel, Gainsborough, Sir Joshua
Reynolds and many others, finds place on the walls of the various
rooms, and the decorations of one of the state bedrooms are Persian,
The house itself was erected from designs by Sir Christopher
Wren, by Sir Bulstrode Whitlocke's son, in the latter part of the
seventeenth century (1684) ; and in 1883, Mr. William Dalziel
Mackenzie added a large wing, comprising several additional
bedrooms, a study, together with billiard and smoking rooms. It
was due to this gentleman's good taste that the original Portland
stone and brick of the mansion were restored, for a previous owner
had thought fit to coat it with stucco.
At the time of the Conquest, the manor of Fawley, or, as it
was then called, " Falelei," was held by Walter de Bolebec (Giffard),
whose tenant was Herbrand de Saultchevril, or Salchevilla,
believed by some to be the head of the House of Sackville,
According to Lysons, the manor remained with this family until
about i4©o, when it passed by female heirs to the Rokes and
Alfords, through whom it came to that able lawyer, Sir James
Whitlocke, who by his marriage with Elizabeth Bulstrode,
became the father of the great Sir Bulstrode Whitlocke equally
noted as a high state official under Cromwell, and for the unusual
and impartiality accuracy of his writings.
Sir James Whitlocke died in 1632, and was buried at
Fawley, where a fine canopied black marble tomb was erected to
his memory, and that of his wife, by his son, Sir Bulstrode, in St.
Ten years later, Fawley Court, was occupied by the King's
troops under Sir John Byron, at the beginning of the Civil War.
The extent of the damage they committed may best be divined
from Sir Bulstrode's own account, as follows :—
Sir John Biron and his brother commanded those
horse, and gave order that they should commit no
insolence at my house, nor plunder my goods ; but
soldiers are not easily governed against their plunder,
or persuaded to restrain it; for their being about 1,000
of the King's horse quartered in and about the house
and none but servants there, there was no insolence or
outrage usually committed by common soldiers on a
reputed enemy which was omitted by these brutish
fellows at my house They spent and consumed 100
load of corn and hay, littered their horses with sheaves
of good wheat, and gave them all sorts of corn in the
straw ; divers writings of consequence, and books which
were left in my study, some of them they tore in pieces,
others they burnt to light their tobacco, and some they
carried away with them, to my extreme great loss and
prejudice in wanting the writings of my estate, and
losing very many excellent manuscripts of my father's
and others and some of mv own labours.
They broke down my park pales, killed most of my
deer, though rascal and carrion, and let out all the rest
only a tame young stag they carried away and presented
to Prince Rupert, and my hounds, which were
extraordinary good. They ate and drank up all that the
house could afford ; broke up all my trunks, chests, and
places; and where they found linen, or any household
stuff, they took it away with them, and cutting the beds
let out the feathers, and took away the ticks. They
likewise carried away my coach and four good horses,
and all my saddle horses, and did all the mischief and
spoil that malice and enmity could provoke barbarous
mercenaries to commit, and so they parted.
The manor records in some way found refuge in the
British Museum and by the courtesy of the authorities
were restored to Fawley Court a few years ago. They
date back to the reign of Edward 1st. or possibly
The House was never again occupied. Sir Bulstrode
withdrew to his Wiltshire seat, where he died, and was afterwards
buried at Fawley. His son it was who rebuilt the house, and sold
the manor to Colonel Williams Freeman.
William III. on his progress from Torbay to London in 1688
here ( Fawley Court ) received deputations of the Lords and
Commons and also of the Corporation of the City of London.
After continuing with the Freemans till 1853, an ^ being
honoured at different times by visits from King George III., George
IV., and later by William IV., when his personal friend, Admiral of the
Fleet William Peere Williams (who took the name of his Freeman
relatives on succeeding to the property) was in occupation, the
grandson of the above mentioned Admiral sold Fawley in 1853 to
Mr. Edward Mackenzie the father of the present owner.
Mr. William Dalziel Mackenzie was born in Renfrewshire
on March 31st 1840, being the eldest son of the late Edward
Mackenzie, of Fawley Court, by his first wife, Mary, the daughter of
William Dalziel of the Craigs, Dumfries-shire, and is descended
from the Mackenzies of Fairburn and Muirton, in Ross-shire.
Alexander Mackenzie, the grandfather of Mr. William
Dalziel Mackenzie, together with his partner David Macintosh, was
one of the most noted canal engineers of his day. His eldest son,
William, the elder brother of Mr. Edward Mackenzie of Fawley
Court, worked under Fletcher and Telford, as a civil engineer, and
later took part in most of the chief engineering feats of his time. In
connection with railway work, he accepted contracts at home and
abroad. Both he and his younger brother, Edward, were members
of the firm of Mackenzie and Brassey, while Mr. William Mackenzie
also acted as Director on several Railway Boards, and was a
Chevalier of the Legion of Honour.
The late Mr. Edward Mackenzie, of Fawley Court, was born
on May the 1st 181 1, and was a Deputy Lieutenant for Oxfordshire,
for which county he acted as High Sheriff in 1862, besides being a
Magistrate for Oxford, Buckingham, as well as Dumfries and
Kirkcudbright. Slough remembers this gentleman with gratitude,
for on July 25th 1863, he made the munificent present of £"14,000 to
the British Orphan Asylum of that town. And his death in 1880
was a matter of much regret.
That same year, 1863, was an eventful one for Mr. William
Dalziel Mackenzie, Having been educated at Harrow and
Magdalen College, Oxford, where he had graduated the previous
year, and entered as a student of the Inner Temple at the age of
nineteen in 1859, Mr. Mackenzie was called to the Bar in November
1863, and on the first of the following December married his first
wife, Mary Anna, the eldest daughter of the late Henry Baskerville
of Crowsley Park, Oxfordshire. By this lady, whose death occurred
in 1900, he has two sons and four daughters, his heir being William
Roderick Dalziel, who was born on September 2nd 1864, and is
now a Justice of the Peace for Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire,
and was formerly a Major in the 3rd Battalion of the Cameron
Highlanders. In 1888 Mr. Roderick Mackenzie married Maud
Evelyn, the eldest daughter of General Sir George Alexander
Higginson, G.C.B. of Gyldernscroft, Great Marlow, and to them a
son William Douglas Alexander Dalzell, was born in 1889.
Politics have played a considerable part in Mr. W. D.
Mackenzie's busy life. A strong Conservative, he stood for Reading
in 1874, an d later was candidate for Woodstock and Truro.
In 1873 he filled the office of High Sheriff for Oxford, and
and is also a Justice of the Peace for Oxfordshire and Buckingham,
and alderman of the Oxfordshire County Council, whilst his
northern interests bring him magisterial duties in Dumfries,
Kirkcudbright, and Inverness, of which latter county he is also a
From 1873 to J 88a M f - Mackenzie was a Director of the
London and North Western Railway. He served forty-one years
(retiring as Hon. Lieut. Colonel) in the Queen's Own Oxfordshire
Hussars Imperial Yeomary ; he is now a member of the Oxford-
shire Territorial Association, having previously, 1859-62, been in the
Oxford University Volunteers ; whilst as an author, and an
extensive landowner, his publications on Agricultural Depression,
and the Fiscal Question, carry the weight only accorded to first
hand knowledge of the subjects.
Nor, among the many claims upon him, is Mr. Mackenzie
unmindful of the pleasures of his Fawley tenantry. In that village
there is a Reading and a Recreation Room, erected by him in a
large measure for their benefit, an act of thoughtful kindness that
has met with great appreciation on the part of its recipients.
The little flint church of St. Mary's (with Saxon tower)
contains, in addition to the handsome tomb erected by Sir Bulstode
Whitlocke in memory of his parents, some excellent carving on the
pulpit, and elsewhere, the work of Grinling Gibbons, bought from
Canons in Hertfordshire, the seat of the Duke of Chandos, where it
adorned the chapel ; and the Freeman and Mackenzie families have
each an imposing mausoleum in its churchyard.
Mr. Mackenzie is the patron of three livings. In addition to
Fawley Court, he is the owner of another estate at Farr, in
Circumstances have obliged him to farm on an extensive
scale. Estate improvements and the ethics of planting, with other
kindred agricultural problems, receive much attention from him.
Deer stalking and shooting are among his favourite recreations,
and to these, in former days, he added rowing.
In 1902, Mr. Mackenzie married his second wife, Mary
Catherine, the second daughter of Adam S. Gladstone, and the
widow of Sir Francis G. Stapleton, the 8th Bt., of his line.
His town address is 91 Eaton Square, S.W., and he is a member of
the Caledonian, Cavalry, Carlton and Constitutional Clubs.
Norman McCorquodale, Esq., J. P.
Rorman DKCorquodak, esq M 3.p.
BORN in 1863, Mr. Norman McCorquodale of Winslow Hall,
in Buckinghamshire, is the third son of the late George
McCorquodale, of Gadlys, Anglesey and Newton-le- Willows,
by his first wife, Kate, the daughter of the late Frederick Honan,
of Cork, and a descendant of the old Scottish family of
McCorquodale, of Phantilans.
Harrow and Pembroke College, Oxford, afforded Mr.
McCorquodale his education, and in 1897 ' ie married Constance
Helena, the daughter of the late Edmund Charles Burton, of the
Lodge, Daventry, by whom lie has, with other issue, a son and
heir, Norman Duncan, who was born in 1898.
Winslow Hall, the seat of Mr. Norman McCorquodale, is a
stately red brick mansion, believed to have been built after the
design of Sir Christopher Wren, and stands in picturesque, well-
As a landowner, Mr. McCorquodale has always been mind-
ful of his obligations to his County, and is an active magistrate for
both Buckinghamshire and Lancaster, whilst in 1910, he ably dis-
charged the duties in connection with the Shrievalty of the former
County, as the predecessor of the present High Sheriff, Mr. William
Baring Du Pre.
Another movement in which Mr. Norman McCorquodale is
keenly interested is the Proposed Bishopric for Bucks, and the
consequent severance of that County from the Diocese of Oxford.
Like many others, Mr. McCorquodale believes that the separation
would be an advantage to the County, owing to the enormous
growth of the See of recent years. Moreover, it must be
remembered that Berks, as well as Bucks, is included in the Oxford
Diocese at the present time. The difficulties inseparable from
having one Bishopric for so large and densely populated an area
are sufficiently apparent, and need no further demonstration. As
Mr. McCorquodale recently pointed out, it was one matter in the
days of Henry VIII. when the Oxford Bishopric was formed. The
Bishop was able then to exercise a pastoral care of his small flock.
But, with the growth of population, and the addition of Bucking-
hamshire, which was transferred from the Diocese of Lincoln in
1836, Berkshire being added from Shropshire, in the following year,
it is quite another matter.
The town of Winslow is situate in central Buckinghamshire,
about two miles from Verney Junction, and is included in the
Cottesloe Hundred. In olden days, the Mercian Kings are
accredited with having had a palace there, a story that gains
weight from the fact that King Offa certainly held a Court there,
and is said to have planned the foundation of the great monastery
of St. Albans whilst in residence at Winslow.
Mr. Norman McCorquodale is a member of Boodle's
Lieut Colonel Charles Meeking, J. P., B.A.
CieutXoloiul CDarles Peeking, 3.p., m.fl.
JTM JUSTICE of the Peace for Buckinghamshire, and High Sheriff
PI for the County in 1887, the present owner of Richings Park
is also a Major and Hon. Lieut. -Colonel (retired) of the 3rd
Battalion of the Oxfordshire Light Infantry.
Born in 1839, Colonel Meeking is the son of the late Charles
Meeking, of Richings Park, and his wife, Charlotte Spencer, the
eldest daughter of the late Rev. John Charles Williams, Rector of
After graduating at Trinity College, Cambridge, he was
called to the Bar at Lincoln's Inn in 1866, and three years
previously married his first wife, Adelaide Caroline, the daughter
of the late Christopher Tower, of Huntsmore Park and his wife,
the Lady Sophia Frances Cust, the eldest daughter of John, 1st
Lord Brownlow. This lady died in 1903, and in 1907, Colonel
Meeking married Marie M. A. Sybille Dedons de Pierrefeu,
Comtesse de Coligny, the only daughter of the late Louis D. E.
Alfonse Dedons de Pierrefeu, Comte de Coligny et du Saint
Empire, and has issue.
Richings Park is pleasantly situated amid extensive
grounds. An older mansion of the same name was the resort of
Pope and other celebrated authors of his day.
Colonel Meeking is Lord of the Rectory Manor of Iver,
Buckinghamshire, and patron of two livings. His town residence
is 31 Belgrave Square, W., and, as a yachtsman, the Royal
Thames and Victoria, as well as the Royal Yacht Clubs, number
him among th^ir members, in addition to the Oxford and
Cambridge, and Wellington Clubs.
Sydney Richardson Christie- Miller, Esq., M.A., J. P.
Spdnep Ricbardson CbristiHfliller, €sq. t
mR. SYDNEY RICHARDSON CHRISTIE-MILLER, of
Britwell Court, Buckinghamshire, Craigentinny, Midlothian,
and Kircassock, in Dovvn, is descended from Alexander
Christy, of Aberdeen, who was born in Scotland in 1642, and
afterwards became connected with Moyallan, in Down. The
grandson of the above-mentioned Alexander, John Christy, married
Mary, the daughter of William Miller, of Craigentinny, and aunt of
the famous book collector, William Henry Miller, F.S.A., who was
born in 1789, the only child of W'illiam Miller, of Craigentinny,
and represented Newcastle-under-Lyme in Parliament in 1830,
being subsequently re-elected for the same constituency the
following year, and again in 1832, 1835, and 1837, elections that
were invariably contested, and from which he emerged on two
occasions at the head of the poll. Later, he experienced a first
reverse when he stood for his old seat in 1841, and again six years
afterwards he unsuccessfully contested Berwick.
But it is as the founder of the famous Britwell Court
Library that Mr. William Henry Miller is best known to posterity.
Possessed equally of a fine discernment, and happening at a
fortunate time, when the dispersal of Heber's and other collections
caused many rare treasures to come once more into the market, Mr.
Miller gathered together an absolutely unique private library, com-
prising fine specimens of early English and Scottish literature, no
less than six works being printed by Caxton, other notable early
printers being represented by the work of Wynkyn de Worde and
Pynson, whilst copies in both Latin and German of De Bry's
famous Collection of Voyages to the East and West Indies, rank as
the finest and most complete in existence. Early English Poetry
was one of Mr. Miller's specialities, and all his editions had the
merit of being in extremely good condition, for he was more than
fastidious in his selection of copies. " Measure Miller," as he was
dubbed by his contemporaries, from his invariable habit of carrying
a foot rule, wherewith to ascertain exactly the height of any
particular volume that happened to appeal to his taste. It may
be added that in addition to many of the greatest treasures of the
Heber Collection, others from the Corser and Lang Sales were
subsequently added to the library at Britwell Court.
Dying in 1848, at the age of fifty-nine, and a bachelor, Mr.
Miller bequeathed this splendid collection to his cousin, Miss Marsh,
from whom it passed to Samuel Christie-Miller, of Craigentinny,
and Britwell House, who also represented Newcastle-under-Lyme
for a period of twelve years, from 1847 to 1859, and three years
later, by Royal Licence, assumed the name and arms of Miller. On
his death, which occurred on April 5th, 1889, the famous library
passed to his nephew, Wakefield Christie-Miller, the father of Mr.
Sydney Richardson Christie-Miller, who was born on December
6th, 1835, and married on August 28th, 1872, his cousin, Mary
Elizabeth, the daughter and co-heir of Jonathan Joseph Richardson,
of Kircassock, the subject of the present article being the eldest son
of this union.
Mr. Wakefield Christie-Miller took a keen interest in county
affairs, and besides acting as Justice of the Peace for Buckingham,
Cheshire and Down, was High Sheriff for the latter County in 1898,
and Lord of the Manor of Black Notley, in Essex. Mr. Wakefield
Christie-Miller, like his late uncle, assumed the name and arms of
Miller in 1890, and dying on February 22nd, 1898, his eldest son,
Mr. Sydney Richardson Christie- Miller succeeded to the property.
Born on March 7th, 1874, Mr. Christie-Miller was educated
at Rugby, and later, passed to Christ Church, Oxford, where he
graduated with the degree of Bachelor of Arts in 1897, and foul
years afterwards attained his M.A. His natural inclination for the
Army having led him to join the 3rd Battalion of the Oxfordshire
Light Infantry, in which he held the rank of Lieutenant, the
outbreak of the South African War afforded Mr. Christie-Miller an
experience of active service. Needless to say, his services were
willingly and gladly placed at the disposal of his country,
and after a safe return, on July 14th, 1904, he married
Evelyn Norah, the daughter of the late Captain Hector Stewart
Vandeleur, of Kilrush and Cahiracon, in Clare County, three
daughters being the issue of the union.
The Vandeleurs of Kilrush claim descent from Giles
Vandeleur, who was settled in Clare County in 1660, and married
Elizabeth, the daughter of Colonel John Jephson, of Mallow, M.P., by
Elizabeth, the daughter of Francis, the first of that now extinct
title, Viscount Shannon, and fourth son of Richard, the 1st Earl of
Cork, popularly known as " The Great Earl of Cork," who gained
the favour of Queen Elizabeth, and was afterwards the author of a
unique autobiography, entitled, " The True Remembrancer."
Another famous scion of the Vandeleur family was General
Sir John Ormesby Vandeleur, G.C.B., the son of Captain Richard
Vandeleur, and grandson of John Vandeleur, of Kilrush. The
crowded events of the latter part of the eighteenth century afforded
him scope for the exercise of his military talents. In 1794, being
then thirty-two years of age, he served under the Duke of York in
the disastrous campaign in Flanders, and that long retreat through
the depth of a severe winter was also shared by Lieut. -Colonel
Wellesley, afterwards the famous Iron Duke, whose military
education is generally believed to have profited considerably from
this terrible experience. Two years later saw Vandeleur at the
Cape of Good Hope, and in 1802 affairs in India justified the
presence of this gallant soldier. At the battle of Laswari in 1803,
he succeeded in turning the left flank of the enemy, and took two
thousand prisoners, for which he received the thanks of Lord
The Peninsular War was his next opportunity. Severely
wounded at the Seige of Cuidad Rodrigo on January 19th, 1812, he
was nevertheless enabled to take part in the battles of Salamanca
and Vittoria, and later, bore his full share of the battle of
Waterloo. Among Captain Hector Stewart Vandeleur's most
cherished possession at Kilrush House was a portrait of General
Another noted member of the same family was the Right
Hon. John Ormesby Vandeleur, P.C., Commissioner of the Customs
for Ireland, who died in 1828.
As a Magistrate for both Buckingham and Down, of which
latter County he acted as high Sheriff in 1898, on the death of his
father, Mr. Christie-Miller cheerfully meets the many demands that
are made upon his time. The kindly feeling that exists between
landlord and tenant is well exemplified by his generous gift to
Burnham in 1903, of a new Workman's Institute, Britwell itself
being a liberty of Burnham, and Mr. Christie-Miller one of the chief
Britwell, or as it was formerly spelt, Brightwell Court, has
another claim to fame, as the residence of Charles Boyle, Earl
of Orrery, of astronomical renown, and the rival of the
well-known Dr. Bentley whose exasperated retort that he would
" rather be roasted than Boyled," has almost passed into a proverb.
Lady Ravensworth, Lords Grenville and Boston, also Crayle Crayle
were once in residence.
Mr. Christie-Miller is a member of the Junior Carlton Club.
Joseph Trueman Mills, Esq., D.L., J. P.
3osepl) Crueman D)ill$ t €$q M DX- 3-P-
STOCKGROVE, Mr. Joseph Trueman Mills' Buckinghamshire
seat, is an imposing white brick modern mansion, pleasantly
situated in the hilly Bedfordshire borders of the County, amid
well-wooded grounds, wherein numerous plantations bespeak the
forethought of a conscientious owner. Originally the site of a
Roman villa, many relics of the past, including a beautiful
tessalated pavement, have been found here.
Mr. J. T. Mills is the second son of the late John Remington
Mills, of Tunbridge Wells, and Louisa Mathilda, the daughter of
Joseph Trueman, of Walthamstow. Born in 1836, he married Eliza
Anna, the daughter of James Layton, of Baldock, Herts, in 1858,
and has issue, three sons and three daughters.
A Magistrate for Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Norfolk,
Herts, and Leicestershire, and a Deputy Lieutenant for the last
mentioned County, which he ably served as High Sheriff in 1880,
Mr. Mills also renders valuable service to the public as a Director
of the Great Eastern Railway Co., and the Union Assurance Co.,
whilst the Weymouth and Portland Railway have in him an
experienced and thoroughly efficient Chairman.
Hunting and Shooting are the favourite relaxations of this
well-known member of the City Club. In addition to Stockgrove,
Mr. Mills owns Highfield, Husband's Bosworth, near Rugby.
Tonman Mosley, Esq., C.B , D.L., F.S.S., J. P., B.A.
Conman D)oskp t €$q M C.B-, D*£ M F-S-S-,
CHE unanimous re-election of Mr. Tonman Mosley (recently
included in the list of Coronation Honours as a Companion
of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath) to the
Chairmanship of the Buckinghamshire County Council, after
seven years' fine work in that capacity, came as a surprise to no
one acquainted with the working of that important Administrative
Body, and the tact, kindly feeling, and business ability, that has
won for Mr. Tonman Mosley, the gratitude, as well as the respect
and confidence of his colleagues.
Indeed, the leisure that the really busy man invariably
contrives to command, has been largely devoted by Mr. Mosley
to the interests of Buckinghamshire. As Chairman of the County
of Buckingham Association of Territorial Forces, he shows himself
keenly interested in this great national movement, and further
watches over the interests of Bucks on the Standing Joint and
many other Committees and as a Justice of the Peace for the
County. He was recently made a Deputy-Lieutenant for Buck-
inghamshire, making his second appointment as D.L. as he was
already a Deputy-Lieutenant for Staffordshire.
That County, too, makes considerable claims on his time, as
is only to be expected from his family history. As Chairman of the
North Staffordshire Railway Company, he finds very important
work ready to his hands. He is also a Director of that huge
waterway, the Grand Junction Canal Co., and has considerable
interests in other navigations.
Born on January 16th, 1850, the second son of the late Sir
Tonman Mosley, the third Baronet of the present creation, by his
wife, Catherine, the daughter of the Rev. John Wood, of Swanwick,
in Derbyshire, and brother of the fourth, and present baronet, Sir
Oswald Mosley, of Rolleston Hall, in Staffordshire, Mr. Tonman
Mosley received his education from Repton School and Corpus
Christi College, Oxford, and having graduated as B.A., and obtained
second-class honours in Moderations, and a third class in Law and
History, resolved to embark on the Law as a Profession. On
November 4th, 1870, Mr. Mosley, then in his twenty-first
year, became a student of the Inner Temple, and four years later,
on January 26th, 1874, was called to the Bar, since when he has
acted as Barrister-at-Law on the Midland Circuit ; and from 1897
to 1902 was Chairman of the Derbyshire Quarter Sessions.
In politics, Mr. Mosley is a Unionist Free Trader*
but contested the Lichfield Division of Staffordshire in 1885 as a
According to the fascinating Family Memoirs of the late Sir
Oswald Mosley, the second Baronet of the third creation, and
Mr. Mosley 's grandfather, the family name is derived
from Moseley, a little hamlet some four miles from Wolverhampton,
the name signifying a mossy field, and in Domesday times was
rendered " Moleslei." At an early period, at any rate, prior to the
end of the twelfth century, Ernald, a Saxon, held most of the land
there, and in the usual way, adopted it as his name. His second
son, Oswald or Osbert, appears to have had a large family, many
of whom went northward, to carve out paths for themselves in
Yorkshire and Lancashire.
In the sixteenth century, Edward Mosley, an ancestor,
was living at Houghend, in Lancashire. Of his three sons,
the second, Sir Nicholas, was Lord Mayor of London in 1599,
father of Sir Edward Mosley (Attorney-General for the Duchy
of Lancaster), and grandfather of Sir Edward Mosley, the first
Baronet of the first (1640) creation, which expired in 1655, on the
death of the second baronet, also Sir Edward. The eldest daughter
of Sir Edward, the 1st Baronet, was Mary, who married Joseph
Maynard, and by him left two daughters and co-heirs, through
whom descend the Earls of Stamford and Buckinghamshire.
The third son of Sir Nicholas before mentioned, was Anthony
Mosley, of Ancoats, grandfather of Nicholas Mosley, that eminent
Royalist during the Civil War, and author of a philosophical
treatise on the Natural and Divine Contemplation of the Passions
and Faculties of the Soul of Man, a work rendered the more
remarkable by reason of a modest note addressed to his readers
that runs as follows :—
" Reader, being too conscious of my own weakness,
the importunity of my friends prevailed not with me to
make these papers publique, till I had received en-
couragement from some more knowing men, who took
the pains to peruse them."
This gentleman was a Justice of the Peace, and a Borough
Reeve of Manchester, besides acting as Feoffee of Chetham's Library
and Hospital. His grandson was Sir Oswald Mosley, the 1st Bt.
of Rolleston, the second creation, which expired with the death of
the 3rd Bt., the Rev. and eccentric Sir John Mosley, who died
unmarried, in 1779.
According to the account given by Sir Oswald, Sir John was
addicted to speaking his own mind, and paid little attention to the
study of appearances. One good story, and there are many, may
be inserted here, illustrative of the sterling worth hidden beneath a
somewhat unusual manner. Sir John, on one occasion, attended a
charity meeting at Stafford, and the lack of response, indicated by
the subscription list, induced the following outburst : —
" I have ridden," said he, " four and twenty miles
upon one horse, to attend this meeting, with fifty pounds
in my pocket, with the intention of giving it to this
good cause, but when I see upon the subscription list,
which has been handed round, the names of noble lords
and wealthy gentlemen with such paltry sums attached
to them, I fear that I should be shocking their feelings
were I to carrv mv intention into effect ; and I am
therefore constrained to replace in my pocket the greater
part of it, which I shall reserve for some future occasion,
when a spirit of liberality may be more prevalent
Sir John was succeeded by his cousin, John Parker Mosley,
afterwards the ist Bt. of the third creation, whose eldest son,
Oswald, married on February 3rd, 1784, Elizabeth, the daughter
and heiress of the Rev. Thomas Ton man, Rector of Little
Budworth, in Cheshire, and the only son of Roger Tonman of the
Vron, in Radnorshire. Mr. Oswald Mosley died in 1789, during
the lifetime of his father, and Sir John was therefore succeeded by
his grandson, Sir Oswald, the author of the Memoirs before men-
tioned, as second Baronet of the name. This representative of the
family was born on March 27th, 1785, and by his marriage with
Sophia Anne, the second daughter of the late Sir Edward Every,
Bt., of Egginton, had three sons and seven daughters. The eldest
son, Oswald, died before his father, and Sir Tonman, the second
son, formerly connected with the Inniskilling Dragoons, and father
of Mr. Tonman Mosley, succeeded to the Baronetcy on the death of
Sir Oswald Mosley on May 24th, 1871, being then in his fifty-
eighth year. On his death, which occurred on April 28th, 1890, the
title? passed to his eldest son, the present Sir Oswald Mosley^
brother of the subject of the present article.
In February, 1881, Mr. Tonman Mosley, married Lady Hilda
Rose Montgomerie, the youngest daughter of Archibald William,
the 13th Earl of Eglinton, a noble family, generally believed to
have been descended from the redoubtable Roger de Mundegumbri,
or Montgomery, Earl of Shrewsbury, to whom William I. accorded
so large a part of Shropshire. Having acquired lands in Eaglesham,
Renfrewshire, the Montgomeries helped to make history in both
England and Scotland on manv occasions. John Mont^omerv, of
Eaglesham, was present at the famous battle of Chevy Chase, and
had the good fortune to capture Sir Henry Percy. As a result, the
unfortunate Hotspur is stated to have been constrained to build
the Castle of Polnoon in Eagleham, as the price of his ransom,
although, according to the Ballad of the Battle of Otterbourne, an
exchange of prisoners was effected : —
Then was ther a Scottyshe prisoner tayne,
Syr Hugh Mongomery was hys name,
For soth as 1 yow saye,
He borowed the Percy home agayne.
The explanation, as the Cotton M.S. has it, is that "Syr
He we Mongomery takyn prisoner, was delyvered for the restorynge
of Perssy." This Sir Hugh is generally supposed to have been a
son of John Montgomery, the capturer of Percy.
Hugh Montgomery, 3rd Earl of Eglintoun, fought for Queen
Mary of Scots at Langside; the seventh Earl, also Hugh, for King
Charles at Marston Moor, prior to succeeding to the title, on which
occasion he was opposed to his own father, the sixth Earl
popularly known as " Greysteel," on account of his fearlessness.
The Earldom of Winton is now united to that of Eglinton, and
the place of the Setons in Scottish History is synonomous with
much of its tragedy and romance, including the story of the reign
of the unhappy Queen Mary.
Mr. Tonman Mosley has been associated for a long time
with the great Friendly Societies, and served the office of Provincial
Grand Master for the Burton-on-Trent District of the Manchester
Unity of Odd Fellows. At a recent dinner at Burton-on-Trent,
over which he presided, he was presented with the Centenary
Medal of that Unity.
Such leisure as remains to him after the discharge of his
many duties, Mr. Tonman Mosley devotes to farming in the
neighbourhood of his beautiful Buckinghamshire home atBangors
Park, on Iver Heath, in the south-east of the County, and to
shooting and fishing in Scotland.
Mr. Tonman Mosley is a member of the Oxford and
Cambridge Club and the British Empire Club, and a Knight of
Grace of St. John of Jerusalem.
His son and heir is Mr. Nicholas Mosley, a Lieutenant in the
North Staffordshire regiment, who was born on July 28th, 1882.
Francis Joseph Scott -Murray, Esq.
Francis 3o$epl) $cou=l»urrap, €$q.
DESCENDED from a branch of the old Murray family of
Philiphaugh, the present Lord of Hambleden Manor, Mr.
Francis Joseph Scott-Murray is the second son of the late
Charles Aloysius Scott-Murray, J. P., of Danesfield, and his wife,
Emily Blanche, the daughter of Matthew S. Higgins
Born in 1875, Mr. Francis Scott-Murray was educated at the
Oratory School, Edgebaston, and in 1907 married Jane Seymour
Mary, the second daughter of the late Augustus Henry de Trafford,
of Haselour Hall, in Staffordshire.
Hambleden Manor House, Mr. Scott-Murray's seat, was
built by Scrope, Earl of Sunderland early in the seventeenth
century, and derives interest from having afforded a refuge to the
harassed King Charles I., in 1646, after his escape from Oxford.
Hambleden, too, was the birthplace of that gallent leader of
the Light Brigade at Balaklava, the late Lieut. -General James
Thomas Brudenell, 7th Earl of Cardigan, and of St. Thomas de
Cantelupe, Bishop of Hereford in the latter part of the thirteenth
The grandfather of Mr. Scott-Murray, the late Mr. Charles
Robert Scott Scott- Murray, was the founder of the Catholic
Church of St. Peter's, Marlow, wherein is a canopied tomb to this
family, the vault itself being in the adjoining churchyard. The
church was opened in 1846.
Mr. Francis Scott-Murray has rendered military service, and
was formerly a Lieutenant in the Oxfordshire Light Infantry.
The Right Hon. The Earl of Oahney, J .P.
Cbe Right Bon. Cln €arl of Orknep, 3.p.
71 GOOD sportsman, and one of the best known judges of
r% hunters and polo ponies is Lord Orkney, Edmund Walter
Fitzmaurice, Viscount Kirkwall and Baron Dechmont, who
succeeded his uncle, George William, as the 7th Earl in 1889.
Born in 1867, his lordship is the second, but eldest surviving
son of the late Hon Henry Warrender Fitzmaurice by his wife,
Jane, the daughter of George Bradley Roose, of Bryntirion, and
grandson of the 5th Earl of Orkney.
Descended from that famous soldier, Lord George Hamilton^
1st Earl of Orkney, and 5th son of Lord William Douglas, the
family name changed to O'Bryen, when Anne, the eldest daughter
of the 1st Earl became Countess of Orkney, for she had previously
married William O'Bryen, the 4th Earl of Inchiquin, and, failing
male issue, the Orkney title descends in the female line.
The granddaughter of Countess Anne, Mary O'Bryen,
Countess of Orkney, and grandmother of the 5th Earl, married the
Hon. Thomas Fitz-Maurice, of Llewenny Hall, hence her
descendants' present patronymic.
Cheltenham afforded his lordship his education. On July
18th, 1892, he married Miss Connie Gilchrist, who wears her title
with the same fascinating grace with which she carried off all
honours a short time since in the world of Burlesque. Of this
marriage a daughter, the Lady Mary Constance Hamilton Fitz-
Maurice was born on February 26th, 1903, who is thus the heir-
A Magistrate for Buckingham, and formerly Lieut. -Colonel
of the 3rd Battalion of the Oxfordshire Light Infantry, his lordship's
residence is The Tythe House, Stewkley, in Buckinghamshire, and
he has an Irish seat at Glanmore, Templemore.
Lord Orkney owns some 1 1,000 acres, and is a member of
the Badmington, White's, Pratt's, Carlton, and Kildare Street
Major Charles Heury Dayrell Palmer
Dorney Court (South Front and Church Tower).
Dorney Court (South Front).
Sir William Garrard's tomb at Dorney Church (in the Palmer
l»ajor Cbarles ftenrp Daprell palmer.
CHE present representative of the ancient family of Palmer at
Dorney Court is Major Charles Henry Dayrell Palmer, the
only son of the late Charles James Palmer of Dorney Court,
by his wife, Katherine Millicent, the daughter of the late Peter
Hood, M.D., of Windmill Hills, in Durham.
Major Palmer was born in 1872, and married in 1900, Wenna,
the daughter of the late Brigade Surgeon Major Richard William
Davies, by his wife, (now Lady Jenner) Flora Alice, the eldest
daughter of the late Field Marshal Sir Donald Martin Stewart, Bt.,
and has, with other issue, a son, Philip Dayrell Davies, who was
born in 1902.
Of Dorney in the Hundred and Deanery of Burnham, Major
Palmer, of the 3rd Battalion of the Leicestershire Regiment, is lord
of the manor and chief landowner, the Dorney Court Estate having
been in the possession of the Palmer family since 161 1, when
Martha, the daughter of Sir William Garrard, or Gerard, of Dorney,
brought it in marriage to her husband, Sir James, (the third son of
Sir Thomas Palmer, of Wingham in Kent,) who was knighted by
King Charles I. and held the offices of Gentlemen Usher of the Privy
Chamber and Chancellorship of the Order of the Garter.
After the death of his first wife, Sir James Palmer married
Catherine, the daughter of William Herbert, Earl of Powis, and
widow of Sir Robert Vaughan, by whom he had a son, Roger
afterwards Earl of Castlemaine.
Throughout the Civil War, Sir James faithfully followed the
fortunes of King Charles I. with the loyalty that has characterised
his race, and dying in 1657, was buried at Dorney.
Sir James Palmer's son, by his first wife, and successor to
the Dorney estate, was Colonel Philip Palmer, a gallant Royalist,
who was hon©ured with a knighthood soon after the Restoration by
Charles II. who appointed him to the office of Cupbearer. This
gentleman also died at Dorney in 1683.
Meantime, his half-brother, Roger, by the second marriage
of Sir James Palmer, had married Barbara, the only daughter and
heiress of William Villiers, the second Viscount Grandison, by
whom he had a daughter, the Lady Anne Palmer, afterwards the
wife of Thomas Lennard, Earl of Sussex.
And that brilliant beauty, Lady Castlemaine was by
Charles II. subsequently created Duchess of Cleveland.
Roger, Earl of Castlemaine, acted as Ambassador to
Constantinople, and was sent by James II. as Ambassador
Extraordinary to Rome, the object of his mission being the
reconciliation of the King's dominions with the Holy See.
Devotedly the Palmers served the Stuarts, and the result
was the curtailment of their estates, until in process of time,
Dorney alone remained to them.
With the death of Sir Thomas Palmer, Bt., of Wingham, in
1725, the title passed to Charles Palmer, of Dorney, whose great-
grandson, Sir Charles Harcourt Palmer, died without issue in 1838,
when the baronetcy became extinct.
Within the ancient mansion of Dorney Court is a tablet in
the fine old hall setting forth the Palmers' claim to be one of the
oldest of the Sussex families prior to the conquest, and enumerating
their various alliances with noble and gentle families from 1307 to
1670, including those of Lords Sands, Audley, Powis and Grandison,
and the heiresses of the families of Sedinghouse, Stopham, Bilton,
Clement, Wesse, Audley, Verney, Villiers, Sherley and Ferrers.
The record continues: — " Besides, by Clement, they quarter the coat
of Tewder Mawr, Prince of South Wales in the time of William
Rufus. The chief Houses of this Family were Angmering and
Parham in Sussex, Wingham in Kent, and Dorney in Bucks.
There have been also of it since the time aforesaid 13 knights, 3
successive baronets (creation of James I.) 1 Earl, 1 Countesse."
The armorial bearings of the family occupy two sides of the
hall, beginning with Ralph Palmer of Stenning, who was living in
the reigns of the first and second Edwards, and so on till 1672. An
exquisite Book of Family Pedigrees, together with a short account
of the families with whom they have intermarried, has long been
among the most treasured possessions of the Palmers, and was
drawn up, illuminated and emblazoned at the Heralds' Office, at the
instigation of the Lady Anne Palmer, the total cost amounting to
some thousand pounds. The last baronet, Sir Charles Harcourt
Palmer, the sixteenth in succession from Ralph Palmer, of Stenning,
carefully continued the history of the family descents until his own
time. Among the other interesting portraits contained in the Book
of Pedigrees are those of Roger Palmer, Earl of Castlemaine and
his wife, by Fraithorne, the Court Minature painter in the time of
Charles II., together with a picture of the Lady Anne Palmer, and
many of her predecessors. The house is also rich in portraits of
Other interesting features of the hall at Dorney Court are its
antique Gothic roof, some circular paintings on glass, representing
the legends of various saints, and opposite the entrance is a small
picture of a man's head in a square frame, generally supposed to
represent an unfortunate member of the family who became
implicated in the plots woven around the person of the ill-fated
Lady Jane Grey, and suffered the extreme penalty accordingly.
There are also two views of the great quadrangle formed by
the ancient Mansion of Dorney Court, eloquent of the reduction in
size to which the house has since been subjected. The hall, too,
contains a musicians' gallery at one end, and at one time a huge
bust of John of Gaunt, from whom a portion of the family claim
descent, occupied the post of honour over the great chimney piece.
A pediment of four successive gables adorns the western
front of the house, which is situated within picturesque, well
The church of St. James' at Dorney contains a monument to
Sir William Garrard, knight, who died November 17th 1607, and
the registers date from 1558.
Major Palmer is the patron of one living.
Sir Everard Philip Digby Pauncefort -Buncombe, Bt., B.A.
Sir eucrard Philip Digbp paiuicefort=
Duncombe, Bt. B.fl.
CHE present, and third baronet of his line, Sir Everard Philip
Digby Pauncefort-Duncombe, lord of the manors of Great
Brickhill, Bletchley and Fenny Stratford, is the only son of
the late Sir Philip Henry Pauncefort-Duncombe, the 2nd Bt., by
his wife, Flora, the fourth daughter of Sir Alexander Matheson,
the 1st Bt., of Lochalsh, Ross-shire, and succeeded to the title on
the death of his father, on August 26th 1895, when in his tenth
Great Brickhall Manor house, the seat of Sir Everard
Pauncefort- Duncombe, is a stately mansion, composed of stuccoed
brick, pleasantly situated within an extensive Park and pleasure
grounds, the latter being most tastefully and quaintly laid out,
and adorned with a great variety of choice flowers and shrubs.
Among the many interesting features are the conservatories, which
are especially fine, and the neighbouring sandhills, which happen
to be at a considerable elevation, have been most picturesquely
planted, whilst within Great Brickhill Woods both the Huckle-
berry and the sweet Lily of the Valley are to be found.
Formerly Coprolite Pits were worked in this vicinity, but
better supplies of this peculiar fossil having been discovered on
the Continent, they were abandoned about 1879, after having
been worked by a Wolverhampton Firm at a considerable profit
for over fourteen years.
Within the Parish Church at Great Brickhill are memorials
of the Duncombe, Barton and Pauncefort families. The fine East
Window representing the life of Christ, in stained glass, was
erected in memory of the first baronet and his wife, as is shown by
the inscription on the brass below it : —
To the glory of God, and in loving memory of
Sophia Caroline Pauncefort-Duncombe, who died
December 30th 1889, and of Philip Pauncefort-
Duncombe, who died June 13th 1890. This window is
erected by their children.
The West Window too is in memory of the above lady
"the beloved wife of Sir P. Pauncefort-Duncombe." The
unusually large chancel was rebuilt at the beginning of the
seventeenth century by members of the Duncombe family, and the
Elementary School at Water Eaton, now a hamlet of Bletchley,
was erected in 1878, by the generosity of Sir Philip Duncombe
Pauncefort-Duncombe, the 1st Bt., for the accommodation of
about sixty children.
The present baronet was educated at Eton and Trinity
College, Cambridge, where he graduated as a Bachelor of Arts in
1907, and the following year his interest in the Territorial
Movement led him to accept a lieutenancy in the Royal Bucks
There is no heir to the baronetcy. Sir Everard Pauncefort-
Duncombe is the patron of one living, and from 1908- 1909 held
the appointment of Attache at His Majesty's Embassy at Madrid.
Sir Everard Pauncefort-Duncombe is a member of the
Junior Carlton Club.
John William Garrett -Pegge, Esq., J. P.,
3obn Ulilliam Garrettpeage, €sq. t 3.p.
CHE only son of the late Rev. George Ward Pegge, of Melbourne
m Derbyshire, by his wife, Mary, the daughter and co-heiress
of the late John Garrett, of Chesham, on his father's side
Mr. Garret-Pegge is descended from a younger branch of the
Derbyshire Pegges of Shirley, while the records of the Garrett
family in his possession reveal an unbroken descent of no less than
fourteen generations, their ancestor, John Nevill, or Newell, having
been seated in Buckinghamshire, at Hudnall, on the eastern
borders of the County as far back as the latter part or the
fifteenth century. For more than three hundred years this estate
continued in the family, after which they removed to Chesham.
The name of Garrett was first adopted by them about 1550, and in
1700 they totally discarded the older patronymic of Nevill.
Born on July 23rd, 1853, at the age of nineteen Mr. Garrett-
Pegge married Elizabeth Knowles, the daughter of William
Andrews of Chesham on April 30th 1873, ms ne ' r being his eldest
surviving son, Wilfred George, who was born in 1,880. After
graduating as a Bachelor of Arts in 1903, Mr. Wilfrid George
Garrett- Pegge was called to the Bar of the Inner Temple in 1904,
and three years later took his M.A. Both father and son are on
the Commission of the Peace for Buckinghamshire, and reside at
the family seat, Chesham House, Chesham Bois.
Two other sons were born to Mr. and Mrs. Garrett- Pegge ;
their firstborn, John Oswald, died an infant, and the third, Robert
Owen, came into the world on August 16th, 1882.
Chesham Bois, of which Mr. Garrett-Pegge is lord of the
Manor and Chief landowner, lies about two miles from Chesham on
the dividing ridge of land between the valleys of the Chess and
Misbourne, in one of the prettily wooded districts abounding in the
hilly portions of the County, that afford an almost continuous
succession of charming landscapes. In the time of King John, a
family named De Bosco, or De Bois, were in possession of the
manor, and in the reign of Henry VII., it was carried by Elizabeth,
the daughter and heiress of Sir John Chesham, to her husband, Sir
Thomas Cheyne, from which Messrs. Lysons presume the
Cheshams to have inherited the property from the De Bois in
the female line, an inference further strengthened by the name
itself. The manor continued with the Cheynes until 1728, when on
the death of William Cheyne, Lord (Viscount) Newhaven, without
male issue, it passed to John, Earl Gower, by whom it was sold in
1735 to the Duke of Bedford.
As one of the chief landowners in Chesham, and closely
connected therewith by family ties, Mr. Garrett-Pegge is keenly
interested in parochial archives, and published in 1904 a most
painstakingly edited Transcript of the 1st Volume of the Parish
Registers, from 1538 to 1636, together with introductory notes*
appendices and, last, but by no means least, a comprehensive
index. Among many other interesting data in his introductory
article, the writer emphasises the fact that the parish of Chesham,
or Great Chesham, as it is sometimes called, in contra-distinction
to Chesham Bois, ranked formerly among the largest in England,
and accounts for the somewhat surprising density of its popu-
lation by a reference to the local industries, viz, cloth, woodenware,
leather, leather-goods and lace, and the presence of the Chess as a
motive power for the mills in the vicinity.
Mr. Garrett-Pegge is a Unionist in political opinions, and a
member of the Junior Constitutional Club.
The Hon. Mrs. A. Douglas- Pennant
£ln Don. D)rs. Archibald Douglaspcnnam.
elLLINGSTONE House, Lillingstone Dayrell, is at present
the residence of Harriet Ella, the second daughter of the
late Robert Francis, 2nd Lord Gifford, and widow of the
late Hon. Archibald Charles Henry Douglas-Pennant, formerly
Lieut. -Colonel of the Grenadier Guards, the younger brother of
George Sholto Gordon, 2nd Baron Penrhyn, and uncle of the present
To the Hon. Lieut. -Colonel, who died in 1884, and Mrs.
Douglas-Pennant, five sons and two daughters were born, their
eldest son and heir being Frank, formerly a Major in the King's
Royal Rifle Corps, who has been twice married, and has issue.
Lillingstone house is adorned with a four pillared portico,
and stands within a small, but pretty park.
Sir Berkeley Pigott, J. P.
Sir Berkckp pigott, Bt.
BY the sudden and deeply regretted death of the late Sir
Charles Robert Pigott, following an attack of inflam-
mation of the lungs this Spring, the baronetcy devolved
upon his grandson, now Sir Berkeley Pigott, the only son of the
late Lieut. -Colonel Charles Berkeley Pigott, C.B., D.S.O., of the
21st Hussars, by his wife, Fanny Ada, the daughter of the Rev.
Wellesley Pole Pigott, Vicar of Bemerton, the present, and fourth
holder of the title having been born on May 21st 1894.
Wexham Park, near Slough, Sir Berkeley's Buckingham-
shire seat, is pleasantly situated within some seventy acres of
park land, the architecture of the mansion being Elizabethan.
The baronetcy in this old established family dates from
1808, when the title was conferred upon Sir George Pigott, great-
grandfather of Sir Berkeley, and his grandson, the late Sir Charles
Robert Pigott, a fine sportsman, a soldier, who was wounded in
the Crimean War, and one of the best known judges of horses at
the Dublin, Bath and many other Shows, was twice married, his
first wife, who died in 1873, being Mary Louisa, daughter of
Captain C. Hallowell Carew, and the second Lady Pigott, who
survives him, is Margaret Mary Pole, the widow of Captain J.
Chidley Coote, and daughter of Sydney Cosby, of Strabally Hall,
Queen's County, Ireland.
Vice- Admiral William Harvey Pigott, J. P.
Vice Admiral Ulilliam fiaroep pigott, 3P.
SINCE the year 1503, a branch of the old Pigott family has been
seated at Doddershall. The first of the line to acquire the
property was Thomas Pigott, Sergeant-at-law, the son of
Robert Pigott by his wife, Margaret, sole heiress of John Giffard
(who also brought the manor and Rangership of Whaddon into
her husband's family), and grandson of Richard Pigott, who, as
steward of the Duke of York's manors this side Trent, was the first
of his family to settle in Buckinghamshire, his ancestors having
been seated in Yorkshire soon after the Conquest. The Sergeant
was twice married, and Doddershall passed to the children of his
second wife, Elizabeth, the eldest daughter and co-heir of John
Iwardby, or Eureby, of Ouainton. Their son, Thomas Pigott, of
Doddershall, served as High Sheriff for Buckinghamshire in 1552,
and again seven years later, and in turn, his son and grandson
mindful of their obligation to their county, held the same office,
Another noted descendant of this branch of the family was Sir
Christopher Pigott, who was knighted by King James I., and
elected a knight of the shire for Buckinghamshire. His rash
attack on the Scottish nation in Parliament, which he classed with
" murderers and thieves," who " had not suffered above two Kings
3 J 3
to die in their beds these two hundred years," could not be expected
to meet with the approval of the then occupant of the English
Throne. Sir Christopher was dismissed forthwith from his
parliamentary office, and for a time confined to the Tower, whence
he was released by vote of the House, on pleading grave ill health.
His eldest son, Sir Richard was also knighted, and a monument to
his memory was erected after his death in 1685 in the Church of
St. Mary and Holy Cross at Quainton. On the death of his wife,
in 1688, the property passed to a nephew, Thomas Pigott, who
died without issue in 1704, and thus ended the line of the
Doddershall Pigotts of Whaddon. The estate then reverted to
John Pigott of Chetwynd, in Shropshire (a descendant of Howell
Pigott, lord of Willaston, by a Welsh heiress) the second husband
of Christabella, the daughter and co-heiress of Sir Thomas Tyrrell,
Bt., of Castlethorpe, and widow of John Knapp, who afterwards
became the wife of Richard, the 6th Viscount Save and Sele.
Famed for her beauty, *vit and vivacity, this lady is said to have
made it a boast that love was the motive of her first marriage,
desire for wealth that of her second, whilst the honour attached to
an ancient title induced her to enter upon her third contract. At
the time of her death, Lady Save and Sele was generally reputed to
be one hundred years old, although it is impossible to prove this
statement, as the actual register of her birth does not exist. Ten
years previously, which would thus make her ninety years of age,
she was still able to participate in her favourite amusement of
dancing, with much of her former grace.
From the death of John Pigott in 1751, the Viscountess
retained Doddershall, until her death in 1789, when it returned to
the Pigotts, William, the eldest son of the Rev. William Pigott,
Rector of Edgmond and Chetwynd in Shropshire (the fourth son
of Robert Pigott, of Chetwynd) succeeding to Doddershall in that
year. This gentleman was High Sheriff for Buckingham in 1792,
and his son, Lieut. Colonel William Pigott of Doddershall, who
was born in October, 1773, by his marriage with Anne, the daughter
of the Rev. William King, Rector of Mallow, in Cork County,
became the grandfather of the present representative of the family.
Colonel Pigott served his county both as a Justice of the Peace and
a Deputy Lieutenant, and was for some time in command of the
third Regiment of the Local Militia. On his death on June 2nd,
1838, Doddershall passed to his eldest son, George Grenville
Wandesford Pigott, father of Admiral Pigott, and sometime
member of Parliament for St. Mawes, also a magistrate and Deputy
Lieutenant for Bucks, as well as a Colonel in the Royal Bucks
Militia. By his second marriage with Charlotte, the youngest
daughter of William Lloyd, of Aston Hall, Salop, Colonel Pigott
united his own with another family of very high antiquity, the
issue being, with one daughter, an only son, William Harvey
Pigott, now of Doddershall, who was born in 1848, and succeeded
to the property on the death of Colonel George Grenville Wandes-
ford Pigott, on January 4th, 1865.
Entering the Navy in December 1861, William Harvey
Pigott, became successively Sub-Lieutenant and Lieutenant. He
has seen active service, and on July nth, 1882, took part in the
Bombardment of Alexandria, during which, at considerable
personal risk, the young sailor gallantly mounted a damaged
lighthouse, and rekindled the lamp, after which he found a descent
by the same way that he had come to be an impossibility, and was
perforce compelled to remain where he was until a rescue could be
effected. For this service he was promoted Commander, and at
the close of the war received the Alexandria Clasp, Egyptian
Medal and Khedive's Bronze Star. His Captaincy followed on the
last day of 1889. Thence on, the years passed in steady, un-
remitting work on his country's behalf, until 1903 saw him on the
Retired List as Captain, and on 6th August of that same year, a
Retired Rear Admiral, his last appointment, that of Retired Vice-
Admiral being dated 16th February, 1907.
3 r 5
In 1886, Admiral Pigott, married his cousin, Edith, the third
daughter of the late Richard Thomas Lloyd of Aston Hall, Shrop-
shire, by whom he has two daughters ; and on October 18th, 1910
the elder, Editha Ivy, became the wife of Captain Gordon
Hargreaves Brown, of the Coldstream Guards, the eldest son and
heir of Sir Alexander Hargreaves Brown, Bart,, of Broome Hall,
After having appertained in the reign of Edward I. to a
family of the same name, Doddershall appears to have passed to
the Craufords, according to Lysons, although Willis and Lipscombe
incline to the view that the Craufords themselves assumed the
name of Doddershall in the ordinary way by reason of length of
residence. In any case, in 1479, Richard Craufurd conveyed all his
rights to John le Knight and Robert Moore, through whom the
estate passed to Sergeant Thomas Pigott at the beginning of the
sixteenth century as previously stated.
Standing v/ithin a beautiful park, Doddershall House to-day
presents a fine specimen of the Domestic Gothic style. After the
death of the Viscountess Saye and Sele in 1789, such extensive
alterations were made, that little of the original exterior is left
save some of the old wood and plaster work, a low porch, and a
huge stack of chimneys. Within, the fine old fireplaces, and much
of the massive furniture, together with some rare oak carving,
remain. Many of the pictures have been destroyed unfortunately,
but among the portraits is one supposed to be Thomas Pigott,
who was in residence at Doddershall dursng the reign of James I.,
whilst another is believed to be a youthful presentation of the
famous Viscountess Saye and Sele. For many years some diamond
written complimentary verses to her ladyship, the work of the
poet, Pope, were to be seen on one of the windows. An apartment,
termed the "Brown Hall" is composed almost entirely of oak, and
possesses an abnormal fireplace. Another relic of the past is to be
seen in the huge winecellars, whose gigantic keys recall the lavish
hospitality of former days. At the same time that these alterations
were carried into effect, the deer park was converted into pasture
and arable land, and the keeper's lodge was also demolished.
The parish of Ouainton, near Aylesbury, in which Dodder-
shall is situated boasts of the remains of the only market cross-the
steps and only part of the column are left-that is now to be found
in Buckinghamshire. Among the local charities is one producing
some £"366 per annum, the bequest of Christabella, Lady Saye and
Sele, for the purpose of apprenticing poor boys belonging to the
parishes of Ouainton and Grendon Underwood, and for matters
educational. Thomas Pigott, of Doddershall also granted in 1704,
by deed, a further sum of ^300 to be applied to the same purposes.
Ouainton gains further distinction through having been the
birthplace of that great Buckinghamshire historian, Lipscombe,
and among many other interesting monuments in its parish church
is one to Dr. Richard Brett, the learned Orientalist, and one of the
forty seven Translators of the Bible in 1604, who was Rector there
from 1595 until his death in 1637.
Admiral Pigott is a Magistrate for Buckinghamshire, one of
the chief landowners in the neighbourhood of Doddershall, and
the patron of one living.
William Baring Du Pre, Esq., J. P.
oiilliam Baring Du pre, esq., 3.p.
WHEN His Majesty, King George V. ratified the appointment
of Mr. Du Pre, as Sheriff for Buckinghamshire for the
current year, by the lime-honoured custom of making a
prick on the list, opposite his name, with a silver bodkin, the
County gained the services of an able officer, whose family has long
been connected with the political and municipal fortunes of Bucks,
and who, one and all, have had the fortunes of the Shire sincerelv
The shrievalty of Buckingham, too, in the time of Charles I.
was the cause of an important alteration in the form of the Sheriff's
oath, which, having become virtually obsolete in the passage of
years, at that time practically required these officers to put down
the established religion of the Country, a fact that appears to have
escaped notice, until, matters becoming strained between King
Charles I. and his Parliament, the former hit upon the device of
"pricking" the most recalcitrant members of the House of Commons
for Sheriffs in their respective counties, in order to prevent their
occupying seats in the house, and accordingly allotted Sir Edward
Coke to Buckinghamshire. The great lawyer's indignation knew
3 J 9
no bounds, and was unintentionally put to a useful purpose. Fie
it was who, having drawn up his celebrated " Exceptions against
the Sheriff's Oath," was responsible for the removal of the article,
commencing: — " That you shall do all your pain and diligence to
destroy and make to cease all manner of heresies, commonly called
Lollaries, within your pailliwick," etc. The amendment effected,
the oath was nevertheless administered to the angry Sir Edward.
Mr. William Baring Du Pre is the eldest son of the late
James Du Pre, and Selina, the daughter of Dr. Thomas Stokoe.
Born on April 5th 1875. he succeeded his great uncle, Mr. Caledon
George Du Pre, of Wilton Park, eleven years later, and gained his
education at Winchester.
Mr. Du Pre has rendered militatry service, and, formerly a
subaltern in the King's Royal Rifles, and the 13th Battalion of the
Imperial Yeomanry, obtained an insight into practical warfare
during the late hostilities in South Africa. After a safe return, on
November 18th 1903, he married Youri Wynyard, the only daughter
of Captain Henry Townley Wright, of the Royal Navy, and a son
and heir, James Wynyard was born to him in 1905.
Mr. Du Pre is descended from Josias Du Pre, of Wilton Park,
Governor of Madras, who died in 1780, having married in 1766
Rebecca Alexander, the sister of the first Earl of Caledon, by
whom he had a son, James Du Pre, great grandfather of Mr. Du
Pre, and the first of that family to act as Sheriff for Buckingham-
shire, besides representing Galton, Aylesbury and Chichester in
Parliament for some time, in the Tory interests. This represen-
tative of the family is best remembered by the famous Aylesbury
Election of 1802, when his aversion to the systematic bribery then
universal, nearly cost him his seat. " Benevolences " had come to
be looked upon as practical rights by the electors, as every
representative in the House well knew, and Mr. Du Pre's altitude
towards them was considered incomprehensible. For some time
matters remained at a deadlock, but, finally, he yielded in some
measure to their importunities, and was forthwith returned. It
was about the time of the Aylesbury Election that Mr. Du Pre
purchased the Ouarrendon property. His death occurred on June
13th 1876, at the ripe age of ninety two. By his wife, Madeleine,
the daughter of Sir William Maxwell, 4th Bt., of Monreith, he had
two sons, the elder, Mr. Caledon George Du Pre, ( great uncle of
the present representative of the family, ) was born on March 28th
1803, and represented Buckinghamshire for thirty five years in
Parliament, being a co-representative of the county with Mr.
Disraeli, as he then was, and a strong Conservative. Formerly
connected with the First Life Guards, a Justice of the Peace, and a
Deputy Lieutenant for Buckingham, this gentleman was associated
with the Buckinghamshire Archaeological Society for many years.
Widely known, and deeply respected, his shrewd common sense,
and genuine ability were sadly missed in the County on his death,
in 1886, at the age of eighty four.
Like his father, Mr. Caledon George Du Pre, married into
the Maxwell family, his wife being Louisa Cornwallis, the fourth
daughter of Sir William Maxwell, the 5th Bt. of his line, and his
five sons having all died without issue, the property thus reverted
to the younger branch of the family.
The younger son of Mr. James Du Pre, and brother of Mr.
Caledon Du Pre, was the Rev. William Maxwell Du Pre, of
Brighton, and Vicar of Wooburn, grandfather of the present
representative of the family, who married Emily, the third
daughter of Sir Thomas Baring, the 2nd Bt. of that name, and
grandfather of the first Earl of Northbrook.
Mr. William Baring Du Pre is a Magistrate for Buckingham-
shire, an honorary lieutenant in the Army, and is Major Com-
manding the Leicestershire Royal Horse Artillery (Territorial
He contested the Loughborough Division of Leicestershire in
the Conservative inteaest at the General Election of 1906.
Mr, Du Pre's property at Wilton Park, foimerly occupied by
the late Sir John Aird, Bt., is a commanding mansion, well situated
in an extensive and well timbered park of some three hundred and
fifty acres, Taplow House, Taplow, in the picturesque vicinity of
Maidenhead being Mr. Du Pre's present residence.
The Carlton and United Service Clubs number Mr. William
Baring Du Pre among their members.
Charles Matthew Prior, Esq., J. P.
CDarles mattlKU) Prior, esq., 3.p.
BORN in 1861, Mr. Charles Matthew Prior, of Adstock Manor,
who was educated at Trinity Hall, Cambridge, B.A., 1882,
is a Magistrate for Buckinghamshire, and Lord of the Manor of
Adstock, and the eldest son of the late Major General Henry Prior,
by his wife the late Emily Anne, the eldest daughter of the Rev.
Charles Rogers Baylay, M.A., Rector of Kirkby-on-Bain, Lincoln-
shire, and Anne, daughter of Sir James Lake, 4th Baronet.
By his marriage in 1885 with Mary Alice, the third daughter
of the late Captain Edward Algernon Blackett, R.N., of Wylam
Oakwood, Mr. Prior has connected his family with that of the old-
established Blacketts, of Wylam, whose 1st Baronet, Sir William
amassed a considerable fortune from his mines and collieries in
the seventeenth century ; whilst the son, grandson and great-
grandson of Sir William's elder brother, Christopher, a Royalist
officer, and the direct ancestor of the late Captain Blackett, each
named John, filled the office of High Sheriff for Northumberland
in 1692, 1714 and 1738 respectively.
Among the former owners of Adstock, which has changed
hands several times in the course of past centuries, the picturesque
figure of William Peverill, the natural son of William the
Conqueror, stands out preeminent. According to the Domesday
Record : —
Ambrose holds of William (Pevrel) Edestocha
(Adstock). It is assessed at 10 hides. There is land for
7 ploughs. On the demesne are 3 ; and 5 villeins with 2
bordars and 3 ploughs and there could be a fourth.
Meadow is there (sufficient) for 7 plough (teams). In all
it is and was worth 100 shillings. In the time of King
Edward 8 pounds. This manor, Gethe, wife of Earl Ralf
held, and could sell.
Of William's mother little is known, but she is supposed to
have been a daughter of one, Ingelbric, the founder of the
Collegiate Church of St. Martins-le-Grand, London. It was
William Peverell's son, or grandson, generally known as William
Peverell the younger, who was in command of part of Stephen's
army at the fierce straggle at Northallerton, against David of
Scotland, commonly known as the Battle of the Standard, in 1138,
and three years later, still fighting on behalf of the King, he was
taken prisoner by Queen Maud's forces at Lincoln. Her Majesty
further gave his castle to William Pagerell, and on the accession of
Henry II., this King gave Peverell's lands to Ranulf, Earl of
Chester. In the meantime, Peverell, ?*< liberty once more, naturally
resented this disposal of his pro^rty, Ranulf died suddenly,
according to report, by poison, administered by the disinherited
owner. Although Peverell's guilt is extremely questionable,
circumstantial evidence was strong aga: "»st him, and he prudently
disappeared from history, having probably taken refuge in some
monastery. At all events he was not heard of more. Thereupon,
the King gave his lands to William Avenell, and after passing to
the Vernon and Basset families, the estate was presumably divided,
one half by marriage coming to the Fortescues. Sir Francis
Fortescue disposed of some of the land at the beginning of the
seventeenth century, but retained the manor, which was conveyed
to Thomas Egerton, rector of Adstock, by his son. It is noteworthy
that in the old stone Church of St. Cecilia in this parish, there is a
monument to three rectors of the above name, all members of the
same family, who occupied this living for some one hundred and
thirty-three years in all, from 1587 to 1720 ; whilst another monu-
ment, erected in memory of the Rev. Alexander Burrell, M.A., who
died in 1771, after having held the living for no less than fifty
years speaks well for the mutual attachment that appeared to
subsist between pastor and flock in this parish.
Later Adstock manor was sold to the Verney family, and at
a subsequent date, was in the hands of Lord Fermanagh.
St. Cecilia's Church contains, in additions to the monuments
above-mentioned, some fine carving over the chancel arch, and an
interesting stone font, in the perpendicular style, whose octagonal
basin is ornamented with a rose in each panel, whilst the remains
of an ancient rood screen have been skilfully worked into the pulpit
structure. The building was restored in 1875, and five years later,
a clock was a Ided to the tower. Without, in front of the Porch,
is an ancient sun-dial, bearing the date, 1581.
Mr. Prior's son and heir is Algernon Edward Blackett, who
was born in 1887.
3 2 5
Sir John William Ramsden, Bt., D.L., J. P., M.A.
Sir 3cbn Ulilliam Ramsden, Bt., D.C.
'7'lLTHOUGH his connection with Buckinghamshire only dates
B^ from the latter part of the Nineteenth Century, Sir John
William Ramsden, 5th Bt. of his line, is descended from an
ancient and well-known North Country family, of sixteenth
century origin, whose ancester was Robert Ramsden, of Longley
Hall, in Yorkshire. His great-grandson, Sir John Ramsden,
knight, of Byrom and Longley Hall, distinguished himself during
the Civil War of Charles I's reign, as a devoted Royalist, and his
first marriage in 1624 witli Margaret, the daughter of Sir Peter
Frecheville, and sister of John, Lord Frecheville, the first and last
peer of his line, was one of the many alliances this family have
made with other illustrious houses. The baronetcy dates from
1689, its first holder being the grandson of the above mentioned
Sir John, who bore the same name. The first baronet's seven sons,
all died unmarried, with the exception of the eldest, who succeeded
his father in the title, as Sir William Ramsden, the 2nd Bt. This
respresentative of the family married into another very ancient
north country family, the Lowthers, who are known to have been
seated at Lowther Hall from a very remote date, his wife being
Elizabeth, the second daughter of John Lowther, the first Viscount
Lonsdale, and ancestor of the present Earl.
3 2 7
The eldest son of the marriage, Sir John Ramsden,
succeeded his father as third baronet, and the fourth son, Robert,
with his younger brother, Frecheville, having adopted a military
career, took part in the War of the Austrian Succession, sustained
their share in the victory of Dettingen over the French in 1743,
and the " half-won victory " as it has been called, of Fontenoy,
two years later. After serving with Prince Ferdinand in Germany,
Frecheville Ramsden was appointed Equerry to King George II.
and Lieutenant Governor of the important border town of
The fourth baronet, also Sir John, son of the third of that
name, and grandfather of the present representative of the family,
was born in 1755, acted as High Sheriff for Yorkshire in 1797, and
married the Hon. Louisa Susan Ingram-Shepherd, the youngest
daughter and co-heir of Charles, the tenth Viscount Irvine, a title
since extinct. His eldest son, John Charles Ramsden, of Buckden
and Newby Park, Yorkshire, the father of Sir John William
Ramsden, by his wife, Isabella, the youngest daughter of Thomas,
the first Lord Dundas, died three years before his father, and on
the death of the fourth baronet on July 15th 1839, he was succeeded
by his grandson, Sir John William Ramsden, the second, and only
surviving son of the above mentioned Mr. John Charles Ramsden.
Born at Newby Park, in Yorkshire, on September 14th 183 1,
Sir John William Ramsden owes his education to Eton and Trinity
College, Cambridge, where he graduated as Master of Arts in 1852,
and on August 2nd 1865 married the Lady Helen Guendolen, the
youngest daughter and co-heir of Edward Adolphus, the 12th
Duke of Somerset, and through this lady, who died on August 14th
last, the Buckinghamshire property of Bulstrode Park came into
the Ramsden family. A son and heir, John Frecheville Ramsden,
now of Turweston Manor, was born or the marriage on January
7th 1877. Joan, the daughter of Geoffrey Fowell Buxton, of
Dunston Hall became the wife of Mr. John F. Ramsden in 1901,
and a son and heir was born to them the following year, John St.
The owner of some 150,000 acres, Sir John Ramsden is the
possessor of four country seats, Byrom, near Ferrybridge, Longley
Hall in the neighbourhood of Huddersfield, and Ardverikie,
Kingussie, in Scotland, in addition to Bulstrode Park in Bucking-
hamshire. As a Deputy Lieutenant for Inverness, and the West
Riding of Yorkshire, a Justice of the Peace for the latter division
of the county, and High Sheriff for Yorkshire in 1868, Sir John has
ever been mindful of the claims these widely apart counties make
upon him, and in 1897 was on the roll of High Sheriff for
Buckinghamshire, Always keenly interested in the West Riding
Field Artillery, Sir John has held the rank of Honorary Colonel in
the first Brigade since 1 862, and is the recipient of the Territorial
But it is in the field of politics that Sir John Ramsden has
gained the greatest distinction. As early as 1853, when but
twenty two years of age, he represented Taunton in the Liberal
interests, a seat he continued to hold for the next four years, and
having acted as Under Secretary for War from 1857-58, also
represented Hythe in Parliament until 1859, when he sat for the
West Riding of Yorkshire until 1865, and some fifteen years later,
from 1880- 1885 was returned for the Eastern Division of the West
Riding, having, in the meantime represented Monmouth from 1868
to 1874, a length of Parliamentary Service that extends over a
period of thirty three years, when the Osgoldcross Division, which
he represented from 1885 to 1886 is included.
According to some authorities, the present pile of red brick,
modern buildings in the Old English Domestic Style that forms the
picturesque residence in Bulstrode Park, respresents the fourth
mansion to stand on the same site. Well wooded uplands make a
3 2 9
pleasing framework. The gardens contain some fine cedars, as
well as specimens of handsome tulip trees, and deciduous cypresses,
whilst the kitchen garden has a three mile extent of wall fruit.
The park is graced by stately oaks, beneath which roam a fine
herd of deer. Of the park itself, Sir Bernard Burke says :— "It
was a park in the Saxon era ; the same park now ; aye, and one
of the most beautiful in the Kingdom."
Within the park is the much discussed entrenchment, or
camp, which is supposed to have been a fortification made,
according to some authorities, to resist the Danes, who, in the
beginning of the eleventh century, had England practically at
their mercy. But popular tradition prefers a more picturesque
explanation, dating from the days of the Norman Conquest, when
William I granted the Bulstrode estate to one of his Norman
followers. Its Saxon Ovvner, Shobbington by name, naturally met
this affront by armed resistance, and threw up the entrenchment to
resist the Norman intruder. It is said that the latter, with a
thousand regular troops, was utterly routed by the Saxons, who,
mounted on bulls, made a surprise sortie on their camp by night.
The daring of the attack pleased the fierce Norman King,
who invited Shobbington to Court. Thither he rode, accompanied
by his seven sons, on bulls, and on his promise to prove a faithful
and loyal subject, provided he were allowed to enjoy his ancestors'
estate, the King granted his request, and the family thenceforward
took the significant name of Bulstrode.
Later, the manor was in the possession of the Abbey of
Burnham, and after passing to William de Montacute, Earl of
Sarum, was transferred to the Abbey of Bisham until the
Reformation, when the Bulstrodes regained their ancestral
inheritance. Under the Stuart Kings they played their part in
history, one of their members, Sir Richard Bulstrode, an author of
note, an able lawyer, as well as a gallant soldier, and a true friend
to the Stuarts, set out, when well nigh eighty years of age, with
the exiled King James II for France, where he died at the Court of
St. Germains at the advanced age of one hundred and one.
At a later date, the notorious Judge Jeffreys purchased the
manor from Sir Roger Hill, sometime member of Parliament for
Wendover, but the mansion he built there in 1686 was burnt, by
what the witty Horace Walpole termed a "very judicious fire,"
after which he removed to the Grange at Chalfont St. Peters. It
was Charles Dive, Jeffrey's son-in-law, who sold the property to
William Bentinck, the first Earl of Portland, who made it the
home of his later years. Thereafter Bulstrode became a centre in
the social world. Lady Margaret Cavendish Harley, the second
Duchess of Portland, the foundress of the famous museum at
Bulstrode, and owner of the Portland Vase, entertained on a
lavish scale, and Royalty frequently came over from Windsor to
be her guests. Under the third Duke, Bulstrode ranked as a
political mansion for the Rockingham Whigs, and members of the
Coalition Ministry, of 1783, wherein Fox and North were the
guiding spirits, witli the Duke of Portland for figurehead ; and
later, for the Tories, when the Duke again became Prime Minister.
About 1 8 14 Bulstrode was sold to Edward Adolphus, the
nth Duke of Sumerset, and subsequently leased for a considerable
term of years to the Misses Reid, who built the Church of St.
James', Gerrard's Cross, in memory of their brother, Major General
Reid, M.P. for Windsor. In 1885, on the death of Edward
Adolphus, 1 2th Duke of Somerset, and father of the late Lady
Helen Ramsden, Bulstrode passed to its present owner.
Sir John Ramsden is one of the chief landowners in the
beautiful Gerrard's Cross district in South Buckinghamshire, and
he is a member of the Travellers', Brooks and Athenaeum Clubs.
John Frechevtlle Ramsden, Esq., D.L.
:)ohn FreclKUilk Ramsden, esq., D.C.
ONE of the chief landowners in the picturesque Turweston
district of Nortli West Buckinghamshire, where the River
Ouse forms the borderline between that County and
Northamptonshire, is Mr. John Frecheville Ramsden, the only son
and heir of Sir John William Ramsden, of Bulstrode Park, near
Gerrard's Cross, the fifth baronet of his line, and the owner of
extensive estates in Yorkshire and Inverness.
Mr. John Frecheville Ramsden was born on January 7th
1877, and received his education from Eton and Trinity College,
Cambridge. His second name recalls the marriage of an ancestor,
Sir John Ramsden, knight, with Margaret, the daughter of Sir
Peter Frecheville, in 1624, and sister of that representative of a
very ancient family, John, who was raised to the peerage as Baron
Frecheville, or Frescheville, in 1664, as a mark of appreciation of
his loyalty to the Royalist cause, although the title expired with
his death in 1682. The great grandfather of Lord Frecheville was
knighted by Edward VI for gallant conduct on the field of Mussel-
burgh, when Protector Somerset led an army against the Scots,
to bring about the marriage of the Boy King of England with
Princess Mary by force. Another famous scion of this line was
Ankere de Frescheville, who took part in the Baron's War, and
was taken prisoner at Northampton, after which his lands were
seized by the Crown, and conferred for a time on the great Brian
On May 15th 1901, Mr. John Ramsden married Joan, the
daughter of Geoffrey Fowell Buxton, of Dunston Hall, an ancient
family of Essex origin, and has issue, two sons, John St. Maur, who
was born on April 26th 1902, Geoffrey William, born August 28th
1904, and a daughter, Mary Joyce.
Mr. Ramsden is a Deputy Lieutenant for Yorkshire, and the
patron of one living.
Abraham John Robarts, Esq., D.L., J .P., B.A.
flbraDam 3ohn Robarts, €sq- t DX,
3*P* t B.JK
CILE HOUSE, Lillingstone Dayrell, the seat of Mr. Abraham
John Robarts, is so called from a tile factory that occupied
its site over three hundred years ago. A good specimen of
the late Tudor style of architecture, it is surrounded by well-
Born in 1838, the son of the late Abraham George Robarts,
and Elizabeth Sarah, the daughter of the late Colonel John Henry
Smyth, M.P., of Heath Hall, Yorkshire, Mr. Robarts was educated
at Eton and Christ Church, Oxford, where he graduated as B.A. in
1859. Ten years later, when Sheriff for Buckinghamshire, Mr.
Robarts married the Hon. Edith, youngest daughter of Percy, 8th
Viscount Barrington, and has, with other issue, a son and heir,
John, who was born in 1872.
Mr. Robarts is a partner in the well-known Banking Firm
of Robarts Lubbock and Co., a Deputy Lieutenant and a Magis-
trate for Buckinghamshire, and was formerly a Captain in the
In 1868, the ancient Church of St. Nicholas, rich in memorials
of the old Dayrell family, was restored, with the addition of an
organ chamber, vestry and north aisle, at the expense of Mr.
The town residence of Mr. Robarts is 29, Hill Street, W.
He is lord of the manor of Lillingstone Dayrell and one of the chief
landowners in that district.
James. Shaw Robinson, Esq.
3amcs Shaio Robinson, €$q.
CHE greater part of the existing picturesque old mansion of La
Vache, now the seat of Mr. James Shaw Robinson, belongs
to the thirteenth century. Tradition accounts for its
appellation by according the property the honour of having served
King John as a dairy farm.
Later, it was with a family of the same name, of whom Sir
Phillip de la Vache, a Lollardist Knight of the Garter, who died
in 1407, was the proud possessor of no less than three dozen silver
dishes, among them being the gifts of royal ladies, and all duly
marked with a cow's hoof, his family crest.
In the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries it was with the
Fleetwoods, until 1661, when, on the attainder of Colonel George
Fleetwood, it returned to the Crown.
Within its extensive park, is a venerable oak, whose long
life is said to have reached a thousand years. And the woods in
the vicinity of La Vache are dreams of country loveliness, wherein
a riot of primroses and bluebells gives place to the reign of sweet
scented honeysuckle and wild rose, amid backgrounds of stately
foxgloves and graceful bracken.
Sir Philip Frederick Rose, Bt., D.L., J. P.
Sir pbillip Frederick Rose, Bt M DX., 3.p.
DESCENDED from a very old Oxfordshire family, long seated
at Thame, Sir Philip Frederick Rose, of Rayners, Perm, the
second baronet of his line, is the eldest son of the late
Sir Philip Rose, High Sheriff for Buckinghamshire in 1878,
Treasurer of the County Court and a Knight Commander of the
Medjidie, by his wife, Margaretta, the daughter of Robert
Educated at Harrow, the present baronet chose the Law as
a profession, and after gaining invaluable experience as Junior
Partner in that old established firm of Parliamentary Solicitors,
Baxter, Rose and Norton, acted as legal adviser to the Brighton
Railway until his retirement from practice, when he was succeeded
by his eldest son by his wife, Rosa Anne, the daughter of the late
Rev. William Wollaston Pym, M.A., Mr. Phillip Vivian Rose.
Sir Philip Rose has rendered valuable service as Director of
many public Companies. He is a Magistrate and a Deputy
Lieutenant for Buckinghamshire, served as High Sheriff in 1898,
and gives much attention to motoring, farming and all country
Picturesque Rayners, his Buckinghamshire seat, derives
additional interest from the frequent visits of the late Earl
Beaconsfield, whose friendship with the first baronet explains the
granite obelisk marking the journey of Her Majesty, the late
Queen Victoria to the Earl's grave in 1881, when she used the
same private route traversed by the late statesman on his last
visit to Windsor Castle.
Sir Philip Rose is a member of the Junior Carlton Club.
The Right Hon. The Earl of Rosebery and Midlothian, K.C., K.T.,
P.C., LL.D., F.R.S., F.B.A., F.S.A., J. P.
CDe RigM Bon. Che earl or Roseberp and
midlotDian K.6., K.C., P,C, LCD,, F.R.S., F.B.fl.,
"7WMONG the list of Coronation Honours an Earldom of the
Pfl United Kingdom by style and title of Earl of Midlothian
was conferred recently upon Lord Rosebery, who has taken
his seat in the House of Lords hitherto as Baron Roseberv, of
Roseberv, Edinburgh, in the United Kingdom, for his title of Earl
of Rosebery is Scottish only.
Sir Archibald Philip Primrose, the 5th Earl of Rosebery
and 1st Earl of Midlothian ranks also as Viscount Rosebery and
Viscount Inverkeithing, and Baron Primrose and Dalmeny in
Scotland, the oldest of his titles being that of Baronet of Nova
S >tia, which was bestowed in 1651 on his distinguished ancestor,
that faithful royalist, Sir Archibald Primrose, Clerk to the Privy
Council of Charles I, whose father, James Primrose, a noted lawyer,
held the like office under James I, for upwards of forty years.
And, after the Restoration, Sir Archibald was made a lord of the
Session and given the honorary title of Lord Carrington.
The family surname is taken from the lands of Primrose in
Eifeshire, and the great- grandfather of Sir Archibald Primrose,
the ist Bt., Duncan Primrose, was seated at Culross in Perthshire
in the reign of Queen Mary.
Born on May 7th 1847, Lord Rosebery, to give him his more
familiar title, is the elder son of Archibald, Lord Dalmeny, who
died in 1 85 1, by his wife, the Lady Catherine Lucy Wilhelmina,
the only daughter of Philip Henry, 4th Earl Stanhope. Eton and
Christ Church, Oxford, afforded his lordship his education, and in
1868, he succeeded his grandfather, Archibald John, 4th Earl of
His lordship has filled many high offices in the service of
the State, including those of Under Secretary of the Home
Department from 1881 to 1883, and Lord Privy Seal and Chief
Commissioner of Works in 1885. Ten years later saw him Prime
Minister, First Lord of the Treasury and Lord President of the
Council, having previously held office as Secretary of State for
Foreign Affairs in 1886, and again from 1892 to 1894.
By his marriage on March 20th 1878 with Hannah, the
only daughter of the late Baron Mayer de Rothschild, of Mentmore,
in Buckinghamshire, Lord Rosebery has, with two daughters, two
sons, the elder, his heir, Albert Edward Mayer Archibald, Lord
Dalmeny, sat for Edinburghshire in Parliament from 1906 to 1910,
and married Dorothy Alice Margaret Augusta, the daughter of
Lord Henry George Grosvenor, a son being born to Lord and
Lady Dalmeny last year.
The second son, the Hon. Neil Primrose has also adopted a
political career, and was returned as Liberal Member for Wisbech
at the recent election.
The death of Lady Rosebery occurred in 1890.
His lordship's town residence is 38 Berkeley Square, W.
The Durdans, near Epsom and Dalmeny Park near Edinburgh are
others of his well-known seats, in addition to Mentmore.
Miss Alice Charlotte de Rothschild
miss Hike Charlotte De Rothschild.
CHE lady of Waddesdon Manor and chief landowner of that
district is Miss Alice de Rothschild, the sister of the late
Baron Ferdinand James de Rothschild, and daughter of
Baron Anselm de Rothschild, of Frankfort.
Built in 1880 by the late Baron Ferdinand, Waddesdon
Manor Mouse, from the vantage ground of its extensive park,
watches over the fortunes of the village.
Yonder lies the picturesque Five Arrows Hotel, rebuilt by
the late Baron Ferdinand, in the old English Domestic Style. Its
dining room easily accommodates one hundred persons, and it
boasts the unusual additions, for a village, of both concert and
audit rooms. To the same beneficent donor the Club and Reading
Room erected in 1883 must be attributed, with which is
associated a Cricket Club, whereof Miss de Rothschild is a
Eythorpe hamlet, in this parish derives interest from the
pavilion erected by Miss Alice de Rothschild in 1883, and as the
site of that lady's discovery of the stone coffin of its fifteenth
century lord, Sir Roger Dynham, whose remains now rest,
reinterred, in Waddesdon Churchyard, by the order of the present
lady of the manor.
Miss Alice de Rothschild's town residence is 142 Piccadilly,
W., and she is the owner of the beautiful Villa Victoria at Grasse
in Southern France.
Lionel Nathan de Rothschild, Esq., M.P., J. P.
Cionel RatDan de Rotbscbild, esq., m.p.,3.p.
IN January, ig 10, by an overwhelming majority of not less than
1,483, the present Liberal Unionist Member for Aylesbury was
returned at the penultimate election, a fact that, doubtless
contributed materially to his subsequent unopposed return, as the
result of the recent appeal to the country, this seat having been
held by the Rothschild family since 1865, just seven years after
Baron Lionel, Mr. de Rothschild's grandfather, made his celebrated
entry into the House of Commons. Aylesbury was represented by
Lord Rothschild himself for the first twenty years of this time, and
the late Baron Ferdinand, the husband of Baron Lionel's daughter,
Evelina, held it from that date, until his death at the end of 1898,
when the Hon. Lionel Walter, Lord Rothschild's son and heir, was
returned, unopposed, and continued to represent Mid-Bucks, until
last year, when health considerations led to his cousin, Mr. Lionel
de Rothschild's taking his place.
An enthusiastic advocate of Tariff Reform, Mr. Lionel de
Rothschild is the eldest son of the popular Mr. Leopold de
Rothschild (third son of the late Baron Lionel) by his marriage
with Marie, the daughter of the late Achille Perugia, of Trieste.
Born on January 25th, 1882, the Member for Mid-Bucks
received his education at Cambridge, and later, joined the
Buckinghamshire Yeomanry, in which he holds the rank of
Captain. In 1903, he, and his second cousin, Lord Dalmeny, Lord
Rosebery's eldest son, held their coming of age celebrations
jointly, there being but a fortnight's difference in their tale of
years, and Lord Rosebery's magnificent property at Mentmore lies
close to the Rothschild Buckinghamshire estates.
Mr. Lionel de Rothschild's recent maiden effort in the
House, dealt with that most up-to-date topic, aeroplanes, and the
question of surveying and map-drawing therefrom, which elicited
the somewhat surprising information that none of the naval officers
now undergoing instruction in aeroplane manipulation, had any
experience of map drawing from balloons, a very necessary accom-
plishment that appears to be only possessed by two members of
the airship department ; and in view of the valuable information it
would be the part of the aeroplanist to collect, in the event of war,
it would seem Mr. de Rothschild's question came at an apposite
time for this deficiency to be remedied, in order to render aeroplanes
of practical utility, should the necessity arise.
Mr. Lionel de Rothschild is making himself well known to
Buckinghamshire audiences, for the evenings that his Parlia-
mentary duties leave him free, he devotes to visiting his
constituents and holding political meetings at the various centres.
His enthusiasm, direct method of speaking, and clear reasoning
should carry him far.
Mr. de Rothschild is a Justice of the Peace for Bucking-
hamshire, and his town address is 32, Parkside, Knightsbridge, W.
Sir Samuel Edward Scott, Bt., M.P., D.L.
Sir Samuel edioard Scott, Bt., m.p., D.C
SINCE 1898 the Conservative Member for West Marylebone, and
returned at the last election by an overwhelming majority of
2,003, Sir Samuel Edward Scott is also a partner in the well"
known banking firm of Sir Samuel Scott and Co.
Born in 1873, the elder son of the late Sir Edward Henry
Scott, the 5th baronet, and Emilie, his wife, the daughter of Lieut. -
Col. Henry Packe, of Twyford Hall, Norfolk, the present baronet
succeeded his father in his tenth year. From Eton he passed to
Sandhurst, joined the Royal Horse Guards as a Lieutenant from
1894 to 1896, and later, had an experience of active service with
the Imperial Yeomanry in South Africa.
By his marriage with the Lady Sophie Beatrix Mary
Cadogan, the daughter of the present Earl Cadogan, Sir Samuel
has had an infant son, who died in 1902.
Descended in the fourth degree from the first baronet, Sir
Claude Scott, of Lychet Minster and banking fame, Sir Samuel
Scott owns some 60,000 acres. In addition to stately Westbury
Manor on the Northamptonshire borders, which he rebuilt in 1903,
he has another seat at Amhuinnsuidh, North Harris, and his town
address is 38, South Street, Mayfair, W.
Sir Samuel Scott is a Major of the West Kent Yeomanry, a
Deputy Lieutenant for Inverness, and a member of the Jockey,
Turf, Marborough, White's, Carlton and Royal Yacht Squadron
Alfred Walter Sykes, Esq., M.D., F.R.C.S., M.R.C.P., D.Sc.
Moat House, Langley.
(The property of Sir Robert Harvey, occupied by Dr. Sikes]
Alfred Walter Sikes, €sq., m.D., F.R.C.S.,
DR. SIKES, of Moat House, Langley, in south eastern Bucking-
hamshire, and 24 Weymouth Street, W., was born in Ireland
in 1869, at Ballycogley Castle, in Wexford, and is the son of
Richard Cherry Sikes.
The author of The Principles and Treatment of Gout, The
Treatment of Gouty and Rheumatic Neuritis, Some Remarks on the
Pathology of, and Diet in Gout, and other valuable works dealing
with the same subject, received his education from private sources,
and studied at St. Thomas and St. Bartholomew's Hospitals, as well
as at Marburg University in Germany.
During his career at St. Thomas' he was awarded the Entrance
Scholarship and later, the Tite and Peacock Scholarships. Other
honours followed, in the shape of the Treasurer's Gold Medal, the
Mead Medal in Medicine, and Bristow Medal, and he holds the Gold
Medal for both his Intermediate and M.B. degree.
Dr. Sikes has held many hospital appointments and is a
Fellow and member of numerous Medical Societies.
In 1902 he married Mary Maitland, daughter of Thomas
Townshend Somerville, of Christiania.
The Hon. William Frederick Danvers Smith, D.L.,J.P., B.A.
Che lion, alilliam Frederick Dancers Smith,
D.C., 3P- B.fl.
BORN in 1868, the Hon. W. F. D. Smith is the only son of the
late Right Hon. William Henry Smith, P.C., M.P., and
Emily, now 1st Viscountess Hambleden, who was raised to
the Peerage in November, 1891, the month following her husband's
Educated at Eton and New College, Oxford, where he took
his B.A. in 1891, Mr. Smith married four years later the Lady
Esther Caroline Georgiana Gore, the 3rd daughter of the 5th Earl
of Arran, and a son and heir, William Henry, was born in 1903.
From 1991 to 1910 Mr. Smith sat for the Strand, in the
Conservative interests. He is a partner in the well-known firm of
W. H. Smith and Sons, and a Major in the 1st Royal Devonshire
Greenlands, Mr. Smith's Buckinghamshire seat, is pleasantly
situated on the banks of the Thames, stately cedars and an ex-
ceptionally fine Wellingtonia lend an additional charm to the
grounds. The flower gardens are extensive and well arranged.
Hambleden owes its Elementary Schools to the generosity
of Mr. Smith, who not only rebuilt them, but also erected the Home
of Rest for Aged Persons, in memory of his father, and to com-
memorate the late Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee, whilst the
late Right Hon. gentleman was the donor of the Working Men's
Institute in the village.
A member of the Travellers', Carlton and Wellington Clubs,
Mr. W. F. D. Smith's town residence is 3, Grosvenor Place, S.W.,
and in Devonshire he has another seat at The Manor House, North
Harold William Swithinbank, Esq., F.R.S.E., F.R.G.S., J. P.
barold Ulilliam Stuithinbaiik, esq., F.R.S.t.,
BORN in 1858, the subject of the present sketch is the son of
the late George Edwin Swithinbank, LL.D., F.S.A., and
formerly a Lieutenant and subsequently an Adjutant of the
nth Hussars, in addition to being connected with the Middlesex
Yeomanry and Reserve of Officers, in which he held the rank of
In 1887, however, a serious spinal injury cut short a promising
military career, and since that time, the owner of Denham Court
has devoted his energies to scientific research, for which purpose he
has fitted up laboratories at his Buckinghamshire seat, and the
Royal Society and other scientific bodies have published the results
of his painstaking researches from time to time.
Mr. Swithinbank is also the author of a valuable work on
" The Bacteriology of Milk," and as Governor of the Royal
Agricultural Society of England and a Vice-President of the Royal
Veterinary College continues to further the interests of his country
in these directions. Another subject which has long occupied his
attention is that terrible scourge of the White Races, Consumption,
as it is commonly called, and the National Society for the
Prevention of Tuberculosis gladly avails itself of Mr. Swithinbank's
services as a Member of its Council.
Nor do his scientific interests render him unmindful of his
duties as a citizen. Mr. Svvithinbank was a member of the first
Buckinghamshire County Council, acted as High Sheriff for his
shire in 1891, and is a Justice of the Peace for Bucks.
By his marriage in 1S83 with Amy, the second daughter of
James Crossley Eno, of Woodhall, Dulwicb, he has, with two
daughters, a son, Crossley, now a Lieutenant on the Emergency
List of the Royal Navy.
Recently, in the glorious summer days of the July following
the Coronation, the marriage of Miss Isobel Svvithinbank with Mr.
R. Stafford Cripps, the son of Sir Alfred Cripps, was celebrated at
Denham ; an event that derived additional interest from the union
it betokened of two well-known Buckinghamshire families.
Memories of its former owners, the Bowyers, still cling to the
red brick, picturesque old mansion of Denham Court, and among
the treasures of the house are three panel pictures, representing
traditional incidents in the flight of Charles II., and his concealment
by Margaret Weld, Lady Bowyer, the wife of Sir William Bowyer,
the first baronet of his line, in one of which the unfortunate King
is shown concealed among the rushes of the moat, whilst the hum-
ble position of scullion in Denham Kitchen serves as a cloak to his
identity in another, and in the third, a turkey, bleeding from the
head, hung above the King's hiding place, explains the failure of
the bloodhound employed to track down the royal fugitive.
Originally there was a fourth picture, in the shape of an excellent
portrait of the devoted Lady Bowyer herself, but this has dis-
To the great-grandson of the first baronet, also Sir William
Bowyer, Denham owes its village school. The gardens at Denham
Court today answer Dryden's description of them as " one of the
most delicious spots in England," and the approach to the house
through an avenue of sweet-scented limes is particularly fine.
Mr. Swithinbank is one of the chief landowners of the
district, a Fellow of both the Royal Society of Edinburgh and of
the Royal Geographical Society, and a member of the Royal
Automobile, Wellington, Naval and Military, and Cavalry Clubs.
Pembroke Scott Stephens, Esq., K.C., J. P.
Pembroke Scott Stephens, €sq.,
CHE eldest son of the late Edward Bell Stephens, of Harcourt
Lodge, Dublin, by his wife, Jessy, the daughter of the late
Captain William Scott, of Dublin, and grandson of Edward
Stephens, Mr. Pembroke Scott Stephens, after enjoying the
advantage of a Continental as well as a Home education, entered
Lincoln's Inn, as a student, in 1859, at the age of twenty five, and
three years later, was called to the Bar. He took silk in 1882, and
was benched in 1884.
As the joint author of Practice also Reports of the Court of
Referees on Locus Standi, Mr. Scott Stephens is well-known to his
Formerly Foreign Correspondent to The Times, his practice
at the present time is chiefly connected with the Parliamentary
Bar. And, in other directions, he renders valuable service to the
Royal Botanic Society as Vice-President.
Bv his marriage in 1898 with Pauline, the eldest daughter
of the late Walter M. Townsend, of Crawley Hall, Durham, and
Montreal, he has issue, one son and three daughters.
Missenden House, near Amersham, in Buckinghamshire, and
30 Cumberland Terrace, Regent's Park, N.W., are his Country and
Town residences, and the Carlton and Kildare Street Clubs
number Mr. Scott Stephens among their members.
The Right Hon. The Earl Temple, J. P., B.A.
Che Right fton.
Cbe €arl ample, 3.p., B.fl.
CHE past history of Wotton connects Earl Temple closely with
Buckinghamshire, although he is not at present a resident in
the County ; for, since the days of Henry I., Wotton Under-
wood has been with the Grenville family, and on the death of the
third and last Duke of Buckingham and Chandos in 1889, the
Earldom of Temple passed to his nephew, the late William Stephen
Gore-Langton, who subsequently assumed the additional name of
By his marriage with Helen Mabel, daughter of Sir Graham
Graham Montgomery, Bt., the fourth Earl had, with other issue, a
son and heir, Algernon William Stephen Temple-Gore-Langton,
who succeeded him, as fifth and present Earl, in 1902.
Born in 1871, and educated at Eton and Christ Church,
Oxford, his lordship was formerly a Lieutenant in the Coldstream
Guards, and a Captain and Hon. Major of the 3rd Battalion of the
Somerset Light Infantry.
His lordship is unmarried, and his heir presumptive is
therefore his brother, the Hon. Chandos Graham Temple-Gore
Well situated within an extensive park, wherein a lake of
over two hundred acres adds considerably to the charm of its
surroundings, the red brick mansion, Wotton House, is approached
through a lofty avenue of stately elms, over a mile in length.
Earl Temple is sole landowner and lord of the manor of
Wotton Underwood. Near Bath he owns another charming seat
at Newton Park, and his town residence is Chandos House,
Cavendish Square, W.
His lordship is a Justice of the Peace for Somerset, and a
memberof St. James', Arthur's and the Bachelors' Clubs.
John Hicks Tempest, Esq . J. P.
Bradenham Manor, Bucks.
3obn Ricks Cempest, esq., 3.p.
ONE of the most fascinating histories unfolded by the story of
Buckingham is that of Bradenham House, formerly the seat
of the famous Windsor family, and at the present time in the
possession of Mr. John Hicks Tempest, a house that has acquired
an additional claim to fame through having been the residence of
Isaac Disraeli, the father of Earl Beaconsfield, and the celebrated
author of that most entertaining work, " The Curiosities of
Literature," from 1829 until his death in 1848, at the age of
\t the time of the Norman Conquest, the King himself held
Bradenham, and it was held of him by free socage.
"Suarting and Herding," says the Domesday Book, "hold
Bradenham of the King and are taxed for two hides of land. There
is land for two ploughs, and there are two, with two villeins. It was
always valued at 20 shillings. Two brothers, vassals of King Edward,
held it, and could sell it."
In the thirteenth century it was in the possession of the
Warwick family, being held successively by the Countess of
Warwick in 1230, and her son, Thomas, Earl of Warwick, after
which it was given to Ela, the daughter of William Longepee, Earl
of Salisbury, as a portion of her dowry. Keen sympathy with the
difficulties that beset the struggling, and too often impecunious
student, induced this lady to take the practical step of setting up a
chest at Oxford, containing one hundred and twenty marks,
destined for the use of poor scholars, who, on giving an adequate
security, were permitted to borrow from the funds, without any
additional charges in the way of interest and the like, being
Shortly after this, Robert de Bradenham made his
appearance, and in 1296 Simon de Bradenham acted as High
Sheriff for Buckinghamshire. Thence the Manor passed to the
Falwesleys and the Wiltshires, who, early in the fifteenth century,
sold the estate to John Botiler, a wealthy London clothier. He,
however, was not destined to enjoy his newly-acquired property
long, for on the death of his wife, he was glad to sell it to John
Scott, who retained the Manor until 1500, and then disposed of it
to that representative of an old Norman family, who had gained
their name by reason of having held the office of Warden of
Windsor Castle, Sir Andrew Windsor. The War with France in
the earlier part of Henry VIII. 's reign took Sir Andrew from his
Buckinghamshire home, the Seige of Terouenne and the Battle of
Spurs in 15 13 formed part of his foreign experiences, and later,
when peace was once more restored, Sir Andrew was summoned to
Parliament as the first Lord Windsor of Bradenham, and the office
of Keeper of the King's Wardrobe was entrusted to his care. It
was William, the 2nd Lord Windsor, and Sheriff for the County in
1538, who built Bradenham House, also a Chapel attached to the
chancel of the Church, in 1542. Dying in 1558, his Lordship was
buried there with elaborate ceremony.
In 1566, Bradenham, then the seat of Edward, the 3rd Lord
Windsor, and son of the 2nd Lord of that name, had the honour
of entertaining Queen Elizabeth, an event that in itself, entailed a
considerable outlay. On his death, in Germany, at Spa, following
the fashion of his time, this representative of the family sent his
heart to Bradenham, and in St. Botolph's Church, within a large
vault beneath the north aisle, may be seem a niche, whereon rests
an oval leaden vase, bearing the following inscription : —
Here lies the heart of Edward, Lord Windsor, who died at Spa,
Jany. 24, 1574.
By a bequest, this Lord Windsor also provided for an alms-
house, or hospital, to be founded at Bradenam for the reception of
six poor men, but in some way this appears to have been rendered
null and void, for no such building was ever erected. Another
descendant of this family, Thomas, Lord Windsor, was Rear
Admiral of the Fleet despatched at the end of James I.'s reign to
fetch Prince Charles and the Duke of Buckingham home from
Spain, whither they had journeyed in disguise to woo the Infanta
in person, a mysterious act of knight errantry that terminated in
inevitable disaster, and this Lord Windsor, who appears to have
shared his predecessor's taste for lavish hospitality, welcomed the
Spanish hidalgos on board his ship, and sumptuously entertained
them there at his own expense. Two years before his Lordship's
death, he sold Bradenham to Sir Edmund Pye, the same who was
fined £"3,065 by the Parliament for living in the enemy's (i.e., the
King's) quarters. Thence the Manor passed to his granddaughter,
the Baroness Went worth, and Thomas, Viscount Went worth, sold
Bradenham in 1787 to John Hicks, of Plomer Hill, in Somerset-
shire. On the death of Mr. Hicks, the title and advowson of
Bradenham became the subject of a protracted suit in Chancery,
and it was not until the House of Lords had given a decision in
favour of the Rev. John Graves, Mr. Hicks' grandson, and
the father of Mr. Tempest, that the former gentleman was enabled
to come into possession of the Manor in 1854.
Mr. Graves married Lydia, the daughter of the late Rev.
John Hopton, of Canon-ffrome Court, in Herefordshire. This lady
died in 1861, her eldest son, the subjectof the present article, having
been born in 1848. Mr. Tempest was educated at Bradfield, and
Oriel College, Oxford, where he graduated with the degree of
Bachelor of Arts in 1870.
In 1886, by his marriage with Henrietta Frances May, the
only daughter of Sir Robert Tempest Tempest, the 3rd Baronet, of
Tong Hall, and Lady of the Manors of Tong and Aughton, Mr.
Tempest, to give him his present cognomen, connected the Graves
family with that of one of the most noteworthy of the old English
Houses, whose history is closely connected with that of York and
Durham. Many were the branches of this famous family, the chief
being those of Bracewell, Tong and Broughton, in Yorkshire, whilst
in Durham they settled in Holmside, Stella and Wynyard, the head
of the family in the early part of the fifteenth century being Sir
Piers Tempest, of Bracewell, who accompanied Henry V. in his
French Wars, and took part in the Battle of Agincourt. Another
notable descendant of this family is Pierce Tempest, the sixth son
of Henry Tempest, of Tong, and brother of Sir John Tempest, the
1st Baronet, a famous print seller, who flourished in the seventeenth
and early part of the eighteenth centuries, and the publisher of the
celebrated " Cryes of the City of London," a work consisting of
some seventy four portraits of typical street characters, from
drawings by Marcellus Laroon.
With the death of the 4th Baronet, Sir Tristram Tempest
Tempest, in 1909, and his sister's consequent succession to the
estates, Mr. Tempest and his wife assumed their present surname
by Royal Licence, and the Baronetcy passed to its present holder,
Sir Frederick William Rodney Ricketts, uncle of Sir Tristram, and
second son of Sir Cornwallis Ricketts, the 2nd Baronet, who
married Henrietta, the daughter of Colonel John Tempest, of Tong
Mr. Tempest is a Justice of the Peace for Buckinghamshire,
and Lord of the Manor of Bradenham, and has been connected with
the Consular Service, in addition to which he enjoyed the
distinction of being numbered among the late Queen Victoria's
Foreign Service Messengers for the last thirteen years of her
About four miles north-west of High Wycombe, pleasantly
surrounded by beech-clad hills that give a glowing beauty of their
own to an autumnal landscape, stands Bradenham House. The
2nd Lord Windsor chose the site with care, for the house is built
on rising ground, and grass terraces bordered by fine yew trees
adds to the charm of the grounds. Beyond the well laid out gardens,
stretch the two hundred acres of Park Wood.
Although still large and imposing, the dimensions of the
house have been somewhat reduced of late years. On the stone
steps that lead to the chief entrance, a bloodhound stands on either
side, their raison d'etre being the marriage of the eldest son of Lord
de la Warre with the younger daughter of Sir E. Pye, hence the
adoption of part of the bridegroom's coat of arms, Within, a fine
marble paved entrance hall, some sixty feet in length, discloses a
particularly handsome oak staircase, well in keeping with its
stately surroundings. And, it may be added, that all the rooms are
exceptionally lofty and spacious.
As previously mentioned, pending the decision of the
Chancery suit, Mr. Isaac Disraeli was resident at Bradenham, a
fortunate circumstance for its present possessors, for that gentleman
expended considerable sums in keeping the house in proper repair,
and also in carrying on the work of restoration, for at that time,
he anticipated purchasing the Manor at a later date.
Within St. Botolph's Church is a tablet to " that most
entertaining and searching writer," as Lord Byron described him,
and his wife, Maria, " to whom he was united for forty-five years."
There is also another tablet to Mr. John Hicks, who died in 1825.
Another interesting tomb is one to a centenarian, Joanna Michen,
who lived to complete her one-hundred-and-third year.
By a bequest of Lady Catherine Pye, an annual sum of £30
was left for the education of twenty boys and girls from Bradenham
and its neighbourhood.
Mr. Tempest is a member of the Oxford and Cambridge
Henry Yates Thompson, Esq., F.R.G.S., J. P. B.A.
ftenrp yates Chompson, €sq. t 7.R.6.S.,
OVING House, the residence of Mr. Henry Yates Thompson,
former proprietor of the Pa] 1 Mall Gazette, and an
officer of the' Legion of Honour, looks out over the beautiful
and fertile Vale of Aylesbury, and among the interesting features
of its interior are the ornate ceilings, believed to have been
designed by Inigo Jones, and some exquisite wood carving.
Born in 1839, Mr. Henry Yates Thompson is the eldest son
of the late Samuel Henry Thompson, D.L., J. P. of Thingwall Hall,
Lancashire, and his wife, Elizabeth, the daughter of the late J. B.
Yates, of Liverpool.
Harrow, and later, Trinity College, Cambridge, afforded
him his education, and, having graduated as a Bachelor of Arts in
1862, Mr. Thompson chose the Law as a profession, and was called
to the Bar at Lincoln's Inn in 1867.
He is a Justice of the Peace for Lancashire, a Fellow of the
Royal Geographical Society, and his town residence is 19 Portland
3 6 7
Lieut. -Colonel Charles William Trotter
Cieut. Colonel Charles Ulilliam Crottcr.
SITUATED on the borders of Oxfordshire, Barton Hartshorn, of
which Colonel Trotter is Lord of the Manor, and one of the
chief landowners, was once a portion of the vast possessions
of Odo, Bishop of Bayeux, and half-brother of William the Con-
queor ; when his star waned, and he was doomed to banishment,
" Bertone," as it was then called, passed to the D'Oyleys, or Doyles,
the founders of Oseney Abbey in Oxfordshire.
Barton Hartshorn is also connected with the founding of
another religious house, for in the middle of the thirteenth century,
when Ralph de Norwich owned most of this manor, he founded the
neighbouring Priory of Chetwode, and as part of the endowment,
bestowed upon it, his estate in Barton.
Standing only a short distance from the old Church of St.
James is Barton Hartshorn Manor House, the seat of Colonel
Trotter, a commodious, square-shaped building, which, judging by
the dates still visible on the chimneys, viz., 1635 and 1761, would
appear to consist of portions of different erections. Further, the
presence of picturesque, square-headed mullioned windows, and
huge brick chimney bases, in part only of the present mansion, lend
additional weight to this supposition.
3 6 9
Born on March 7th, 1865, Colonel Trotter is descended from
the Trotters of Dreghorn, Midlothian, and is the eldest son of the
late Mr. William Trotter, J. P., of King's Beeches. The Colonel's
paternal grandfather was Alexander Trotter (the fourth son of
Alexander Trotter of Dreghorn), who married Jaqueline, the
daughter of the late Right Rev. William Otter, Bishop of
Chichester, on June 16th, 1836. Mr. Alexander Trotter's third son,
the uncle of Colonel Trotter, Lieut. -Colonel Sir Henry Trotter,
K.C.M.G., C.B., and one of the most strenuous makers of modern
history, married Olivia Georgiana, the only daughter of the late
Admiral Sir George Wellesley, G.C.B., and nephew of the first
Duke of Wellington. Sir Henry Trotter's life has been crowded
with incident, whether as military attache at Constantinople
during the Turco-Russian War of 1877 to 1878, Consul of Koor-
distan, Consul-General for Syria, explorer, geographer, diplomat
and author, there is little that he has not done, and his
contributions to the Royal Geographical Society make fascinating
reading. In addition to the above, he took part in the great
Trigometrical Survey of India from 1863 to 1875.
Always strongly in favour of the Territorial Movement, this
leaning, possibly inherited from his distinguished uncle, has resulted
in Colonel Trotter's closely identifying himself with the South
Nottinghamshire Hussar Yeomanry, in which he ranks as Lieut. -
Colonel, and Honorary Colonel, and, fittingly, is the possessor of
the Territorial decoration.
On January 18th, 1890, Colonel Trotter married the Hon.
Ellinor Hamilton, the eldest daughter of John Glencairn Carter, the
1st Lord Hamilton, of Dalzell, thus connecting his own with one
of the oldest and most celebrated Scottish families, for the
Hamiltons of Dalzell derive from John Hamilton of Orbiston, who
was living in the middle of the fifteenth century, and through his
ancestor, Sir James Hamilton, of Cadzow, claim kinship with the
Dukes of Hamilton and Abercorn.
A son and heir, Archibald, was born to Colonel Trotter in
Colonel Trotter's town address is 31 , Bruton Street, W., and
he is numbered among the members of Arthur's and the Bachelors'
William Francis Andrewes Uthivatt, Esq.
Ulilliam Francis €dolpb Andrewes
ORIGINALLY connected with Suffolk, and later, with Hertford-
shire, the Andrewes family's connection with Buckingham-
shire dates from the eve of the sixteenth century, when they
purchased the Lathbury estate. Sir William Andrewes, Kt., of
Lathbury, and son of John Andrewes, of Libury, Herts, acted as
High Sheriff for Buckingham in 1608, an office subsequently held
by his son. also Sir William, in 1630, who, by his marriage with
Anne, the daughter of Sir Thomas Temple, of Stowe, allied his own
fortunes with those of a very old Saxon family. His son, Captain
Andrewes, was in Command of the Parliamentary Newport
Cavalry during the Civil War, but, becoming unsettled in his
political opinions, left the Army, and severed his connection with
the Parliamentarians. It is evident that, thenceforth, his
sympathies lay with the Royalists, for in 1661, he was created a
Baronet by Charles II., as Sir Henry Andrewes, of Lathbury, and
subsequently, when the title became extinct through failure of
male heirs, the estate devolved upon a nephew, Henry Andrewes,
who was Sheriff for Buckinghamshire in 1704, and whose eldest
daughter became the wife of Richard Uthwatt, of Rickmansworth,
a gentleman of considerable literary ability, and an authority on
heraldry, horticulture and the law. His son, Henry, became High
Sheriff for Buckingham in 1755.
The grandson of Edward Andrewes, of Lathbury, younger
brother of Sir Henry, was William Andrewes, who died in 1760,
and his son, the Rev. Henry Uthwatt Uthwatt, of Great Linford,
Lord of the Manor of that name and grandfather of the subject
of the present sketch, assumed the name of Uthwatt, " for
himself and his issue male," on coming into the Great Linford
estates, in compliance with the terms of his godfather's will.
Mindful of the claims of his County, and following in the
footsteps of his predecessors, the reverend gentleman sus-
tained the role of High Sheriff for Buckinghamshire ; and
by his marriage with Judith, the daughter, of Thomas Yates,
of Culworth, on March 10th, 1783, had six sons and two
daughters, the eldest son, Henry Uthwatt, Lord of Great Linford
Manor, and sometime Sheriff of Buckingham, died unmarried in
1855, and the estate thus passed to the second son, the Rev. William
Uthwatt, Rector of Maid's Moreton, and Vicar of Stovve, who in
1832 married Mary, the daughter and co-heir of the Rev. James
Long Hutton Long, Rector of Maids' Moreton, and thus became
Lord of that Manor, as well as of Great Linford. On his death
on September 20th, 1879, his daughter, Miss Mary Henrietta Turner
Hutton Andrewes, succeeded to the Maid's Moreton property, as
Lady of the Manor, while the Great Linford Estate devolved upon
the third son of the Rev. Henry Uthwatt Uthwatt, Augustus
Thomas Uthwatt, who died in 1885, and then reverted to his next
surviving brother, the late Mr. Edolph Andrewes Uthwatt, the
father of the present Lord of the Manor, his eldest son and heir,
who was born on April 25th, 1870, and educated at Magdalen
College, Cambridge. The latter, the present Mr. Uthwatt, married
Catherine Jane, the fourth daughter of the late John Augustus
Shiel Bouverie, of Delapre Abbey, in 1898, Mrs. Uthwatt being the
descendant in the fourth degree of Sir Jacob de Bouverie, ist
Viscount Folkestone, and the father of William, the ist Earl
of Radnor. Her younger sister, Frederica Gertrude, married Mr.
Uthwatt's brother, Mr. Gerard Thomas Andrewes Uthwatt, on June
Mr. William Francis Edolph Andrewes Uthwatt's son and
heir is William Edolph Rupert Andrewes, born in 1898.
In Domesday times, there were two manors comprised in
Great Linford, both held by Hugh de Bolebec, one as the tenant of
the great Walter Giffard, and the other directly of the Crown.
According to Lysons, Great Linford in the reign of John was the
property of Geffrey de Gibvven, one of the itinerant justices
provided for by the Council of Northampton in the reign of
Henry II., although Sheehan states that the " Gibberwines " at this
time were but feudatory tenants under Hugh de Bolebec. At all
events, they appear to have had sufficient interest in the property
to found the Church there. Subsequently the Pipards were in
possession, and followed by the Botelers. After the attainder of
James Botiler, Earl of Wiltshire, King Edward IV. granted Great
Linford to Richard Middleton. Later, it appears to have been granted
to Elizabeth of York, afterwards the wife chosen by the politic King
Henry VII., to make good the deficiencies in his title to the throne.
In the next reign, Sir George St. Leger, a connection of the Botelers
by marriage, exchanged it for other property with Henry VIII., so
so that it would appear that the Botelers in some measure
recovered their interest in Great Linford ; and after Oueen
Elizabeth had granted it to Richard Campion and John Thompson,
it was sold by the latter family about 1632 to Sir Robert Napier,
whose remarkable son, Dr. Richard Sandys, or Napier, was Rector
of Great Linford in 1589. Astrologer, physician and priest, he
professed to attribute his skill to constant communion with the
Angel Raphael, who foretold, for his benefit, the ultimate fate of
his patients. Certain it is that many eminent people believed in
him, including the Earl of Sunderland, who remained in his house
at Linford for some months, under treatment. A remarkable story
of his foresight is on record, when Mr. Booth, of Chesham, desirous
of a son to carry on his inheritance, visited the Doctor in 1619, and
was informed that three years hence his wish would be gratified.
In 1622, George Booth, afterwards Lord Delamere, was born. It
is said that Dr. Napier foretold his own death exactly, and the
Parish Registers of 1634 record that on April 15th of that year was
" buried Dr. Richard Napier, the most renowned physician, of body
and soul." An examination of his papers revealed the fact that many
of the medical receipts were noted as having been imparted by his
guardian angel, and most of these may now be found in the
Ashmolean Museum, Oxford.
It was towards the latter part of the seventeenth century
that Sir Robert Fapier's heirs disposed of the Great Linford
property for upwards of twenty thousand pounds to Sir William
Pritchard, Kt., some time Lord Mayor of London, and President of
St. Bartholomew's Hospital. Both he and his wife, Lady Pritchard,
did much for Great Linford, for Sir William erected almshouses on
the estate, and endowed them by his will, dated 1702, whilst her
ladyship bequeathed £800 for apprenticing the children of needy
parents to a trade, besides other sums, including £1 per annum to
the Rector, on condition that he should refrain from converting the
churchyard into a grazing ground, and a like amount to the Parish
Clerk for keeping the Church clean.
On Sir William's death, the property passed to his two
nephews, Richard Uthwatt and Daniel King. The latter having
sold his interest in the estate to his cousin, Richard Uthwatt
became Lord of the Manor, and on his death in 1719, was succeeded
by his eldest son, Thomas Uthwatt, High Sheriff for the County,
and the friend of |Browne Willis, the Buckinghamshire Historian
whom he greatly assisted in his literary work. This gentleman
contemplated an exhaustive account of the Peerage, and collected
an abundance of material for his subject, but died without having
carried his project into effect. His only daughter, Catherine,
married Matthew Knapp, of Little Linford.
The Manor House which is now called Great Linford Place,
the seat of Mr. Uthwatt, is an imposing stone building, standing in
extensive and well laid out grounds.
The old stone Parish Church of St. Andrews contains mural
tablets to the Uthwatt family, and three very fine brasses, one to
Roger Hunt, and his wife, dated 1473, a benefactor, who defrayed the
cost of paving the Church ; another to Thomas Malyn and
Elizabeth, his wife, dated 1536, and a third to John Uvedall, gent.,
and Anne, his wife, dated 161 1. There is also a tomb to Sir
William Pritchard. In 1756, the five bells of the Church were
recast, on which occasion a sixth was generously added by Mr.
Situated about three miles south west of Newport Pagnelt,
in North Buckinghamshire, Great Linford derives additional
interest from the fact that the kennels of the Bucks Otter Hounds
are stationed there.
Mr. Uthwatt, in addition to being Lord of the Manor, is sole
landowner of Great Linford.
Sir Harry Calvert Williams Verney, Bt., Af.P., M.A., J. P.
Sir fiarrp Calvert Williams vcrnep, Bt. t
l».p., m.R., 3.P.
CHE mottoes of the Verney and Calvert families, Ung Sent, Ung
Sol (one faith, one sun), and Sevbata Fides Cinevi (the promise
made to the ashes of my forefather has been kept), are
peculiarly illustrative of the steadfastness of their race.
The first to foreshadow their great political activity was Sir
Ralph Verney, Kt., who was Lord Mayor of London in 1465, and
a Member of Parliament for that City. He it was who purchased
Middle Claydon from a former Lord Mayor, Sir John Brockley, who
had acquired the property from the Zouches, to whom it had
passed from the Cantilupes, through the Gresleys, by whom it was
held soon after the Conquest under the Pevrells.
Of Sir Ralph's descendants, " The Memoirs of the Verney
Family" (compiled by Lady Verney and her mother-in-law), and
their History during the Civil War, present vivid, painstaking and
accurate pictures, that, incidentally, throw no small light on the
times in which they lived, the voluminous correspondence of past
owners of Claydon having enabled the work to be perfected with
Sir Ralph Verney, before-mentioned, died in 1478, having
given a long lease of his property to the Giffards. Around another
member of the family, Sir Francis Verney, glitters a halo of
romance, for after a short, stormy life of thirty-one years, he died
in 1615, in Sicily, a buccaneer.
Sir Edmund Verney, of Middle Claydon, Knight Marshall
and Standard Bearer to Charles I. at Edgehill, spent much of his
life at Court, being a member of the youthful Prince Charles'
Household, and one of the suite in the famous Expedition to
Madrid, organised by the Duke of Buckingham. Politics claimed
the next years of his life. In 1624 he represented Buckingham in
Parliament, Aylesbury four years later, a town that, according to
an eminent writer, dates its political career from this event, and
Chipping Wycombe in 1640. With the outbreak of Civil War,
duty towards his King struggled with his convictions. " I could
not do so base a thing as to forsake him," he said, " and choose
rather to lose my life." The prophecy contained in his words was
indeed verified at Edgehill, where, after the battle, his hand was
found and recognised by a ring, containing the King's miniature,
encircled with diamonds, the gift of His Majesty, the hand,
according to tradition, still clasping the Standard. But the body
of this noble gentleman was never recovered. There is another
story at Claydon, that his ghost still wanders, seeking the lost
hand. And it is said that the famous ring is still used for marriages
in the Verney family.
Sir Edmund's eldest son, Sir Ralph Verney, the 1st Baronet,
and a mighty correspondent, attached himself to the Parliamentary
side in the Civil War. In 1646 his estates were sequestrated for a
time, owing to his refusal to sign the Covenant. In 1680, he, true
to the traditions of his family, represented Buckingham in
Parliament, and is noted as one of the warmest defenders of the
Buckinghamshire freeholders in the reign of James II. in their fight
against Judge Jeffreys' fierce attacks on their electoral rights.
Dying in 1696, Sir Ralph was succeeded by his only surviving son,
John, afterwards Viscount Fermanagh, and the father of Ralph
Verney, the 2nd Lord Fermanagh, who was created Earl Vernevon
March 22nd, 1742. to whom succeeded his son Ralph, the 2nd Earl
Verney, and 3rd Lord Fermanagh. The latter was a great friend
of Edmund Burke's, whom he afforded heavy pecuniary, and much
other assistance. These advances, coupled with fiercely contested
elections (one in 1784 lasting sixteen days), and the vast expense
connected with the remodelling of Claydon on a palatial scale, in
rivalry of Stowe, wrought his ruin. On his death, in 1791, he was
succeeded by his niece, Mary, the daughter of the Hon. John
Verney (who died during his father's lifetime, in 1737), and the
following year, this lady was created Viscountess Fermanagh.
Dying, unmarried in 1810, the Claydon Estates passed to her half-
sister, Catherine (Calvert), the wife of the Rev. Robert Wright,
Rector of Middle Claydon, who thereupon took the name of Verney,
and on her death, without issue, in 1827, this lady bequeathed the
estates to her cousin, Sir Harry Verney, formerly Calvert, the 2nd
Baronet of the latter name, and grandfather of the 4th, and present
Baronet, Sir Harry Calvert Williams Verney.
The present representative of the family was born on June
7th, 1881, the only son of the late Sir Edmund Hope Verney, the
3rd Baronet, by his wife, Margaret Maria, the eldest daughter of
Sir John Hay Williams, Bt., and Lady Sarah, the daughter of the
1st Earl Amherst.
After receiving his education at Harrow and Balliol
College, Oxford, where he graduated B.A. in 1905, Sir Harry, in
1906, in his twenty-fifth year, became a candidate for the Basing-
stoke Division in the Liberal interests, and later, stood for a bye-
election there, but, being unsuccessful, he devoted the next four
years to work in the Colonial Office, as Assistant Private Secretary
to Lord Elgin, for the first part of the time, and later, holding the
same office under the next Colonial Secretary, Lord Crewe. After
a further attempt to represent South Wilts, Sir Harry achieved
a well -deserved success on his return as the Liberal Member
for North Bucks in December last, and his Maiden Speech made in
connection with the Small Holdings Act was characterised as " A
striking and much-applauded effort," even by so Tory an organ as
The Morning Post.
The Calvert Baronetcy in the Verney family dates from 1818,
when General Sir Harry Calvert, the 1st Baronet, G.C.B., K.H.,and
great-grandfather of the present representative of the family,
received the title in recognition of his gallant services in connection
with the American War of Independence, and the Dutch Campaign
against Napoleon in 1793 (in which lie acted as Aide-de-Camp to
the Duke of York), as well as the many and excellent improvements
in military organisation and discipline effected by him, including
the introduction of Regimental Schools, first established at High
Wycombe and Marlow, and subsequently transferred to Sandhurst,
and the foundation of what is now known as the Duke of York's
School, its earlier title being the more explanatory one of " The
Royal Military Asylum for Soldiers' Orphans."
The General's elder son, the late Sir Harry Verney, as he
became on succeeding to the Claydon property, was born on
December 8th, 1801, and was twice married, his first wife being
Eliza, the daughter of Admiral Sir George Hope, C.B., one of the
heroes of Trafalgar, and his second wife, Frances Parthenope, the
elder daughter of William Edward Nightingale, and sister of the
late Miss Florence Nightingale. Not only did Sir Harry represent
Bucks in Parliament for upwards of fifty years, his Political Jubilee
being celebrated in Buckingham in 1883, but he was one of the
founders of the Royal Agricultural Society, and one of the first
members of the Royal Geographical Society, his interest in all
discoveries in this direction being remarkably keen. Nothing gave
him greater pleasure than to promote his sister-in-law. Miss
Florence Nightingale's work, the value of which he was able to
appreciate through his own experiences in early life during a cholera
outbreak in Bucks, and later in Paris, in which he rendered signal
service. The need for an adequate County Hospital became patent
to him, and thereafter he set himself assiduously to work to collect
funds; the foundation of the present imposing pile was laid in 1861
at Aylesbury by Lady Verney, Sir Harry's second wife, and its
completion was characterised by Sir Harry as one of the happiest
events of his life. On the 12th of February, 1894, Sir Harry died,
and with the passing of that familiar figure on the grey pony,
Buckinghamshire lost a valued friend, a model landlord, and one
who did much to improve the tone of the Quarter Sessions by
taking an active share in Poor Law work.
Sir Harry's eldest son, the late Sir Edmund Hope Verney,
and father of Sir Harry, North Bucks' present M.P., was born on
April 6th, 1838. Formerly a Naval Captain, he served with
distinction in the Crimean War and the Indian Mutiny, and true
to the traditions of his race, was sometime the Parliamentary
Member for North Bucks, and represented Brixton in the first
London County Council. The author of many publications,
including "The Parish Charities of North Bucks," "Village
Sketches," and " American Methods," and a diligent collector of
early editions of the Bible, Sir Edmund's death on May 8th, 1910,
was a matter of wide-spread regret.
Claydon House, the seat of Sir Harry Verney, and for many
centuries of past generations of that family, was altered in 1752 by the
second Earl Verney, who practically ruined himself thereby, and
although much of his incomplete work was destroyed by his suc-
cessor, the Viscountess Fermanagh, the magnificent inlaid stair-
case, with its wrought iron balustrade (the design of standing corn
being so constructed as to rustle when an ascent is made), the
Chinese Room, and a stately salon, together with exquisite Adams'
cornices and chimney pieces, yet remain, while the collection of
family portraits by noted artists, such as Vandycke, Janssen, Lely
and others, ranks as one of the finest in the County.
Situated within an extensive and well-timbered park, and
surrounded by beautiful pleasure grounds and luxuriant shrub-
beries, Clavdon has yet a furthur attractive feature in the form of
a lake of some sixteen acres which has been constructed near
the western side of the house, and designed to represent a natural
Hard by is Middle Claydon Church, dedicated to All Saints,
wherein, amid much that is interesting, are fine monuments and
brasses to the Verney and Gifford families, including one "to the
ever honoured Sir Edmund," who fell at Edgehill in 1642.
To recount all that the Verneys have done for the four
Claydons, as they are called, that is Middle, East and Steeple
Claydon, together with the hamlet of Botoph Claydon, would run
far beyond the space of the present article. To mention only a
few instances, the cemetery is due to the generosity of the late Sir
Harry Verney, the fine libraries largely to that of the late Sir
Edmund, whose widow, Lady Verney's good work in connection
with the Bucks Rural Schools Boards, and the County Educa-
tion Committee is well-known, whilst almshouses, restoration
work in Churches, and miscellaneous charities from the same
bounteous source render these Buckinghamshire Villages peculiarly
The present Baronet's tastes are athletic as well as political
and he numbers football, swimming and shooting among his
Sir Harry Verney is and a Justice of the Peace for Bucking-
ham. The Bachelors', Brooks' and Travellers' Clubs muster Sir
Harry among their members.
Edward Hanslope Watts, Esq., J. P., B.A.
edioard Ranslope Ulatts, €sq., 3.p., B-fl.
BORN on June 12th, 1835, Mr. Edward Hanslope Watts, of
Hanslope Park, is the only son of the late William Watts, of
Hanslope, by his marriage on September 18th, 1843, with
Caroline, the daughter of the late Rev. Frederick Apthorp, Rector
of Gumlev, in Leicestershire. The death of Mr. William Watts
occurred in 1853, and his widow married secondly in 1856 Reginald
Robert Walpole, the grandnephew of the 1st Earl of Orford, and
died in 1899.
Eton and Trinity College, Cambridge, afforded Mr. Edward
Hanslope Watts his education. In 1868 he graduated as a
Bachelor of Arts, and on April 16th of the same year married
Sophia Edith, the third daughter of the late Richard William
Selby- Lowndes, of Elmers, Bucks, by whom he has one daughter,
Irene, since 1900 the wife of Mark Saurin Poore, the second son of
Major Robert Poore, of Old Lodge, Hants, and formerly Captain
of the 4th Battalion of the Liverpool Regiment. To Captain and
Mrs. Poore a son and heir, Edward, was born in 1901.
The early history of Mr. Watts' family is closely connected
with the Foundation of our Indian Empire. William Watts,
Governor of Fort William, Bengal, the great-great-grandfather of
the present owner of Hanslope Park, was with Lord Clive in the
exciting times of 1757, and instrumental in bringing Meer Jaffier, the
commander-in-chief of the infamous Surajah Dowla's troops to
terms, by virtue of which, after the victory of Plassey, Meer Jaffier
became Nabob of Bengal, and agreed to hand overto the English a
sum of nearly three millions sterling as compensation money. Dying
in 1764, the Governor of Fort William left a young son, Edward,
and a daughter, Amelia, who, in 1769, married that distinguished
statesman, Sir Charles Jenkinson, Bart., afterwards the first Earl of
During the minority of Edward Watts, his trustees acquired
Hanslope manor and estate from the Pierrepoint family, and the
property has since continued with the Watts.
By his marriage with Florentia, the daughter of Alexander
Wynch, Governor of Fort George, iMadras, Edward Watts had, with
other issue, a son, William, his second born, and grandfather of the
present representative of the family, whose son, also William, the
father of Mr. Edward Hanslope Watts, was born in 1821, and died
on November 18th, 1853, when his son was only eight years of age.
Mr. Edward Hanslope Watts is a Justice of the Peace for
both Buckinghamshire and the neighbouring county of North-
amptonshire, and is Lord of the Manors of Hanslope and Castle-
In olden times Hammescle was the name given to Hanslope,
and it is conjectured that its present appellation is derived from the
name of its subsequent lords, for it is difficult to see how etymology
could have played any part therein. Prior to the Conquest,
Aldene, a nobleman of the Confessor's household held Hammescle,
which at that time included Castlethorpe, and after the accession
of William I., it was bestowed upon a Flemish warrior of the
name of Winemar. Michael de Hanslape dying in the reign of
Henry I. left both the manor and his daughter Maud, under the
King's protection, and her royal guardian gave the lady and her
heritage to William Mauduit, Chamberlain of the Royal Exchequer.
Trouble came with the reign of John, and the mound at Castle-
thorpe is now the only outward evidence of the rebellion of Robert,
Lord Mauduit, in 1215, which resulted in Hanslope Castle being
taken and destroyed by Foulkes de Brent in that year. Later,
Lord Mauduit made peace with the King, and in the following reign
regained possession of the manor. In 1222 he was peaceably
engaged in making a park at Hanslope, a grant of does from the
King's forest at Salcey being gladly accorded him.
Towards the end of the thirteenth century, Hanslope passed
to the Beauchamps, Earls of Warwick, until about 1397, when, on
the attainder of Thomas Beauchamp in the absolute days that
preceded the deposition of Richard II., it was granted to Thomas
Mowbray, Duke of Norfolk, who shared his predecessor's fate a
few months later. Edward, Duke of York, who fell at Agincourt,
was next in possession of Hanslope, and on his death, without
issue, the. manor returned to the Crown. For upwards of two
hundred years, it remained with the Sovereign for the most part,
although it was occasionally granted toother members of the Royal
family, and prior to her accession, Hanslope formed part of the
revenues of Princess Elizabeth. After the Restoration, in 1663, it
was granted to one of the Justices of the Common Pleas, Sir
Thomas Tyrrell, from whose representatives it was purchased about
1707 by George Pierrepoint, afterwards Lord Pierrepoint, of Han-
slope. Devolving, through failure of heirs, on Evelyn Pierrepoint,
Duke of Kingston, it was next acquired by the trustees of the young
Edward Watts, the son of the Governor of Fort William, and has
since remained in the family.
Built by Bassil Brent, the same who is generally believed to
have been a poultry breeder on so large a scale that he was
commonly known as " Hen Brent " (in allusion to his having had a
3 8 7
thousand, or more, of those useful domestic birds in his possession
at a time), the imposing stone mansion at Hanslope Park also
passed by purchase to George Pierrepoint in 1707, the same year
that he acquired the manor and principal estate from the Tyrrells.
The north and south fronts of the house lookout upon a charming,
well-timbered park, and the approach through a fine avenue is
Within the Church of St. James, which was built by William
Mauduit in 1257, is an inscription facing the north aisle on upright
slabs to William Watts, Governor of Fort William, Bengal, who
died in 1764, at the age of forty-two, his daughter, Amelia, the wife
of Sir Charles Jenkinson, who died at the age of twenty, and Edward,
of Hanslope, the grandson of the first mentioned member of the
family, whose death occurred in 180 r, shortly after he had attained
his majority. And above these a marble tablet records the death
of Mr. William Watts, of Hanslope Park, at Stratton Audlev, in
Oxfordshire, at the early age of thirty-three, the father of the
present owner of the property.
Mr. Edward Hanslope Watts is a member of Brooks's Club.
Thomas Owen Wethered, Esq., J. P.
Cbomas Owen Ulctbered, €sq„ HP.
BORN in 1832, and a former representative of Marlow for over
twelve years, Mr. Thomas Owen Wethered owns two
Buckinghamshire seats in the beautiful Thames district ;
Seymour Court, about a mile from the above mentioned town, and
historically famous as the birthplace of Lady Jane Seymour, the
third wife of King Henry VIII., being his residence, and Remnantz,
formerly occupied as the Royal Military College, prior to its
removal to Sandhurst in 181 1, and now the residence of Mr.
Wethered's nephew and heir presumptive, Major Francis Owen
The present representative of the old Wethered family, Mr.
Thomas Owen Wethered, is the eldest son of the late Owen
Wethered, J. P., and his wife, Anne, the daughter of the late Rev.
Giles Haworth Peel, of The Grotto, Basildon, in Berkshire.
Educated at Eton and Christ Church, Oxford, Mr. Wethered
married in 1856, Edith Grace, the only daughter of the late Rev.
Hart Ethelston, and has issue, three daughters.
A Magistrate for Buckinghamshire, Mr. Wethered has
rendered military service in connection with the Buckinghamshire
Royal Volunteers, in which he held the rank of Captain.
The Oxford and Cambridge and the Carlton Clubs
number Mr. Wethered among their members.
I IBKAKV liMiih:.
u/.tr i.-.».i hi r c